Cautiously Optimistic

So, I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to tell you all what I was doing.  But I have had a super week, so thought I’d share this with you.  Besides, we’re bloggers–that’s what we do, right. Isn’t ‘blogger’  some sort of slang for internet blabber?

Anyway, remember I said a bit ago I was thinking about eating a little more protein.  And then right before I left on my trip, I was thinking seriously about what I had learned when I first joined W.W.–that little changes really did make a difference.  Like ordering a small plain froyo instead of a large one with toppings. Come to think of it, that’s not really a small change.  But you know what I mean.  So on my drive home I formulated that exercise plan that I told you about.  So far I’ve stuck to it 5 out of 5 days.  But then when I got home Saturday night, I looked again at that Bobay nutrition plan, and I thought, I can do this.  It will get me eating a LOT more protein, but they include a few grains and fruits and even cottage cheese.  The only thing missing was my yogurt.  Oh, and all my dessert-type thingies.

So I’ve stuck to it for five days now.  It really hasn’t been hard at all.  In fact, yesterday I was really worried that I was eating too much, so I weighed myself this morning, and I was down two pounds from my PRE-travel weight.  I was VERY happy with that!

Oh, I forgot to tell you that one reason I was really wanting to find a way to keep things  (food) under control is The Birthday Season is approaching.  So I knew I could commit to this for one solid week (my birthday is Sunday.)  The food is pleasant enough that right now I am planning to stay on it through the holidays, with, of course some meals or days off here and there.  So Sunday (actual birthday) I get a day off.  And then one brunch and one lunch the following week with friends who are taking me out for my birthday.

Of course I have tweaked their plan here and there (not gonna eat the whites of hard boiled eggs.)  But I made sure that my tweaks kept the protein count and overall calories the same.  And no sugar to speak of.  I’m gonna have to work on the oatmeal though.  The first day I ate it plain with just some cinnamon splenda on it.  Ick.  The second time I actually succumbed to trying the instant oatmeal–I know, can you believe it?  But actually, I added egg whites and made them custard oats, and I did like that there was no pan to clean up after.

I have not eaten this much meat in a LONG time.  Twice a day.  Gotta admit, the protein keeps me full, and I really don’t have any inclination to get up and get another snack.

So here’s some of the goodies I’ve had this week:

They have you use bread a couple times here and there.  Since I don’t keep bread around, I decided to just buy one package of my old favorite English muffins–Thomas’s Whole Grain–100 calories a muffin.  So for their ‘healthy french toast’ I modified it by mixing 1 egg, 1/4 cup eggbeaters, and 1/4 cup unsweetened almond breeze.  Cut the muffin in half, and soaked it in the mixture, put in a hot pan sprayed with Pam, and browned both sides.  Then sprayed butter spray on top, a little dust of cinnamon splenda, and sugar free maple syrup.  I KNOW.  Can you believe I reverted so easily to all this fake food?  But this was so good that I actually stopped eating it to take a picture for you!  Then I saved the leftover egg mixture to make some scrambled eggs for breakfast #2.

Turkey Burger!!  Did I already mention this to you?  LOVE love love this.  I do think I got ground turkey, not ground turkey breast.  That’s probably why its so moist and delicious.  Calories looked okay on the package though.  Again, served with a toasted English muffin.

I’ve eaten a LOT of chicken and turkey this week.  Last night I thought, Again?  So I sauteed some mushrooms and onions to top it.  I could also use some salsa to change it up.

Tonight?  Fish and Chips!  Got some cod fillets on sale at the store.  Just ‘fried’ in the hot pan with some pam, and doused with the malt vinegar after.  And some sweet potato fries on the side.  There were a few more there but well, you know.

The other food that is probably saving me is the Pure Protein bars they recommend.  I had never really looked at these, because I don’t like that protein taste, and usually protein bars are very high in sugar and calories.  These have 20 grams of protein in a 200 calorie bar, and are good enough that it satisfies my need for ‘dessert.’

