I Should Write a Blog

Hey, that’s a better title than the  alternative titie, “I flushed my glasses down the toilet.”  I DID.  Can you believe it?  Never mind the details.   So my alternative methods of seeing are my old contacts (tried those yesterday and remembered why I decided to stop wearing contacts.  Its like there’s a constant glare in my left eye.)  Today I am making do with my glasses that developed a film on the anti-glare coating.  So its like wearing glasses that seem like they always need to be cleaned.  But at least I can see.  When did I get like this? I used to be able to see the tiniest things perfectly.

Anyway, I don’t have anything outstanding to say, so thought I’d just chat about this and that.

Went to the ladie’s retreat last weekend.  It was in Tahoe, and honestly, for me, there is probably not a more beautiful place on earth.  I grew up spending a week at Lake Tahoe almost every summer, so there is the nostalgic component to it as well.

No more ladie’s retreats for me though.  TOO MUCH FOOD!!!  In addition to the three gigantic meals they serve you, there seems to be an unwritten rule that a never-ending array of snack items must be available at all times.  Honestly, aren’t these the same women who are complaining about their weight, and trying to lose weight the rest of the year?  Anyway, I am not actually blaming them.  But for me, it is too hard to resist that much tempting food, and I was pretty miserable (as were my cabin-mates) by the end of the weekend.  I loved the speaker, and I loved the worship time.  But I don’t particularly enjoy spending that much time in that close a proximity to that many women LOL.  Again, its me, not them.  To me, my idea of retreat is to spend some time alone with the Lord, and reading/thinking/praying.  So I might go on retreat again, but it will be a different kind of retreat.

Some good food pics from the past few days:

I never tried this before.  I usually eat my yogurt unflavored, with walnuts or granola or muesli, or sometimes on top of chopped fruit.  First, did I tell you about making the strawberry cubes.  I took some strawberries, pulverized them in the food processor and then tried to strain them to get most of the seeds out, and put them in ice cube trays to freeze like I do the mashed bananas.  I thought they would come in handy for toppings and such.  And they have!  So I had thawed out one banana and one strawberry cube, and I mixed them up with 1/2 cup of plain (homemade) yogurt.  Quite yummy.  And it stayed nice and thick too.  Of course I had to put some bananas on top.  Same  idea as that frozen yogurt I showed you the other day.

Southwestern salad.

Topped with my favorite Chevy’s salsa, no need for dressing.

Not sure if this will make sense to you, but I was VERY excited to get this drawn today.  Rug camp is coming up, and once again I am scrambling to get my project ready to go.  I have had this idea for a long time, but I am always afraid to draw, so I put it off  for as long as possible.  My friend said, ‘I bet if you just set two hours aside to sketch and draw, you can get it done.’  And I said, ‘well, yes, if I would set two hours aside for ANYTHING, I could get a lot done.’  Hmmm.  I think I have a problem with being distracted.  Anyway, I took her advice, and it took me less than two hours to get this done.  It is my vision of the Bible passage

“Let the sea and everything in it shout his praise!
 Let the fields and their crops burst out with joy!
Let the trees of the forest rustle with praise
 before the Lord, for he is coming!”

The class I am taking at rug camp is on doing a rug in the Klimt style.  That’s why the drawing is so full of little shapes and curliques.  And if anyone is wondering, I am working like mad to try to get the sheep rug finished, but I don’t think I’ll make it.

So, my last thought of the day is this.  Hooray for Dietgirl.  She is a real person.  She had a great successful weight loss that took a long time, she wrote a great book about that experience, and now, years later, she still struggles with her weight/eating/body image.  Just this week alone I have gone from ‘deciding’ that I am going to eat very stringently and get my weight down to 125, to saying, forget about it, that’s not going to happen.  And its not like I said forget about it because I wanted to pig out on junk food.  No way.  I was just enjoying way too much all the great healthy food I have.  Started out the day with my fabulous quinoa, got hungry before lunch so had a really good smoothie made with whey (leftover from my yogurt,) almond milk, a little yogurt, strawberry and banana cubes, and some protein powder.  That was yummy.  So then I wasn’t hungry for lunch until 2:30, and I had strawberries (some of those really great vine-ripened ones) and  cottage cheese and walnuts.  And then I had one of the blueberry chia muffins.  I didn’t need it, but I sure enjoyed it.  So then I wasn’t hungry for dinner until 7pm, and I had a great piece of salmon, an artichoke, and some leftover roasted brussel sprouts.  And I wasn’t really hungry, but I made some froyo with the yogurt and strawberry and banana cubes.  So yes, you can eat really healthy food and NOT lose weight.  That’s how its done.

