about that travel…

Oops.  Time got away from me, and I ran out of time to post my Thanksgiving travel plans.  Added to that, my ‘plan’ to blog while away was foiled by my own fumbling thumbs.*

So I flew up to Oregon to spend Thanksgiving with my BFF.  Sweet–the flight is only 1 to 1 1/2 hours!  Of course also involved was some driving to the airport, and then having to spend the night before in a hotel because I was worried about commuter traffic.  Sigh.  There is no way around it.  Travel is expensive.

Me and BFF setting out for our one and only walk.

Still, we had a wonderful time, filled with laughter, quilt shop visits, sewing, cooking (well, my friend cooked, I watched,) and lots of movie watching.  Only one walk took place.  It was pretty rainy, and we were pretty busy doing other fun stuff.  I’ve got a couple of new recipes to share with you!

First up–I had cut this Light Pumpkin Cheesecake recipe out of a magazine  and wanted to try it.  Pretty darn good, although I think I like traditional pumpkin pie better.  That was the only thing I cooked for Thanksgiving!  Heads up on the recipe:  For some reason they don’t have you blend the cottage cheese in the blender.  I added this step to make a smoother (and thicker) filling.

My friend had this recipe sent to her from her daughter-in-law, after telling her that all the recipes in a recent magazine were for side dishes that were over 500 calories per serving.  This green bean recipe was absolutely outstanding  (how much do I love that these recipes are already online!)  And only 56 calories per serving.  Tasted like much more.

Last up was cranberry relish.  I had never had this before.  No cooking necessary.  It was especially outstanding when eaten in combo with the waldorf salad.  I can also envision mixing it with cottage cheese.    Or baked into the baked oatmeal?  Even mixed into a chopped green salad with some turkey.  Oh, the uses are endless when you find a new delicious food!

So on the long drive home (from the airport) I wrote out a renewed schedule that includes plenty of time for reading, quilting, exercise, and cleaning.  The four major activity groups, right?  Have I forgotten anything? Oh yes.  Cooking.  For me that does take a bit of time.  Have to add that one into the schedule.  My new, and hopefully realistic, exercise plan is to walk 1 hour in the morning Monday-Wednesday-Friday, and to visit the gym for one hour Tuesday-Thursday-Saturday.

I also thought about a renewed eating/losing weight plan.  I’ll let you know more about that later in the week.  For now I’ll leave you with a picture of this morning’s breakfast–something long time readers will know is unusual for me.

My version of an omelet. 1 egg, 2 egg whites, spinach, onion, and mushrooms. Pretty tasty and I just analyzed it–only 125 calories with 16 grams of protein!

*  The fumbling thumbs reference is referring to my new Kindle Fire.  I had grand visions of using it to blog while away from home.  First of all, evidently WordPress does not have an ‘app’ for the Kindle Fire yet.  So all I could have blogged was a post title.  I even thought about writing the whole post in the title slot.  But second of all?  I need practice finger typing on this thing!  I got so tired of trying to send emails and commenting on blogs, only to have all my hard work disappear because I brushed the wrong button, that I gave up after a while.  I had a lot of fun playing video games on it though!

14 thoughts on “about that travel…

  1. Eggs. They keep a body full… not to mention the veggies 🙂

    Sometimes, in the quest to lighten things up I also find I’d rather have a smaller portion of the real thing. I’m amazed that you’d never had cranberry relish before! It’s become a staple for us and I usually start making it the minute the first bags of cranberries appear in the store. You should experiment with the sugar in that. I’ve found over the years I’ve been able to reduce the amount greatly and it tastes just as good!

    • Thanks for the heads up on the sugar. I wasn’t happy about that when I saw the recipe. For a small portion the stats still aren’t bad, but I’d rather do with less sugar.

  2. You look great!!! Love your hair! 🙂

    I love eggs. Eggy eggy eggs eggs. Luuuurve them!!! But you know what’s funny? whole egg omelettes make me gag, they taste too eggy! Which is so bizarre, but I love 1 egg plus 1 eggwhite omelettes. With a boatload of veggies – so YUM!!!

    I have never had cranberry relish either. I like the gloppy stuff from the can. I buy extra cans at Thanksgiving just so I can have a turkey/cranberry glop sandwich – I actually look forward to this. 🙂

    • Thanks Jilly. You are too funny with the eggs. I might be making better friends with them in the future. And I think I”ll like the whole egg/egg white combo better too.

      Haha on the gloppy stuff from the can. That’s what I grew up on and loved too. Last year was my first year to try the ‘homemade’ cranberry sauce (a la Trader Joe’s) and I loved it.

  3. I wondered where you have been! I like your hair, too.

    I lurve cranberry sauce. I never thought I did until I had some homemade stuff. We used to have the canned sauce which was really gross to me. I have had the relish a few times. Should do that again.

    I think your exercise plan sounds quite reasonable and doable!

  4. Like others, I was about ready to come looking for you!! So glad you had a good trip and your new plans sound excellent. I think a new plan may be just the thing to help us all through the holiday eating maze! Love your hair!

  5. I love your hair – you look so chic! And BFF’s sweater is gorgeous.

    Those green beans? You had me at balsamic glaze – I swear, I’d eat just about anything (well, not fish) if it had balsamic vinegar on it!

Leave a Reply

