Friday a la Shelley!

When I woke up this morning, I was going to name this post Friday Mishmash. And then I thought, that sounds vaguely familiar? Oh, yes. Its friend Shelley’s famous Friday post! Oops. Anyway, I just had a bit of this and that to post about, so thought I’d share it with you all before the weekend. (This post ended up super long. Maybe you can divide it up and just read a little bit every day, since I can’t seem to make myself blog on a more regular basis.)

Yard guy came over this morning. Oh my. That guy works so hard. And so fast. I can hardly believe all that he got done this morning. And because he was working, and I needed to make decisions about where to move stuff/plant stuff, I worked pretty hard out there too. My yard has not looked this good practically since I moved here, and between him and me, we have even more ideas to fix it up. I am pretty excited about the whole thing. This is the first time I have been able to put plants in the ground in forever. And then I looked back and saw that like five out of the last six posts were about the yard and/or working outside. I guess it is consuming a lot of my time and thoughts right now.

So back to the mishmash. Do you guys floss your teeth? I have never been able to make myself floss regularly. But at my last cleaning, the tech made some semi-threatening statement about having to do some ‘gum work’ if it didn’t improve. And so I became a flossing fanatic.  I got myself one of those Reach thingies. I like it a LOT better than floss.I was so proud yesterday when she kept exclaiming about how good my gums looked! I am a convert.

I tried something new-to-me. I made a veggie stir fry WITHOUT rice. I put a lot of those bean sprouts in it, and I LOVED it. They gave it a nice texture, and without the rice, you can have a bigger volume of vegetables. And you know me, I’m a volume eater. This bowl had about 200 calories. I added some shredded chicken thigh meat and some little shrimp.

IMG_9268

I am going to start gathering more complex vegetable recipes. If you have any favorites, let me know.

Here’s this morning’s breakfast. Its not new. But saving the leftover egg mixture is new. (I just mix 1 egg, 1/4 cup egg beaters, and 1/4 cup almond breeze, and whatever flavors I want–usually splenda, cinnamon, and vanilla.) The egg mixture keeps well in the refrigerator, and is plenty to make another English muffin french toast later in the week. I use Thomas’s Whole Grain English muffins. This breakfast only has about 150 calories (topped with spray butter, cinnamon splenda, and SF syrup.)

IMG_9281

I got some new frying pans–8 inch and 10 inch. These are the pans I use all the time. My old ones were pretty beat up. I like these a lot so far. (Both of the above dishes were cooked in this pan.) The best part is that I found them at Ross–two for $19.99!)

IMG_9277

And back to the yard. Here’s how the yard looked before yard guy came. Did I show you all these little perennials I planted? And that is my favorite corsican mint ground cover to support the mound around the tree.

IMG_9269

Bleeding heart:

IMG_9270

And this little clump of shamrock. Isn’t it charming?

IMG_9287

This camellia was in a huge pot, but was not that happy in there. It is a low-growing camellia, and is the one that has the pretty pink blossoms in November. Yard guy patiently rotated it so that I could choose the angle I liked best before he planted it. I think it’ll be much happier in the ground here.

IMG_9284

And then yard guy tackled this very large atlas cedar. It was in a wine barrel, and the pot I wanted it in was narrower and deeper than the wine barrel. He did a super job of transferring it. You can see how huge the pot is compared to the lawn chair in the background.

IMG_9301

And my proudest, happiest moment today! A cherry tree IN THE GROUND!! If you only knew what the ground was really like around here. Rocks and roots and clay. And now yard guy came up with some landscaping that we can do in that area of the yard! So exciting.

IMG_9285

See that mound of dirt in the corner of the fence? That’s from Noah’s ‘landscaping’ efforts over the past few years. We decided to add a bit of stonework around it and use it as another planting area!

After yard guy left, I moved a bit of yard art around.

IMG_9292

And the dawrgums had to come out and investigate what had been going on in the yard! Noah didn’t hold still long enough for me to get a shot of him.

IMG_9290

Mr. Man is content to find a sunny place to sit and relax.

IMG_9271

Well, if you made it to the end, I will bid you a good weekend. Tomorrow I am going to one of my favorite conferences “Intersections:  Faith and the Arts” at Oak Hills Church in Folsom, CA.

26 thoughts on “Friday a la Shelley!

  1. Mishmash is such a good descriptor for this kind of post – you can see why I started doing it, lol!

    Love how your yard is coming along. And you touched on my favorite part of yardwork – moving the yard art. Everything else, I leave to MY yard man. 😉

    Love the noses to the ground picture – “and he was here, and here, and HERE…”

  2. My bleeding heart isn’t even coming up yet (I hope it does, hmmm… )

    I love your yard! You need a better than than yard guy, though. 😀

  3. It looks so pretty! Judging from the size of those pots, I’m thinking Yard Guy’s name ought to be Hercules. 🙂

    Love your new red cookware! I didn’t know Ross had housewares. Wonder what time they open. 🙂

    • I know! I was pretty excited about finding those at Ross, since I had been to Home Goods several times looking for them.

  4. I love all the work you are doing in the yard. Where did you find the Shamrock? I only see white ones around here. I have a light shade of pink, but love the bright pink you have.

    • It was sitting all by its lonesome at our local nursery. They get some unusual plants sometimes. I love the deep color too. And the leaves seem to be sturdier than the other shamrocks I have seen.

  5. I just bought new pans at Ross too!! Ross and TJ Maxx are my favorite places to buy kitchen stuff – makes me feel like I’m getting a deal!!

    You need to take a stealth picture of Yard Guy next time he comes over so we can see what he looks like. He’s doing such a good job – you’re yard looks lovely!

  6. Love, love, love the gardening photos. Great functional exercise and relaxing to look at the fruits of your labor.

    I’ve been using vegetables as “noodle” substitutes lately for stir fry’s. Great way to get veggies in, lower carb and they freeze well, too. I tend to sautee the following items in a small amount of coconut oil, then add in protein or extra veggies/seasonings OR I’ll add some chicken sausage and marinara for Italian.
    Veggies for noodle subs: shredded cabbage (trader joes), organic broccoli slaw (trader joes), kale salad base (minus the dressing- Costco), zucchini thinly sliced (farmers market)

    • That is too funny–I just came from Costco and my friend recommended that kale mix. I said that it would be good for stir fry too. I didn’t get it this time though, because the brussel sprouts were calling my name!

      I have a spiralizer that I love to use with the zucchini and carrots. LOVE them with pasta sauce over them. I think I will be doing a lot of veggie dishes this summer. When the mood strikes, and it is a healthy thing, best to act on it!

  7. Hi, I recently signed up to receive your posts and I want to say thank you for sharing. I appreciate your taking the time to write about your experiences and your pooches are too cute. The garden looks great as well!

    Bests, Leah Sullivan Date: Fri, 12 Apr 2013 22:54:43 +0000 To: leahsullivan@msn.com

  8. I enjoyed your pictures. I love flowers and gardens but sadly don’t enjoy playing in the dirt. Maybe someday after weight loss when I can bend down and be on my knees things may be different or I will still not like playing in dirt. For the time being, I will admire from the sidelines. Enjoy your week.

  9. I laugh I DO NOT live a fear based life—except for my teeth.
    my mom rocked the dental care and still had horrible gums
    I floss at least twice a day for JUST that reason.

Leave a Reply

