Christmas in January?

Oh my goodness, I had more than my fair share of fun today!  The day started out with a doctor’s appointment.  I had to go see a dermatologist just because I mentioned to my PMD that my sister had had melanoma (she’s fine now) and so the doctor referred me to a dermatologist to give me the once over.  YES.  The once over.  And I have to tell you the best thing about the appointment.  As the dermatologist is looking very closely at all the various parts of me, parts that I’d rather no one see, she says, “You have really beautiful skin.”  LOLOLOL. Oh, that one will last me a long time!  Of course, she meant from a professional point of view, in that I didn’t have one suspicious mole in sight, which she thought was remarkable considering my fair skin, and a fair amount of exposure as a kid, as well as the fact that I never wear sunscreen.  But I’ll take  a compliment any which way I can.  (And before you all start yelling at me, I don’t really go out in the sun.  I wear sunscreen when I am in the pool.)

So since I had to go through that traumatic event, I wanted to treat myself to a Pinkberry frozen yogurt.  I also had a very short list of things I wanted to look for.  I wanted some pink towels, I wanted to LOOK at some of those fabulous Newton running shoes that Shelley has, I needed a new bedside lamp, and I needed to get some extra fancy hypo-allergenic dog food for HRH.  Sophie has some mild food allergies, and for convenience sake, I had tried once again to convert all the dogs to the same brand of dog food.  And then eventually Sophie starts licking her feet and legs.  Slurp, slurp, slurp.  Every evening.  Followed by me yelling “STOP LICKING!”  Followed by me feeling bad.  How would you like it if your skin felt itchy/irritated/dry (I don’t actually know what it feels like to her) and someone yelled at you to stop.

Anyway, back to my shopping trip.  I never did find the pink towel.  Weird.  But everywhere I went, I found some fun bargain.  I’m just guessing things were marked down after Christmas.  I found some ‘gourmet food’ items at Home Goods.  I tried to control myself.  Got some cookies and cream coffee, dried apricots, giant cashews, and some chocolate, cherry, and almond granola!

Next stop, Marshalls.  Surely they have some pink towels.  Nope.  But look what I just happened to pass by on the way to the towels!

I swear, I have been looking for the right pair of clogs for three years.  And finally gave up and got those two pair of shoes right before I left for my Christmas trip.  And then I find these Born clogs on sale for $29.  I couldn’t resist.  I love clogs for airplane travel, so you can kind of slip them halfway off your feet.  Oh, plus when you go through the security place, very easy on and off.

I walked around in them for quite a while to make sure the heels were not too high for me.

At this point I was running out of steam, and I almost drove on by the sports store (where I was going to look for the Newtons.)  But there was a 15 minute parking place right in front, so I thought, I’ll just run in to see if they even have them.  Well, they did not.  But look what I found!  Saucony, my favorite brand, and these are a new ‘extra light’ version.  Not quite as colorful as the Newtons, but close enough for me.  Plus the fact that they felt fantastic the minute I put them on my feet.  You’d better look quick, cause they won’t stay this pretty for too long.  I’ll probably reserve them for gym shoes for a little while, and then they’ll get drafted for their real purpose, taking the long walks around here.  Oh yeah, these were on sale $20 off too!

On to Costco to get the Queen’s special formula doggie food–Turkey and Sweet Potato.  I guess we’re more alike than I thought–we even eat the same stuff.  And I scored again!!!  Right inside the door they had a big display of Magic Bullet Blenders with a special $10 off.  I have looked at the Magic Bullet displays for year.  I resisted getting one before Christmas, and I guess it paid off.  My old Oster blender has been trying to give up the ghost, and since I am using it more and more, the timing was just right.  I am now the proud owner of a Magic Bullet 25 piece set!  I have no idea where I’m going to put all those pieces…

And, the last thing I had on my list–a bedside lamp?  I got the very last Ottlight in Costco for only $19.  Yahoo.  No more jumping out of bed to turn the light off just as I’m about to drift off to sleep.  I also got some green beans, giant cherries, blueberries, and a whole box of the Pure Protein bars I’ve been eating lately.

