The Best Laid Plans…

Can I just whine a little?  I don’t whine on here too much, do I?  Besides, its the safest place to whine.  I don’t have to see your eyes glaze over, or see you looking around to see if there’s someone more interesting to talk to.  If you don’t want to listen, just click away, and I am none the wiser.

I have two days to get ready for my hand surgery.  Okay.  I know.  I’ve had over a month to get ready.  But that’s beside the point.  Today and Monday I planned to cook (which I don’t need to do much of, because I took an inventory of stuff in my freezer and I have two weeks worth of dinners in there, plus a bunch of cooked chicken and turkey.  Go me!) and I was going to clean the house, wash and change my sheets, and I wanted to wash all three dogs.  That’s not too much to do in two days, right?

So this morning, pretty early, I hear my neighbor driving his quad over.  Ruh roh.  That means he’s going to split all that pine that’s been sitting there all summer.*  So I put Noah in his crate, and decide to wash the dishes to keep Noah company (and to keep him from  barking.)  Dishes done, but the wood splitter is still running.  So I decide to organize the cupboards.  Have I mentioned I have a TOTALLY USELESS CAT?   connection please, debby.  Yes.  Well, me and a certain mouse (because I have a TOTALLY USELESS CAT**) have been co-existing semi-peacefully.  I set traps for him occasionally, but he evidently has super-powers and just enjoys the snack I have left for him without setting off the trap.  A couple of mornings I have gotten up extra early and surprised him.  We both stare at one another while he scampers past the traps to his ‘safe place.’  Back to the cupboards.  Without going into detail, as you can imagine, with my little room-mate, it turned into more of a SUPER MAJOR CUPBOARD CLEANING than just a regular cupboard organizing job.

Okay.  The cupboard cleaning ended just about the same time as the wood splitting ended.  You guessed it.  Chore number two NOT on the planned weekend list.  Now I’ve stacked about a cord of wood.  And do any of you know what a COMPLETE MESS splitting pine makes?  There are piles and piles of bark and other junk out there.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with it all.

So its 3:30, my knee and my back hurt, and there is still some house cleaning to be done, and I really want the dogs washed.  And then there’s this other ‘little’ chore hanging over my head.  I bought a bunch of tulips and daffodils, a few pansies, and some potting soil.  I really need to get them in the ground before Tuesday morning too.

Well, I just checked weather.com, and the next two days are supposed to be sunny.  I don’t think I’ll get any big chores done tomorrow, because I am going to the ‘froyo’ church and going to do a little shopping, as well as check out the new Whole Foods that is up that way.

I think what I need to do is split up the doggy baths.  If I do one a day, its not such a big deal.  Sophie, you’re first!

Ahhh.  I feel better already.  I’ll just do what I can, and that will have to be good enough.  I’m a little sad about my quilting mojo being interrupted again.  I just finished up this quilt last night.  I still need to put the binding on.

This is that quilt that has the modern take on the traditional Double Wedding Ring pattern as the base.  Then I decided to mess it up, and add stuff on top.  So I named it “After the Wedding.”  Each of the organza circles has words in it relating to the best and the worst of marriage.

 

 

Well, I feel much better now.  Hope I didn’t impose on you all too much.  Tonight I am going to try making some ‘apple cider frozen yogurt.’  I got the idea when I was up at Apple Hill the other day.  They were serving apple cider milk shakes.  So I checked out a couple of recipes online (for ice cream) and modified them.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

*Just want to say I am not complaining at all about my neighbor choosing to split the wood today.  He works full time, and is doing me a huge favor to split the wood (I give him  half of the wood for himself, and he splits the rest for me.)  He doesn’t know I am having hand surgery in a couple of days.

 

**For you cat lovers out there, my totally useless cat is not abused.  In fact, she is supremely happy with THE WAY THINGS ARE.  She gets a whole can of cat food every day, and a little pat on the head, and her own litter box, EVEN THOUGH THE WHOLE GREAT OUTDOORS IS FIVE STEPS AWAY.  She is a semi-feral cat that I adopted years ago.  I didn’t know there was such a thing as a semi-feral lazy cat.

10 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. LOL, I actually tried to take a picture of her once for you! Being as she’s semi-feral, she didn’t take kindly to the camera, and she looked terrible. She is actually a pretty cat, blue-point siamese with white feet, and pale blue eyes. I have a theory that she either has poor eye sight or very sensitive eyes, and maybe that’s why she doesn’t like to spend much time outside.

  2. I don’t think I knew you had a cat. 🙂

    I understand your frustration with your carefully-laid plans going awry. I get a plan all mapped out in my mind, and when it (inevitably) goes off-track, I get cranky-whiny. Breathing in and out helps.

  3. I got such a chuckle reading about YOUR T.U.C!

    I have one kitty that is cuddly and funny and plays with Joey (my mini-schnauzer) and I have one that is a 7 year old long-hair calico T.U.C. that thinks she is Queen! I guess her “job” is to look pretty! 😉

    I hope you get everything buttoned up in time for your hand surgery. That just makes it nicer not to have that pressure of undone stuff in the back of your mind. Gee… ask me how I know… LOL!

  4. Sometimes I think just knowing that you have a lot to do, even though you know you’ll get it all done, can feel slightly overwhelming…and one little kink (or two, in your case) just feels like the whole thing is messed up. Maybe being extra busy right before the surgery will help you to REALLY rest afterward. Plus, I can’t imagine facing dog baths times three…Paco has been needing the works (bath AND nail trim) for a couple of weeks now, and it looks like it’s not going to happen this weekend, either. Sigh…and he looks so pretty when he’s all clean! Oh well.

    I hope you enjoy your froyo church excursion (and the visit to WF!) – it’ll all get done. I’d say “and if it doesn’t, it’s ok” but I also had to get my entire house clean, every bit of laundry done, bills paid, groceries laid in, etc, etc, so I totally get where you’re coming from.

  5. Guess this shows how far out of whack my mind is, but if you’ve got the food thing taken care of, everything else can wait!! LOL!! But seriously, I totally understand how frustrating it is when plans gets messed up. Especially when it is out of your control and not just because you were lazy. So like Cammy says, just take a couple of deep breaths and ponder what’s the worst thing that can happen because those things didn’t get done. Doubtful that the world will stop……………….. And you can breathe easier knowing you’re going to stay warm all winter!!

  6. All these years, and I never knew you had a cat! FWIW, my cat is pretty useless too. She spends most of her time outside and only comes inside to eat and take a nap. Then it’s back outside into the wild. Right now, even as we speak, there is mouse munching on the potatoes in my cabinet and my cat is sitting right here on the floor – sleeping. She’s worthless but I love her!

    The quilt looks great!! 🙂

    Sorry you are feeling frustrated – I HATE it when my plans get changed. I’m sure you’ll get enough of it done in time. Hang in there!

  7. I did not know you had a cat. lol! I think we need a pic when you have time. 🙂 I too occassionally shared space with a mouse. It wasn’t for lack of trying to get rid of him , It was lack of desire to kill him. We would catch him in a live trap and throw him outside but he knew a secret way in and soon i would see him again.. I think you have alot planned and unplanned and will get done what you can. Remember …..just breathe…. Be thinking about you………hugs! deb

  8. I’m probably arriving just as you’re getting your hand surgery. Actually I read this two days ago but it wouldn’t let me comment. Probably because I was going to ask you why you neglect your poor cat who never gets any blog time LOL! Anyway, I hope the surgery went well and you were able to let go of the things you didn’t get done. Not worth worrying about anyway.

Leave a Reply

