Where I Was

IMG_9158Spring really is in the air, isn’t it? To me, the first sign of spring is a few little birds singing. Aren’t birds amazing? How do they last the winter? Some of them never leave, I know it. And I never hear them complaining about how cold it is, or how there is not enough sunlight. They just get on as good as they can. And at the first warm rays they’re so happy they start to sing. Oh, if I could only learn something from the birds.

So I went out of town for a few days to a quilting workshop. I was really looking forward to it because the workshop is held in that wonderful nursery that I told you about last fall. It is just a beautiful place. And I fell under its spell again. And because I finally (after only 27 years of living here) have hired someone to help me with the yard work, I got very enthusiastic. And I bought THREE TREES!!! I do love a pretty tree.

I bought something called Henry Lauder’s Walking Stick. I guess this is a shrub, not a tree. The structure just fascinated me. I couldn’t resist.

IMG_9153

And then I saw the blossoming cherry trees. Where I worked, there were two very old and beautiful cherry trees with the biggest fluffiest blossoms I had ever seen. I loved taking a walk in the spring and just standing under those trees. I so hope that this is the same variety (its called Kwanzan Cherry). And even though, in my lifetime, it probably won’t grow to be as big and spectacular as those other trees were, it will be so fun to have one of my own. There is something so hopeful about a tree.

IMG_9154

IMG_9155

And then, I was just about to escape, and I saw this GLORIOUS tree right by the check out counter. The shape of it is so beautiful and graceful. And it is covered with those fascinating little soft pussy willows.

IMG_9156

(look at the tree, people, not at my cabin!)

IMG_9157

I have some thoughts about travel and dieting and food, so if you’re looking for that type of chatter, come back in the next day or so, and we’ll have a conversation about that!

12 thoughts on “Where I Was

  1. Yes! The birds are just so cute. And that’s how I too know it’s come spring time. I was just out earlier admiring the trees and watching and listening to all the little birds chirping and playing on the branches. Enjoy the weather! Can’t wait to start gardening this weekend. Take care.

  2. I love the trees – all so different and interesting! And yes, I saw the Queen in one picture…she walks among the woods, just like Elizabeth does at Balmoreal. 😉

  3. I couldn’t resist–I looked at the cabin! (Hey, I’m not exactly known for my willpower.) I love your cabin AND its new horticultural accessories. I need to get rid of an oak tree and plan to replace it with something more ornamental. You’ve given me some ideas.

    • So did you notice the Santas are still in the window? March is the traditional month for putting away Christmas decorations around here.

  4. Trees – they almost seem like silent companions, don’t they? I’ve never felt more at peace than when I’m standing underneath a bunch of trees. I can’t wait to see your cherry tree bloom!!

  5. I love the Harry Lauder. They are a short tree, more like a small dogwood, maybe? I love how they look in the winter. In our future permahome with my massive gardening space – I will have one.

  6. I noticed driving back from the mountains yesterday that our favorite nursery is open for business with all sorts of colorful things displayed. Bill will be all over that when he gets back from Spain. Can’t wait for the travel and diet post – I’m all over tips for that although it’s something I do pretty well. I actually travel and diet better than I stay home and diet!!

Leave a Reply

