One Recipe, Three Ways

Cauliflower haters, just look away!

dscn1279

Honestly, that cauliflower potato bake is one of my go-to comfort foods now. At 66 calories a serving, it can’t be beat. (Of course, I seldom eat a single serving…) The recipe came from my health insurance magazine, so I can’t claim credit for creating it.

Anyway, last week I had all the ingredients for it in my fridge. And I had a LOT of leftover ham in the freezer (Christmas ham for one!) So I put them together! I added 8 ounces of lean ham (cut into bite sized pieces) to the original recipe, and added another 1/4 cup of parmesan to the topping. This made it into a main dish (4 servings) at only 220 calories. I’ll add the details to the original recipe.

Okay. But four servings. There’s only me. So one day I decided I wanted eggs. A very rare occurrence, that’s for sure. I took half of one of those cauliflower-potato-ham servings, heated it in a pan sprayed with oil, and added one scrambled egg. YUMM. Another comforting dinner for about 200 calories.

And so it goes. The continuing adventures of finding good enjoyable tasty food to eat for 200-300 calories!

Which, completely unrelated to cauliflower, I was toying with making a pineapple upside down cake for a special occasion. I had cut the recipe out of a magazine. 600 calories a serving! Oh my. I do love pineapple upside down cake. But that is just plain depressing to think of the fall out of eating probably more than one piece of it. So I went to cooking light’s site (I think those folks generally like good tasting food) and searched ‘pineapple upside down cake’ and up popped this recipe for 250 calories. Ahhh. That’s better. I will use the fresh pineapple that I have, but otherwise will probably follow their recipe.

 

8 thoughts on “One Recipe, Three Ways

  1. I haven’t had pineapple upside down cake in forever! Part of it is that I don’t eat cherries. Not that I couldn’t leave the cherry out or anything…

  2. What a nifty idea to use the cauliflower mixture with egg!

    I can take or leave pineapple cake. I mean, it’s not chocolate, you know? 😉

  3. Lol! I love that first line of your post up there. 🙂

    I love eggs and potatoes – I might have to try that for breakfast one morning. Sounds delish!!

    mmmm…pineapple upside down cake. Sounds double delish!

    • Thanks Helen! I am weird, in that I don’t really like cream cheese with savory dishes. But I think I could make this and sub cottage cheese. I like the idea of the cheddar cheese.

Leave a Reply