They also have you drinking protein shakes, which again, I don’t like the taste that much.  I made a pretty good one this morning–4 ice cubes, 1 cup unsw. almond breeze, 1/4 cup eggbeaters, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder, and a little coconut extract!  And then, I thought–hey, rum extract and nutmeg–I’ll be having me some eggnog milkshakes between now and Christmas!!

Their plan has you eating six small meals a day, which is more than I’m used to.  And between looking repeatedly at what I’m supposed to be eating next, and eating every three hours, well, its a wonder I’ve gotten anything else done around here.  But I have.  Did some late planting of the last of the daffodils and tulips I bought (will someone hit me over the head if I succumb to the giant bags of bulbs at Costco next year?)  And today I started a major fabric re-organization project.  I had to leave that one to finish tomorrow.  Its always so nice to work in a clean, organized studio.

So that’s the news from sunny California.  I’m off to fight some zombies (am I the only adult who is addicted to this silly game?)  Hopefully the novelty will wear off–I’ve only had my Kindle Fire for less than a week.  Has anybody played Angry Birds?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Cautiously Optimistic

  1. Sunny here too but cccccold! 29 degrees this morning.

    Protein definitely fills you up! If you concentrate on that and the fiber that you get from your fruits and veggies you’ll be suprised at how little hunger you feel.

    This spring withen the daffodils and tulips come up, you’ll be happy you succumbed to the giant bag. Have a great weekend… and Happy Birthday! 😀

  2. Would love to know what you think of your kindlefire. We are torn between it and the Nook. Can’t believe i’m going this digital route but i want to save me some trees. 🙂 Good luck on your new diet venture. Sounds like your doing good. Hubby had a job interview for Redding , CA is that near you?? Hugs! deb

    • Haven’t really experienced other tablets much, but I love my KF. I bought it because it was a cheap version of the IPad. Also, I do use Amazon a LOT and I like their service a LOT. I actually have not loaded a kindle book onto it yet, although I have read the instruction manual that was on there. It was fine to read. And of course the games are fun LOL.

  3. How exciting that this plan is working for you!!! And all the food looks great (fish excepting). I try and eat a lot of protein on the days when I can’t eat very often (like when I work) and I find that I’m not as hungry.

    Hope you have a great birthday season! 🙂

  4. I’m jealous of your sunny California… we just had our first hard frost last night and it very COLD today!

    I’m happy for you that you’ve found a plan that is working out. Yay!!

    Angry Birds… they live in my back yard and get upset when Joey runs around the yard disturbing their peace and quiet, LOL!

  5. I am happy the plan is working for you! Protein is very yummy. I found I don’t sweeten my oats much anymore since I started using coconut butter as a topping.

    Never played angry birds. I have heard about it, though.

    I noticed your blog is snowing now!! 😀

  6. Love the new blog look! And am so happy to find a kindred spirit who actually began a new eating plan after Thanksgiving. My hiking bud (who is tall & skinny) pronounced me “crazy” yesterday when she saw me eating hard-boiled eggs for lunch on the trail. Believe me, that isn’t normal trail food! But after one week on a high-protein, low carb (actually almost NO carb in first 17 days) plan, imagine my surprise when at the end of eight miles, I felt like I could hike eight more! Wow, I’m liking this! Will write about my new plan on Monday!

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Okay, I’ve checked out the link for this eating plan (just to make sure I approve–hee!), and it looks…a little bit how I eat. Minus the occasional fro-yo. 🙂 I usually have 4 meals a day and a “dessert” (it’s really yogurt and fruit, but I call it dessert to feel decadent) and that seem to keep me content most days.

    Continued success on this plan, and an early happy birthday!

    • Aha! Now I know the secret of your constant happy success! I feel like I have learned a lot in one week–the value of making sure I eat more protein and have enough protein in every meal. I’m feeling very positive today! Thanks for checking it out and giving me that input Cammy!

  8. The kids heard about Angry Birds from their school friends recently, and we tried the free version. Everyone’s hooked now – we have both the regular and “Seasons” version on the iPad. So don’t say I didn’t warn you… 😉

    Your eating plan sounds really tasty and sensible, and like a nice way to treat yourself before the birthday season!

Leave a Reply

