I Grew a Tomato!

Squee!!! I can’t believe how well my vegetable garden is growing! Look how big the bush bean plants are (that I grew from SEEDS!!) and how tall my little tomato plants are. I might have to get a ladder to pick some of them!

DSCN0012

And lookie what I discovered the other day:

DSCN0022

My very first tomatoes! I feel like a new mom.

Playing around with my new camera:

DSCN0020

A little volunteer–I think its a morning glory from a previous year’s plant! Isn’t the color amazing?

DSCN0016

Wave petunias are very happy. the little plants in the background are my basil plants THAT I GREW FROM SEED! (Yes, I feel the need to yell that I actually grew stuff from seeds!)

DSCN0015

Noah is always on the hunt for lizards. And there seem to be a lot of them this year. Maybe they like the stones?

Oh, did I tell you I got a new camera? I wasn’t happy with the quality of the pictures I was getting with my little camera, so I got one a step up (I hope.) So far I’m not that impressed with the quality of the pictures. But I haven’t read the instruction manual yet…

8130135_ra

Nikon Coolpix L820, plum colored (the color is VERY important.)

12 thoughts on “I Grew a Tomato!

  1. Get ye some fresh mozzarella, because with your HOMEGROWN tomatoes and basil, a tasty caprese salad is in your future!

    I am growing basil from seed (!) and it IS a pretty satisfying feeling, I’ll agree…your garden looks like it’s loving all the attention you’ve given it this year. 🙂

    Sweet new camera, but read the manual? What the what??? (still haven’t read mine, what – two years later?)

  2. That’s a great grandpa ott’s morning glory. Congrats on your first tomato. Gotta plant some basil to go with that =D

  3. I know exactly how you feel about the tomato. Loved the morning glory shot. There were so many of those along the greenway we walk during the spring and fall, but when we returned from our trip to New York, sadly, they had all been cut. We were so disappointed.

  4. Beautiful tomatoes!! I love it when I find new baby veggies in the garden. Right now, we have baby squash and baby canteloupes!

    My dog, Jack, is always after lizards, too! Unfortunately, he noses around in the thorny rose bushes and scrapes up his snout!

  5. So you decided on the Nikon? Man I want a new camera.

    I feel like a parent with some of my plants, too. I can’t imagine if I grew edibles what I would be like 😀
    When I was on my garden tour today, I was thinking of how much you would have loved to see this woman’s property and gardens!

  6. Everything is looking so lovely Debby! I completely understand the parent thing! LOL! What a lovely camera. You’ll get the hand of it! Hugs! deb

  7. Congratulations on your tomatoes! Also on your new camera! Many people make the mistake of not understanding the importance of camera body color in choosing which one to buy, but it really does make all the difference. 🙂

  8. Debby,
    Your garden is looking great. Looking forward to you hearing about your new camera and if you like it. I am thinking about looking into getting another camera, I not happy with my small canon , I want a more powerful lens on my next camera.

Leave a Reply

