Birthday Girl!

I had such a nice quiet birthday yesterday. Started the day with my favorite breakfast–protein pancakes with walnuts baked in and banana maple syrup to top them. And coffee :))

DSCN0547

Spent a lot of time reading and looking at some of the new books I got for myself, and then finally got dressed. I decided that I wanted to go to Starbuck’s (because I got a free birthday drink,) Walmart (because I “needed” some new yarn,) and the gym (because I wanted to eat a little lot more than normal.)

I decided to dress nicely because I wanted to wear the new scarf my BF had sent me–a beautiful blue Laurel Burch design. I just happened to have a new blue top that would go perfectly with it. So I decided to take MORE pictures of myself. (I take these pics with the feature that is built into my iMac. So I have three seconds to get the dogs to cooperate before it snaps a picture. Also, I can’t quite figure out where to look…) My sixty’s eve birthday is well-documented LOL.

Photo on 12-4-13 at 12.53 PM

Photo on 12-4-13 at 12.54 PM

Photo on 12-4-13 at 12.55 PM

Photo on 12-4-13 at 12.56 PM #2

After a peppermint mocha frappucino and a Quest bar at SB’s, I went on to Walmart, where I spent a little too much money. But it was all stuff I needed, so its all good. And then on to the gym for 45 minutes on the bike while I watched Dr. Oz.

On the way home I picked up one of the best hamburgers I’ve ever had! They make them right in my own hometown, and they’re pretty famous with the skiers on their way up to Lake Tahoe. Anyhoo, in the olden days I had one of these burgers every week. I bet its been six years since I had one, and it was every bit as good as I remembered.

I ended my birthday celebration with Katie’s one minute cake, topped with that single serving frosting. Mmmm mmmm mmmm.

But best of all, today I am right back on track with my healthy living diet. And I went out for a walk, and Noah and I walked all the way to the end of the road and back. I think its been more than a year since I’ve done that. So all in all, a very good start to my goal of being a Spectacular Sixty (I like that better than the other descriptive word that goes with sixty.)

Note to self: simple mixed veggies really do fill a void when you are trying to eat lower calorie!

Note to self: simple mixed veggies really do fill a void when you are trying to eat lower calorie!

Christmas decorations for the dogs:

DSCN0573DSCN0557You guys! It is so cold here! Last night I was in the shower, all soaped up, and the pipes froze up! I had to heat some water in the microwave to wipe the soap off. Tonight I will leave a little water running, and I re-covered a couple of the pipes that the insulation had slipped off of. I brought in a ton of firewood (functional exercise) and I thought about how I now understand why people move to Arizona and Florida!

Bess made it clear that she thought it was too cold in her kitchen/bedroom. So I added a blanket. She and Mr. Monk were very satisfied with this arrangement LOL

DSCN0565

Thank you all for the thoughtful birthday wishes both here on the blog and on Facebook! It made it a really special day.

13 thoughts on “Birthday Girl!

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed your birthday and spent it doing exactly what you wanted to (well, except for the frozen pipes!!). Love the pictures – you look FABULOUS! Also, Sophie looks like she’s waving to us, which made me smile. The dogs all comfy on their sleeping spots just look right. Life is good! 🙂

  2. First of all, you are simply gorgeous in your photos! Great color for you. Second, you made this day sound like so much fun, I wish I had been there to tag along!

    P.S. Peppermint mocha is pretty much the only drink I get at Starbucks – usually the skinny version. YUM.

  3. Happy, happy birthday! Your blog is so helpful to me as I reinforce new healthy habits. I love the pics of you and your pups too. Thanks much for sharing, you are an inspiration!

  4. Every word and picture in this post made me smile. I so wish we were closer. I want to take you out for a birthday lunch and I want one of those hamburgers!

  5. You look so lovely and stylish in those photos. I wish I could be there to take you out for a cupcake! Or we could just make shots of butter cream.

  6. First you look absolutely fabulous and so happy. I can only wish to look that great when I turn 60.

    Looks to me you had a great birthday, I would celebrate it the same if it was up to me.

Leave a Reply