12 thoughts on “I Should Write a Blog

  1. I am so with you on the retreat philosophy. Maybe that’s why we got along so well! I stopped going on them years ago. Gotta have my sleep and gotta have my own room. Always came across as being snobbish although not the way it’s meant at all. It’s just me! But the noise, the food, the silliness always bothered and it seemed most people were there for any reason EXCEPT the reason for which we were supposed to be retreating!

    Loving my muffins I made before we left. Enjoying one (and ONLY 1) per day!!

    Can’t wait for you to show me around Tahoe one of these days!

  2. The last ladies retreat I went on (quite a few years ago), the organizing committee specifically requested to the chefs that we have light and low calorie food. Let me tell you it was fabulous – lovely vegetable soups and finger sandwiches and fruit/veggie trays for snacks. Sometimes I think it’s just up to someone to ask. Also, I always get a room by myself! At the end of the day, I need a break from all the people (and yes, it’s me too.)

    I’ve said many times I am completely capable of healthfully out eating my exercise and taking in too many good calories. I understand.

    I think had you made your blog title “I flushed my glasses down the toilet” it would have been quite interesting to see your statistics lol!

    Have a great weekend.

  3. With retreats, I always felt that the hosts figure if they feed you enough food you will remember that and be happy.

    I do have to admit to a lot of curiosity about the toilet and the glasses….

    “So yes, you can eat really healthy food and NOT lose weight.” Yep – we do this all the time! I have been really struggling with the body image lately, which is weird. It almost seemed to go hand in hand with not weighing myself this month, interesting, no?

    I am about at the forget-about-it point, but can’t quite cross over the barrier

  4. I say yay for you! If you are eating healthy and you are happy – is there really anything more you need?

    Love the rug sketch!! That’s going to be really cool – I picture lots of vibrant colors with this one.

    I lol’d when I read your first sentence – had it been me, I TOTALLY would have used that as my blog title!

  5. OMG, flushing your glasses is both so funny and so awful! I swear, the crazy things that happen!

    Your drawing is amazing. You have a great talent for that – but I’m not really surprised, seeing all of your hand embroidery work on your quilts. The new rug is going to be amazing!

    I’ve only been to Lake Tahoe a handful of times, but am so with you on how gorgeous it is!

    Shauna’s post was really good. And you are spot on with healthy eating – it’s still the amount. Sigh. OOH – I love your frozen fruit cube idea for the yogurt! Would be nice when there’s no fresh fruit in the fridge.

  6. My daughter ran over her prescription sun glasses. She had just put on her regular glasses because she could not find the sunglasses. As we backed out, we heard CRUNCH. She said, “What was that?” and I said, “Your sunglasses.”

    Just wanted you to know that your homemade yogurt is making the rounds. Whenever I mention that I’ve made yogurt I get questions so I link back to your recipe. Thank you again.

  7. I’ve dropped pagers and phones in the toilet, but glasses..new one. I ‘m a little bit joiner when I’m around that many women like at a retreat and a little bit loner. I take time to walk outside, have alone time in my room, walk around and spend some time sitting outside on benches or chair…whatever. That makes me happy and balances me out.

  8. Couldn’t help it, I laughed as I pictured you leaning over to hit the flush handle and the glasses slipping out of your shirt pocket and saying bye bye! 😀

    Love love that design! And no wonder, since I love the Klimt style, too. Be sure to get lots of progress pics… this will be fun to watch.

    Retreats, meetings, get-togethers, etc etc etc… why oh why do they think it’s a loving thing to do to stuff people??! They never took the hints or requests to provide light and/or healthy stuff, so I had to learn that the words “no thank you” were my best friends, LOL!

  9. My glasses fell in the toilet too, but I didn’t flush them. I had to fish them out–yuck! They are such a nuisance–on and off all the time, and some are stretched out–that’s why they fell off.One of the things we have to deal with as we get older.

    I’m not a retreat person. I don’t sleep well, and there is always way too much food. I also need my own room, because I get up at least once in the middle of the night–another age-related thing.

    I love the design of the rug. Pictures will be interesting! Great food pics too!

  10. I go with my sister on her women’s retreat some years. On Saturday they have four hours of silence. It’s the part I look forward to most. Everyone is instructed to avoid eye contact. You can go anywhere in the woods (there’s a prayer trail and just regular hiking trails) or the cabin areas or the lodge (which has a nice library and a crafting area). In four of the cabins they set up “retreat” rooms in various themes with music or nature sounds and ambiance — sometimes notepads to write on or whatever. They also have a “spa” room set up where you can sit and do your nails or soak your feet in warm scented water. There’s also an outdoor “chapel” — enough area so it’s easy to spread out and avoid eye contact. Women are sometimes present but not intrusive and everyone’s thoughts just free up. We debrief in small groups afterwards and talk about where our heads went, and it’s amazing. Some people write the most wonderful poetry.

    The only down side is that the treat table is ever available and a little on the heavy side. I don’t know what that’s about.

Leave a Reply

