I’ve Been Meaning to Ask

I’ve been meaning to ask–does anybody out there use homemade cleaning solutions? I started making my own laundry detergent a bit ago, and last week I started using homemade fabric softener. I actually like doing laundry, but I hate paying for the detergent and softener. This is so cheap this way. People are skeptical that it actually gets stuff clean, but so far I haven’t noticed any difference.

And this morning I cleaned the whole kitchen (kinda) with my spray bottle of homemade window cleaner. An old lady in the grocery store told me about this one day as I was trying to choose a window cleaner. I looked up the formula online. I like that it doesn’t have much smell. It seemed to do a good job on the countertops, microwave, and refrigerator. Oh, and even the floor!

17 thoughts on “I’ve Been Meaning to Ask

  1. I want to make some changes, but unfortunately, I share cleaning responsibilities with the OTHER person in my household and he is not yet convinced. He really liked you so I’ll tell him you’ve won the California clean house award using all homemade cleaners and maybe he’ll be convinced!

  2. I use almost all homemade cleaners now and buy vinegar by the gallon. πŸ™‚ Every now and then I need something a bit stronger (like BarKeeper’s Friend), but mostly it’s the DIY route for me.

    • I kinda thought you might have an opinion on this Cammy! You’ve probably written about it on your other blog already!

  3. Since I’m allergic to most chemicals, I did a lot of reading and found some research on the powerful cleaning/antiseptic abilities of two liquids when used together: hydrogen peroxide and white vinegar. Used in tandem, they kill 99% of all household germs, kinda like the claims of Lysol disinfectant. Only this can be used anywhere, even around food, such as kitchen counters.

    The only drawback is: they MUST be kept in separate sprayers, since the chemical reaction that kills germs is set off when they combine. Not a big deal to me, though. I have two little sprayers in the kitchen and bathroom, and just spritz one then another, and wipe with paper towels. No need to rinse the counter after, either. The vinegar smell is gone in a flash, and no need for “cover up” scents. They say if a place is CLEAN, there is no smell, and the cheap cleaners use the scents to mask the fact that they don’t really clean well!

    ha ha , I could wax eloquently on this topic for days! And I make my own powdered laundry soap, too. πŸ™‚ Oh, and even homemade perfume, since storebought will close down my breathing. Okay, I’ll stop now. πŸ˜€

    • That’s interesting about the hydrogen peroxide. I was wondering why it wasn’t in more ‘homemade’ formulas. Did you know that it, combined with baking soda and a little dawn, makes the very best skunk odor remover?

      Interesting too, about the homemade perfume. I cannot STAND perfume. But now that you say that, maybe its not so much the flowery smell, but something chemical in store-bought perfume.

      Why do you make powdered detergent instead of this liquid formula that I found? Do you have a link to the recipe?

      • I do the powdered soap for a simple (and funny to me) reason: my husband washes his own work clothes, etc, and is grumpy about liquid soap! Insists on powdered, says it’s easier to mess with. πŸ˜€

        So I just make the one kind for all. Don’t have the link anymore. But it’s an easy peasy recipe:

        2 cups Nels Naptha soap, finely grated (about 2 bars)
        1 cup Arm & Hammer Washing Soda (not baking soda)
        1 cup 20 Mule Team Borax

        Mix all together (I make a double batch in a bucket).
        Use about 2 Tablespoons for a huge load; less for medium or small loads, accordingly.

        -We also add a scoop (about 1 1/2 to 2 Tablespoons) of regular baking soda to each load, as an optical brightener and deodorizer.
        -Just put all this powdered stuff in with the water, BEFORE adding clothes;
        -I store mine in empty quart yogurt containers, with an old laundry scoop inside.
        -For a pre-soak for extra dirty stuff: add soap, water, and dissolve; add clothes and let it sit about 15 minutes and then continue.
        -To make the grating of the soap easy, I just cut a bar smaller with a butcher knife, then throw it into my heavy duty blender. I wash it good after, natch!
        -The soap smells strong at first, and I was worried, but it cleans the clothes well and they have NO odor afterwards, just smell “clean”.
        -For a stain remover, wet the stain, and just take one of the bars of FelsNaptha and rub it on the stain to lather; wait a few minutes, then wash as usual. I can’t breathe in the presence of those spray stain removers, and this works fine instead.

        I love my perfume oils! I buy the carrier oil, Sweet Almond Oil, and put it into tiny roll-on glass bottles. Then add scented esssential oils. My favorite has Jasmine and Vanilla scents! I get my supplies from Body Time. http://www.bodytime.com/
        The little bottles of essential oils look expensive, but last a long time.
        It’s fun to invent my own scents. My other fav is taking their signature scent, China Rain (a perfume oil), and adding Vanilla to it. I call mine Vanilla Rain. πŸ™‚ It’s divine!

  4. Wow, thanks Loretta! Especially about grating the soap. I was wondering about that, thinking it was way too much work to grate soap! I might try the perfume too.

  5. Well, I have made my own soap LOL! I use a lot of vinegar for stuff and hydrogen peroxide. I always forget to make stuff and we just use Simple Green for most cleaning stuff. I like the smell of that as well.

  6. Hi Debby, check out this website, http://www.mommypotamus.com/homemade-natural-laundry-detergent-made-easy/ I’ve made the “3 ingredients” laundry detergent and really do like it, I order the 100 % pure coconut oil soap from i-herbs.com where I get all of my vitamins from, they’ve got great prices. I get the cheaper coconut oil soap. I did cut up the soap into chunks, then I put them into my BlendTec blender, it took two or three batches and it’ll turn it all into fine powder, just make sure that before you open the lid on your blender that you take it outside as there will be lots of “smoke” coming out from it. You can also use a Cuisinart to or another brand for turning the ingredients into fine powder. I usually add 1/4 cup of distilled white vinegar in my rinse to make sure whatever detergent is left in the rinse will be gone with the vinegar. As for dryer sheets, don’t use them, I make “dryer balls” with 100% pure wool yarn, I simply roll some of my yarn into the size of a softball, then make sure the end is all tucked in, then put it into a knee high stocking tie it up, and put into the clothes that get washed in hot water, this will felt the wool, but you’ll need to most likely do this a couple of times at least, it’s best to have a couple of them in the dryer, they really get rid of static cling in the winter, they say that it’ll cut down the drying time a little as the dryer balls absorb some of the moisture in the clothes, you can use them for years and years. I love mine, and have made quite a few to give to friends and family and they all seem to love them as well. Lots of people seem to be making the dryer balls now, so if you do a “Bing” search you can how to make them there as well. Hope this helps. I’ve not made any house cleaning products myself yet.

  7. I have used the cleaners on Pintrest for 6 mos now & would never go back to expensive useless cleaners again. Ammonia, vinigar & baking soda rule.

  8. I have tried laundry detergent–like, dishwashing detergent-don’t like(I do half homemade and half store bought–like), floor cleaner–like, lotion bars-like, bath bombs–like, shower discs(steam sinuses, bronchitis)–like, lemon sugar scrub–love, weed killer–iffy. I now use vinegar spray and baking soda for most cleaning jobs.

    I still want to try shampoo.

    Kathy

  9. I don’t use homemade cleaning products. I do use cleaning vinegar that I buy at the grocery store, it’s cheap and cleans especially windows very well.

Leave a Reply

