Three Syllables

Three syllables–  FAB – U – LOUS!  That’s what today was!  As promised, I went to the San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles to view the special exhibit of Quilt National.  It was so wonderful to see art quilts in a museum setting, where you could view the quilt as a whole from across the room, and then get up close to see the beautiful detail work in the quilt.  It really was very inspirational to me.  And encouraging.  These quilts are different than the quilts entered in most quilt shows.  To me, they seem more “doable.”  They are not as ‘perfect’ as show quilts, but they are truly works of art.  I was so glad I went.  And since it was the last official day of my ‘spa week,’ I had great food all day.  Took one of my blueberry scones and picked up a coffee at Starbuck’s for the drive down.  Had a quest bar and a pear for the middle of the day.  And ended with a stop for my favorite ‘side-by-side’ salad at Baja Fresh (really, you have to try this salad, if there is a Baja Fresh near you.  It is not on the menu any more, but it is still on their cash register,) and a froyo at Blush (first cousin to Pinkberry.)

Three syllables– GLA – DYS KNIGHT!!!  I want me some false eyelashes and spangles!  Is everyone watching Dancing with the Stars?  Its the best season ever.  I love that show.  And Gladys Knight was just fabulous.  She is 10 years older than me, and she has a typical 67 year old body, meaning that she is thicker through the middle–that weight that all of us love to despair over.  And she was not worried about that one bit!  She was DAN – CING!  And she was beautiful.  I wish her confidence for all of us. I’m gonna have to go watch it one more time!

Three syllables–  L – O – L.  Is that three syllables?  Well, you get my drift.  Head on over to Cammy’s blog for her latest adventure.  Cammy is always funny, but I about fell off my chair laughing at this one.  Its extra funny because its so true.  Well, you young’uns won’t know how true it is, but just you wait.  Your time is coming.

Hope all of you are having a THREE SYLLABLE weekend!  I am off for a little cuddle time with the lap warmers, while stitching and daydreaming about future quilt creations.

6 thoughts on “Three Syllables

  1. I watched Dancing and loved Gladys as well! Actually the entire cast was a lot of fun to watch, and of course I want to learn how to dance now. With Tristan as my partner because I love his accent. 🙂

    Meant to tell you with your last post that I like your personalized headers!

    And I’m glad you had such a fabulous day at the quilt show – that was quite a drive for the day so I’m happy it was so worthy.

    Give the pups an extra pat from me.

  2. Oh you’re so sweet! Thank you for the kind words and the link to my adventure. And for including me in a post with Gladys Knight. 🙂

  3. I haven’t seen Dancing but I love Gladys Knight so maybe I need to add this to the DVR. Glad you had fun at the show and I’m just loving the upbeat mood of this post!

Leave a Reply

