Another Salad, and a Few Good Desserts

Oh my goodness people.  Evidently I retired just in time.  I worked out for just a few minutes before going to work (the weights were being used when I was there yesterday, so had to get these in.)  Then I went to work for Vicky.  Things were unusually busy today so my ‘work’ (I know, THREE WHOLE HOURS) involved me either standing in one place or walking around on a concrete floor.  I swear.  I was WORN OUT!!  So on the way home, I re-thought my dinner plans.  What would be quick and easy?  Ah.  Another salad.

This one was a goodie.  Chicken (again about two ounces) tossed in a bit of BBQ sauce,  half an apple, 1 ounce of fresh asiago cheese (BTW, this is good, but not nearly as flavorful as aged asiago,) and baby greens.  I made a salad dressing in the bowl of olive oil, rice wine vinegar, honey, and salt and pepper. Yum yum yum.

Doncha love how long it takes to eat a salad?

So, I ate those refrigerator oatmeals three mornings in a row.  Quite good.  I loved the chia seeds.  I didn’t like the oats so much.  Which is weird, because I love muesli in my yogurt.  So I thought about making chia pudding.  Of course I googled it, and came up with several promising recipes.  This one looked the most promising, but I did change it up a bit.  The thing is, it is not as thick as I would think it should be.  I think I might have made a mistake and used half the amount of chia seeds.  Especially after looking at her pics again.  Anyway, it is quite tasty.  My recipe was simple:  1 cup almond milk, 1 cup plain yogurt, 4Tbsp chia seeds (this is where I think maybe I only added two,) 2 Tbsp unsweetened coconut, and 2Tbsp honey.  Put it all in one of those mason jars and stir.  I liked the idea of making a coconut pudding to use as a base for whatever I would like to add.  Here is what I added for tonight’s dessert.*

That’s only two squares of my favorite dark chocolate (50 cal.)

I never know how to take a picture of stuff like this.  It really helps to choose the right container for it.

I’ve been thinking about making some chocolate froyo for a while, so when I saw this recipe over on Katie’s blog I had to try my version.  VERY satisfying.  I used 3 frozen banana cubes, about 2 Tbsp of my homemade yogurt, 1 Tbsp cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch of salt, and maybe 1/2 Tbsp of walnut butter.  The only thing I would say is that if I was more patient, I would put it back in the freezer for maybe 1/2-1 hour to let it firm up a bit.  Its always pretty melty after whirling around in my food processor.  But VERY tasty!*

I’m trying to find desserts that are very lightly sweetened, and also I am having fruit more often for dessert.  I especially am loving the big bowl of watermelon that I cut up and have handy in the fridge.*  I used Shelley’s ‘pineapple’ method to cut it up.  That worked really great!  Thanks for that idea Shelley!

*  Disclaimer:  I did not have all these desserts on the same night!

12 thoughts on “Another Salad, and a Few Good Desserts

  1. I first got it at the health food store here in town. Then I got it at one of those stores with all the bins–called Sprouts, or Sunflower “Farmer’s Market.” Probably have it at Whole Foods too.

  2. You’re salad looks yummy!! I need to start experimenting with different salad dressing concoctions. I’m not so good at throwing things together though!

    • Its not so much throwing things together as it is thinking constantly about food! I just think about a meal or combination of food that I saw advertised or in a restaurant and think, that would taste good together. Very rarely do I have an original thought LOL.

  3. Haha on the disclaimer! I just can’t get into the chia seeds. I don’t like gummy candies and am ambivalent about jello, so I am not surprised I don’t care for the chia. I keep thinking about trying the refrigerator oats with flax instead of chia. John was interested in trying a mocha one, so I might make some of these up.

  4. I’m going to try the Chia Pudding! I like thick pudding, so hope you are right about the amount. Have you tried the Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats yet? I am loving those.

  5. Your dessert shots look great! I think your food photography is really pretty. I can never figure out how close to zoom in, or what, but your shots always are great!

  6. These look so good. Maybe its the heat, but I’m going to try one of these recipes tonight. Having something cold for dinner just sounds right. I’ve heard the idea of those chia seeds being really satisfying in recipes and they remind me so much of bubble tea – I’ve got to try them.

  7. :Your food always looks so good, Debby. As another retiree, I think your job sounds just about right for staying in touch with the world. You may not be like this, but I can “hole up” in my house way too easily. I have to make sure I keep in touch with things.

Leave a Reply

