Three Weeks from Today

Three weeks from today, at this very moment, I will be in Knoxville, Tennessee!!!  I can hardly believe it.  It seems funny but I don’t really think about the trips I am taking on a daily basis.  Maybe its a defense mechanism I’ve developed to keep from obsessing about details.  So when I do think about them, it kind of comes as a surprise that it is approaching so quickly.

Sooooo…..what am I doing in Knoxville?  Well, this trip started as a “dream trip.”  I’ve dreamed about going to the  AQS quilt show in Paducah, Kentucky for a long time.  There are other big shows in the country, but this is one of the oldest and biggest and something about Paducah, Kentucky–I just wanted to go there.  Well, when you start investigating, you can’t rent a room closer than an hour away from Paducah even a year ahead of time!  So I checked out some of the tours that are offered.  The one I chose started in Nashville, Tennessee for some reason.

Hmmm, don’t I know some bloggers who live in Tennessee???  Yep, I’m gonna have another blogger meet-up!  Started emailing with Sharon.  I’ve also always wanted to see the Smoky Mountains.  And now I’m going to get to take a hike with an expert on those mountains!  So an extra day turned into several extra days!  Then started emailing the fabulous and funny Cammy–gotta get my laughs in on this trip!  All three of us will get together at some point for a day of great fun I am sure.  I also contacted an old friend from my spinning/knitting days, and we are also going to rendezvous!  And all this before the quilt show tour even starts!

In the middle of all that planning, I got a little mixed up in my dates, and it turns out there is an extra day in there.  I am going to use that day to rest up for the quilt show tour.

If any of you have been to Paducah, KY, and know about any place I need to see or experience, please leave me a comment!  I’m sure there will be more to do than I can possibly fit in, so to have personal recommendations would be a good thing.

So tonight I’m thinking, I really want to keep exercise at the forefront during this trip.  I really feel better when I am exercising very consistently.  Oh, I started my new job this week, and that is working out great–I get to the gym an hour before my job so I have enough time to do my weights exercises and spend at least 20 minutes on the bicycle.  So far this is really a no-stress job.  I am enjoying the structure, and as friend Shelley said, sometimes that helps you to be more productive.  It certainly has done that for me this week.  So back to the trip.  I am sure there is a good gym at the Marriott where I will be staying in Nashville and Paducah.  I know there’s one at the hotel Sharon recommended (how much do I love that she scoped out the hotels for me and found one that had a kitchenette in the room  and a Starbuck’s across the street.  What more could a girl ask for?)  And of course there will be at least one hike, and maybe two.

So, back to the homefront, here’s a couple of the meals I have enjoyed this week.

I made my fabulous quinoa breakfast (have I told you before this is fabulous LOL?)  It makes 3 servings, so one of those I mixed half and half with the Abundance oatmeal for a change.  I still like it best without the oatmeal.  But I have a feeling that some people would like the oatmeal mix better.

I finally tried Helen’s crockpot BBQ chicken–THANK YOU HELEN!!  Yummy stuff.  And enough to last me quite a few meals!  I put most of it in the freezer, and have had it a couple of times this week.  Here’s tonight’s salad.  I had to go looking for a BIG bowl for my salad.  Tired of the salad spilling over the side of the regular salad bowls.  When I have a salad, its usually the whole meal.  This had baby greens with apple, carrot, raisins, sunflower seeds, and BBQ chicken.  Good to the last bite!

Another thing I’ve been enjoying the past few weeks is microwave popcorn a la Cammy! I had heard about the paper bag method before but was skeptical.  But if Cammy says it works, well then, maybe i should try it.  It tastes really good to me.  I spray it with a little vegetable oil spray and sprinkle with popcorn salt.  yummy.  Thanks Cammy!

Also in production this week, but not pictured, I made another big batch of my homemade yogurt.  This method seems to be foolproof for me.  It is so much tastier (and less tangy) than any store-bought yogurt I’ve ever had.

And to wrap up this disjointed post, here is a silly picture of Sophie.  I couldn’t figure out what she was doing, and then I saw that she was just trying to catch a few rays LOL.

 

11 thoughts on “Three Weeks from Today

  1. Your trip sounds like SO. MUCH. FUN! So glad you’re getting to meet all these fabulous bloggers and can’t wait to hear all about it.

    The photo of Sophie made me laugh out loud. I feel like that some days – I’ll do anything to catch some rays.

    Glad you tried and like the chicken. I made it again this week and I’ve had to force myself to not eat it every day. It’s just so yummy!

  2. I spent a summer in Knoxville, TN once a long time ago – I was 23 and very, very stupid. Ah, good times, good times!

    What a fun trip!! I’m sure you’ll have a great time!

  3. Girlfriend needs her Vitamin D!

    You are going to have so much fun on that trip! I’m jealous that the other bloggers will get to spend time with you. They are lucky!

  4. That sounds like a fun trip! I am pretty sure I get to meet Sharon later this spring as she is going to be in my area!

    Must make the BBQ chicken after hearing you and Helen rave about it.

  5. We began married life in Knoxville and were there three years. One of the best things about it was being so close to the Smokies and Gatlinburg. I hope your trip is as fun as it sounds like it will be. 🙂

  6. Wow, how much fun to see other bloggers who know my hometown….I think I remember seeing Jill dancing naked on the riverfront when she was 23! ROFL!! And yes, how lucky am I to get to meet all these bloggers in person. I hope that continues for a long time.

    And don’t worry, there WILL be exercise while you are in Knoxville. And I know a couple of terrific walking places in Nashville as well so maybe you, Cammy and I will be able to take a walk.

    Funny you mentioned yogurt as I’m planning to bend your ear on that one. I’ve tried twice and both times had a colossal mess. Could you build in an extra day for us to make yogurt??? I refuse to give up a hiking day for anything kitchen related.

    • LOL. Sharon! We could get the yogurt going in about an hour or less in the morning, take the hike and it would be waiting for us when we get home! I would love doing that for you.

Leave a Reply

