When Last I Left You…

When last I left you, on Friday afternoon, I was doing well physically, but not so great in the mental/emotional department.  Well, I fixed that.  Yeah. I went to a Grief Seminar at my church.  It was very well done and all.  Just difficult for me.  In so many ways.  I was going to leave, go home and turn off the phone, and crawl into bed for the rest of the day.  Instead, I nabbed an extra sweet roll on the way out the door, went to Walmart for some necessities, and stopped for frozen yogurt on the way home.  And when I got home I ate some more.  I think I ate some of those rosemary raisin bean balls. Nutritious AND calorie-laden.

Then I decided to read a bit of that book The Know-It-All.  Is it true that laughter is the best medicine?  Seems like it helped a little bit.  Plus a phone call from my BFF, and a call to my brother, where I shared some of the wickedly funny humor from that book.

I settled in for the night, had a very healthy, light dinner, and went to bed early.  I had plenty of time to sleep because it was Daylight Savings Time.  But I was up by 5:15am which gave me a lot of time before church.  I spent a nice amount of time reading and praying, and then I decided to watch a David Platt sermon on the computer.  I know.  How many sermons does a girl need to hear on a Sunday?  But this one was fascinating.  He did a very long interview with a fascinating young girl.  Her name is Katie Brown (she has a blog!) and at the age of 19, she decided she wanted to go to Africa to help children.  She ended up staying there, and now at 25 she is in the process of adopting 14 children (homeless kids from the slum,) as well as setting up a school, a children’s sponsorship program, and various other ministries.  Wow!  That knocked any last remnant of self-pity right out of my brain.

The day at church was so good.  So many kind people said just the right thing to me.  I got to talk to the young couple that I am working with to set up the child sponsorship program in Haiti.  After seeing Katie Brown’s story, I am pretty psyched about our little project!  They took a picture of us together to show to the people in Haiti, and it was a really good picture of me LOL.

After church I stopped at the market to get some vegetables.  I needed to have some more in the house to get my food choices back on track.  Told myself I couldn’t buy any fruit because I still had plenty at home.  I got cauliflower, asparagus, a red bell pepper, and some green beans.  Head on home, and what do I see standing on the corner in the cold damp weather in our little tiny town?  One of these little Mexican guys standing shivering in a sweatshirt selling STRAWBERRIES.  What month is this?  Guess who has a whole case of strawberries?  Very tasty too…

Today has been a very good day.  I ate, of course, some strawberries and cottage cheese.  I made a batch of that wonderful Cauliflower-Potato Bake–so yummy I had it for lunch and dinner.  And I tried something I had been thinking about for a while.  I made a batch of Spackle 2.0 and divided it into snack-sized portions as a substitute for chocolate chip cookie dough.  VERY satisfying.  For me, much better than the stuff made with beans.

I surfed around the blogs, and came across this guy’s blog.  He is a W.W. leader, and for some reason it was comforting to me to hear that a W.W. leader still has some of the same struggles that I do.  Looking for and eating junk food when traveling was one he mentioned.   More importantly, he talked about the struggle he had during a particularly emotionally painful time, how he had a 10 pound weight gain, how he kept eating healthy food and journaling and everything, but it took a year for him to turn it around and lose that 10 pounds.  I find comfort and hope in that.

Noah’s latest attempt at playing ‘little dog.’  That is an oversized ottoman, about 30″X36″, Sophie and Monk and my feet and a couple of books usually have plenty of room on there all at the same time.

And Yay!  I officially won the Presidential Bronze Medal!  It took 125 hours of various exercise to get to 40,000 points.  And then they offered to sell me various and sundry forms of said medal.  I opted to lift the image off their site and award it to myself on my blog.

I celebrated my win with a vigorous 40 minute hike.  And that’s all the news that’s fit to print around here today.  Thanks for all the great comments on my last entry.

8 thoughts on “When Last I Left You…

  1. I’m sorry you had a downer day, but didn’t the most marvelous things come from it? That so often happens and it’s why when I’ve been told on occasion to “snap out of it”, I’ve said, “No, thank you. I’m just going to roll around in it for a while. Something good is coming and I don’t want to be too busy to miss it.” 🙂 Or words to that effect. And that’s when they roll their eyes and mumble something that sounds like ‘looney’.

    Anyway, hooray for sweet rolls, fro-yo, sermons, and Katie Brown! Oh, and Noah (who might be feeling a little sensitive about his size issues.)

    • You are right Cammy. I didn’t exactly look at it like that.

      LOL at the phrasing “just going to roll around in it for a while” I definitely did that.

  2. I am sorry you had the blues. It can be really hard to snap out of it, too. Sometimes those ‘uplifting’ stories can actually make it worse LOL!

    Congrats on the medal – keep working towards the gold!

    • That’s funny you called it the blues. On my walk I was trying to think of the words to that song “I guess that’s why they call it the blues.” I couldn’t think of any of the words, and by the time I got home I forgot to look it up!

  3. Oh Noah. That poor dog – he really has now idea that he’s such a big boy, does he? I love all the thing he does, trying to imitate his smaller siblings. You truly ARE living with the real-life version of Clifford!

    As for your weekend, I’m glad to see you trudged through it and came out with such positivity…that isn’t always easy with grief hitting you, as it will.

  4. I’m glad you were open and shared you feelings on the blog. Those days are tough especially when they come out of the blue unexpectedly. You said today had been a good day, but you never actually said the “blues” had lifted! I certainly hope that is the case, but if not, hang in there and I totally agree with Cammy’s wisdom of “rolling around in it for a little while.” I think we belittle our own capacity to feel when we tell ourselves to “get a grip” or “snap out of it.” I’d send you some of our perfect weather if I could – it’s impossible to be down when it looks like it does here! Am praying for you!

  5. Blue days are to be expected, given your complex life. You are caring for yourself as well as one can. You are a good role model. I look forward to hearing more about Haiti.

  6. I like what Cammy said. If we don’t hang around in our sadness/blues/confusion, we can never understand it. Feeling bad has a purpose…so to speak. What I love so much about you is that you are a good friend to yourself. You teach me a lot about self care 🙂 Thank you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

