Some Excitement Going On!

Monk doesn’t look excited, but he is following me from place to place, hoping I will finally settle down and he can have some quality lap time.

Sophie says:  What is going on?  Does it involve food?  Will there be popcorn?  (Sophie goes after popcorn like a crocodile going after…well, like a crocodile.)

Sophie is closer to the truth! I had an exciting opportunity very unexpectedly drop into my lap!  I was asked to be the “healthy blogger” for The Quilt Show, a huge online community of quilters!  So for what seems like weeks (but its only been a couple of days) I have been obsessing about working on the first blog entry–about popcorn!  The Quilt Show has an internet show every two weeks, and I really look forward to it.  Over the past few years I’ve developed the habit of having popcorn with my Quilt Show viewing, so I thought that that would be a good first blog.  Who knew it would be so hard to write about popcorn?  If you are a regular reader of my blog, you can check out their daily blog without being a member.  My intro and first post are set to go live on Saturday and Sunday.

Anyway, if you are over here visiting from The Quilt Show, a big welcome to our healthy living/weight loss/weight maintenance community.  I’ve been writing this blog for almost five years, so there’s plenty to see.  Feel free to look around.  You might want to check out my “about me” page.  Or if you’re a dog lover, you could click on the Noah Speaks category over there on the side bar.  Noah is my big white dog.  He was quite the challenge to raise, and we sorted some of it out by allowing him to write a few blog entries from his perspective.

Originally I wrote a lot about weight loss and weight maintenance.  In between I wrote about everything else in my life.  At this stage, I am trying to write a little more about just living a whole and healthy life.  In doing that, I try to be very honest about what is going on in my life.  So some of my blog posts are not always cheery and upbeat (ha!–see previous post LOL.)  But I do love to laugh (thus the frequent use of the irritating LOL.  LOL heheh.)  Anyway, welcome!  It is late, and some little doggies have been waiting very patiently for some lap time.

 

11 thoughts on “Some Excitement Going On!

  1. You will do a great job writing interesting things and what a perfect way to combine to of you passions – quilting and healthy eating. I always love avenues that bring new people into our healthy eating community!!

  2. So excited for you – love that you will be spreading the Debby word to even more people!

    Also, Mr. Monk looks like he’s on a mission – so cute! And Sophie with her paw extended like that – brings back memories of Jackie tapping me (mom. Mom. MOM!!!). Sweet pups!

  3. Congratulations on the new gig! You’ll be an awesome resource for the quilter community! (Exhibit A: You chose popcorn to start–an excellent choice! 🙂 )

  4. Here is Brenda’s popcorn trick…
    microwave popcorn minus any chemicals or preservatives.
    saw this and thought you might enjoy it
    (I have not tried it, just saw it):

    You will need:
    pop corn kernels
    small brown bags
    a microwave 🙂

    1. Place 1/4 cup kernels in the brown bag
    2. roll top of bag down 3 times
    3. Micro for 3-4 minutes till popping slows

    Brenda comments: I love my popcorn plain

Leave a Reply