And then it was off to Pinkberry for my froyo and the drive home.  I had brought my food for the day with me, so no need to stop and get lunch.  And I got home just in time to take the doggies for their evening stroll before it got dark.

It was a very good day.  I made myself a turkey taco salad for dinner, and it looked so pretty I had to take a picture of it to share with you.  Dessert was about 10 of the giant cherries and a Russell Stover sugar free mint.  I am quite fond of those right now.

I did a little more work on the spreadsheets for our Haiti project.  We are having a meeting with our pastor and the treasurers tomorrow, and are trying to look like we know what we are doing LOL. Which, BTW, I don’t think I mentioned yet how wonderful it was that two of my bloggy friends, Pubsgal and Cammy, offered to help when I complained about having a problem with Excel.  In emailing with Cammy, she mentioned Google Docs, and that has been a lifesaver.  Just what we needed!  Its really wonderful how people you haven’t even met are so willing to help you.

I am very happy with my activity level for this first week of 2012.  I have been able to get into the free weights room at the gym, and do bench presses with the bar each time I’ve gone.  I’m adding in some core exercises on the days that I walk at home.  Helen, I can do 3 whole 30-second planks.  And then I collapse on the floor huffing and puffing.  And all the dogs come over to see what the heck is wrong with me.

I’ve been hitting up the Redbox lately, and have seen some really good movies.  Midnight in Paris was delightful, Sarah’s Key was really good, and The Beaver, starring Mel Gibson and Jody Foster, was actually a fascinating movie.  One reviewer commented that the Mel Gibson ick factor was one of the reasons it didn’t succeed.  That made me laugh.  I guess since I don’t have tv, I never saw all the horrid stuff he was involved in.  Its interesting to me who we will forgive and who we won’t.  I LOVE Hugh Grant.  I can’t help it.  When he got caught cheating on  his fiance(?) with a prostitute, was there a time period where we didn’t forgive him?  Which reminds me, have you all seen “About a Boy?”  One of my favorite Hugh Grant performances.

Somehow I got into quite a Meryl Streep movie review with Shelley. Have you young’uns seen Sophie’s Choice, The French Lieutenant’s Woman, and Out of Africa?  They  are must sees, if you like Meryl Streep, or good movies, or women with accents LOL (Meryl Streep really became known for her ability to do accents in these films.)

And then there is my affinity for movie musicals.  Remember when I said I wanted to start reading some classic books?  Well, I thought I’d start out with an easy one.  I downloaded Oliver Twist to my Kindle Fire.  Which led me to serenade the dogs with ALL the songs from the old (60’s?) musical Oliver.  Whe-eh-eh-eh-ere is love (sung in a high whispery voice)   O-li-veh, O-li-veh, never before has a boy wanted more, (sung in a generic chorus of voices,) and One boy, boy for sale, he’s going cheap... (sung in the deep baritone of Mr. Bumble)… oh, the dogs were sick of me by the end of the day LOL.

I guess maybe I should post a little more frequently.  You can divide this into several days readings if you want.

17 thoughts on “Christmas in January?

    • Pretty much everything is a long drive from home! I go to the doctor in Sacramento, because I want to stay in the same university system that I worked in. So I decided to go from there to Folsom, which really has great shopping and is much easier to navigate than Sacramento. Its sort of part way home–like I did a giant triangle!

  1. I love all your posts – I don’t care how long they are! Sure wish I could’ve done that shopping excursion with you. And that comes from someone who hate shopping. Go figure!!

  2. LOL at your buffet of a post! The line about someone yelling at you if you’re itchy cracked me up – so true!

    3-30 second planks is FANTASTIC. They’ll never feel easy but once you’ve got those 3 down for a couple of weeks try for 4, or 5 🙂

    • Thanks Helen, coming from you, that’s a real compliment. I do plan on increasing the time and the reps. I’m still a little competitive!

