Broccoli Slaw Two Ways

I posted the delicious broccoli slaw the other day.

And then I remembered why I had originally picked up the package of broccoli slaw.  I wanted to try cooking it.  Fortunately I had gotten another bag of it at TJ’s last week.  So tonight I threw the whole package (140 cal) in the pan and cooked it, added those leftover veggies (53 cal) from last night, some pre-cooked shrimp (90 cal,) some crumbled bacon (70 cal,) one container (2 servings, 310 cal) of brown rice, and 1 Tbsp sesame oil (130 cal.)  Seasoned with some pepper and soy sauce.  Four big servings of delicious for less than 200 calories each!  I love the texture of the broccoli slaw in this.  And no extra work for me–win-win!!

Based on my basic fried rice recipe.

I am definitely on a cooking jag lately.  I made another batch of homemade yogurt today, and there was still some leftover milk, so I dug a box of the sugar free chocolate yogurt out of the cupboard, and made a batch of that.  I like that pudding once in a while!  I’m going to have a bowl of that tonight, and then give the little guys some lap time.

14 thoughts on “Broccoli Slaw Two Ways

    • Ooh, that is a very nice new toy! I will put it on my Christmas list (i’m compiling quite a Christmas list to buy for myself this year…)

  1. I cook broccoli slaw a lot! I love it with mushrooms and onions added. Sometimes I make that as a sidedish with a piece of chicken and sometimes I make a double batch and it’s my meal. Yum.

  2. I have NOT been on a cooking jag lately – in fact, I can’t get motivated to cook anything at all. Sure wish you were closer. I bet a day or in my kitchen with Debby would do me a world of good! Having said that, I did make a new batch of yogurt earlier this week and picked up a package of the broccoli slaw yesterday, so planning to have it for lunch today.

  3. I never thought about COOKING broccoli slaw. But then again, I don’t think about cooking all that often. Your fried rice looks great, though – well, except for that shrimp. 😉

    • I think broccoli slaw is made from the stems that have been peeled and then shredded. You could do that with a mandolin. Or even a grater.

Leave a Reply

