Smoothies and Pizza. Almost the same. But not quite.

How the heck are smoothies and pizza the same? Well, I’ve been thinking about this quite a lot–ever since I wrote that post about building a better pizza. I make a smoothie almost every day. Because I’m not tired of them yet, and I don’t have to think too hard about what to eat, and because they keep me satiated for a good long time–at least until my afternoon coffee break snack!

But here’s how they are the same. Both pizzas and smoothies are quite palatable. Both of them have an infinite variety of ways to make them. They both have many many different add-ins and add-ons that make them oh so tasty. And that is where they can become a problem for the person who is either losing weight or trying to maintain their weight loss. All those little add ins add UP. And this was the problem that I had with smoothies in the past. I would add in a bit of this and a bit of that, or follow a super sounding recipe. And pretty soon I had 400 calories in a cup. 400 calories that didn’t seem to keep me full for too long. And that doesn’t work for me. That’s why I made the declaration that I would rather chew my calories. And for the most part, I wrote off smoothies.

But then when I was reading Shelley’s archives, and I decided to try the Me Diet, I gave them one more try. This time, though, they had to meet certain requirements. I wanted to have 20 grams of protein (most protein powders have this in ‘one serving.’) and only be 170 calories. 20 grams of protein is 80 calories. This doesn’t leave a whole lot of room for add-ins. But if you are creative, you can make some very tasty smoothies. My favorite is still the chocolate mint extreme formulations ultra peptide. I add one scoop of the powder to leftover coffee and 4 ice cubes. Instant peppermint mocha frappuccino  for 170 calories! That particular protein powder has more calories because it has a little more fat than most protein powders.

My friend Lori left a couple of good recipes to try in the comments. And Cammy shared her recipe for a strawberry cheesecake protein smoothie on her blog. I LOVE that one. Sometimes I buy strawberries and put them straight in the freezer so I can make it. I also used Cammy’s directions for ‘kale cubes’ to make some spinach cubes. You don’t have to do this, but if you are like me, and your greens go bad before you can add them to your smoothies, go ahead and put them in the food processor with a little water and pulverize them, and then freeze them in ice cube trays. (Warning: its hard to get those green stains off your ice cube trays!)

I made a chocolate banana smoothie the other day using 2 banana cubes, 2 spinach cubes, a scoop of chocolate protein powder, and some water. This one was closer to 200 calories.

And you can buy unflavored whey protein powder. I think it usually has 24 grams of protein for about 110 calories. I’ve found it in the ‘bins’ at the grocery, so I can buy just a little bit at a time. This gives you a little more wiggle room for the add ins.

When I first bought my Magic Bullet, I wasn’t a huge fan of it. But now that I am drinking smoothies regularly, I LOVE that it comes with multiple glasses and lids. I am using all of them all the time! (You can find them at Costco too.)

Oh, and here is my best tip for making smoothies the ultimate traveling companion. If I am going somewhere, and I don’t want to drink my smoothie right away, I will go ahead and make it, and then put it in the freezer for a while. How long I want it to stay cold and frosty will determine the amount of time I leave it in the freezer. I just love this. I can bring my smoothie with me and have it waiting for me, cold and frosty, as soon as I finish my workout at the gym. Don’t forget to pack a straw!

7 thoughts on “Smoothies and Pizza. Almost the same. But not quite.

  1. love the bullet blender. I use it to do my protein pancakes, too. It gets a lot of use. I find my calorie bomb meals can be oatmeal. Too many yummy toppings and it is 500 calories! Okay if I just rode 15 miles before breakfast, but not normal days.

    • You’re right about the oatmeal! I guess that’s why I’ve stopped eating it for a while. I can’t seem to make it for less than 300 calories, and that’s more than I want to eat for breakfast right now! (Of course, I could eat a smaller portion of it…hmmm. I hadn’t thought of that.)

  2. I like the idea of having the greens frozen in cubes – makes it easy and no excuses to not get them in. Ima be all over the smoothies starting next week.

  3. I don’t like to drink my smoothies. I want them thick enough to eat with a spoon. Bill and I have a smoothie every morning before we walk. My go-to recipe is one I learned from the 17 Day Diet. 1 cup kiefer, 1 cup fruit, 1 T flax oil, 1 T sugar free jelly. I add 1 scoop protein powder and 2-3 handfuls of spinach. It makes two regular size coffee mugs FULL and is perfect! Less than 200 calories per mug. I go walk for an hour, run errands and usually have a 3M muffin and a fruit around mid-morning which keeps me totally satisfied until lunch around 1.

  4. Oh yeah, about those kale stains on the trays…. I need to update that post to include a warning. 🙂 (Mine were in the dishwasher when I wrote the original post, so I didn’t know. I wonder if cooking spray would help.)

    I’m not sure why, but most of my recipes wind up in the 200-300 calorie range. Probably just a lack of imagination and culinary ability on my part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