  3. So nice to catch up with you Debby! I like alot of the movies you mentioned. Have you seen the Kings Speech?? I loved it! or The Curious Case of Benjamin Button? that has Brad Pitt in what might be his best performance ever. But then i liked his other movie Meet Joe Black which didn’t get good reviews and it is rather long but i still liked it. I like it when movie actors or actresses have had great fame that they can then afford to be a little free in choosing what movies to do and some are willing to go out on a limb like Johnny Depp. Have you seen the movie Chocolat with Johnnny Depp? Ahhh……there you go you got me started on movies. LOL! Sounds like your having a fantastic time girl! Hugs! deb

    • Oh yes, I LOVED The King’s Speech. And I LOVED The Curious Case. I do love Johnny Depp in some of his unusual roles. Didn’t like Chocolat that much, and now, I can’t imagine why I wouldn’t like it–maybe I’d better check it out again!

  4. Good job on getting all that done in one day – that wore me out just reading it!!

    ~Love the shoes – both the clogs and the running shoes.
    ~I’m jealous of your magic bullet – we just got a new Cuisinart blender so guess who’s been having smoothies for breakfast every morning? 🙂
    ~The taco salad looks really yummy!
    ~We love Google Docs – my son uses it a lot for homework projects.
    ~3-30 second planks? Holy cow that’s awesome!!
    ~Thanks for the movie reviews – now if only I could find time to actually sit down and WATCH a movie…
    ~I adore Meryl Streep -one of my favorites is A River Runs Through It with Kevin Bacon. She plays such a badass mom in that one and I just really love Kevin Bacon, even when he’s being deliciously evil!
    ~ I loved this post!! Long posts are awesome! 🙂

    • You know what’s better than long posts?–Long comments!! Thanks! I looked seriously at the Cuisinart blender/food processor, and also at the mini food processor. I think the Magic Bullet won out because…its MAGIC! Can hardly wait to try it.

      Had to check out that movie–I think its The River Wild? Anyway, I can’t remember if I saw it or not–another one to put on my list! I might have to sign up for Netflix again!

      Your son uses Google Docs? Now I’m embarrassed at how I can’t figure out what to do with it!

  5. AWESOME buy with the Born clogs!!! They are usually $39-$49 at TJ Maxx – I would have bought those in a heartbeat! And the Newtons can be hard to find, but I do love the colors on the Sauconys! Tell me, do you line up your new shoes in your closet and just admire them? Or is that just me? 😉 Between your Christmas trip and yesterday, you have some winners!

    Pink towels? How fun. I couldn’t get away with that color in my household…hope you do find some soon. And the light sounds great – again with the bargains! I’ve never tried a Magic Bullet but I hear so many people raving about them. I’m with you on the “where in the world do I store all the pieces?” thing…

    I would do serious damage at Costco. Good thing there’s not one nearby. Very jealous of your cherries.

    My kids say I have no soul because I didn’t cry at the end of Benjamin Buttons. It wasn’t real!!! Actually, I think we saw it after my grandmother had died, and I was in a different mindset – maybe even a bit miffed at the world, you know?

    • LOL. I not only line them up to admire them, I ‘pose’ them on my tv tray and take pictures of them for my blog!

      Yes, some folks call Costco the $100 club… Even when I am trying to be ‘good’ I spend more than I intended.

      LOL on not crying at the end of Benjamin Buttons. I don’t think I cried either. But I really did enjoy the movie.

  6. Love those shoes!

    With the magic bullet, I really only use a couple of the pieces and have the rest way back in the cupboards. I love the small blending cup and the chopping blade the most. Tip – do *not* lose the extra o-rings that come with it. You will need them at some point.

    I am a musical person. Well, older musicals anyway. I love to sing Oliver, West Side Story, Pirates of Penzance, Oklahoma, South Pacific 😀

    • That makes sense that you like musicals too. I actually knew most of the songs from South Pacific years before I ever saw the movie.

      Thanks for the Magic Bullet advice. I haven’t even taken it out of the box for fear of not knowing what to do with all the parts!

Leave a Reply

