Yikes!

Today I am taking a day off. I am having a day where I can completely relax and do what I want to do. And stay in my cabin and enjoy the warmth of the fire and my three little dogs (Noah is on vacation at the trainer’s for a few days.)

I needed this day. I know you are thinking, she is retired, isn’t every day like this? No it is not. And especially this past week (has it only been a week???) Last Saturday I met with a contractor and signed a contract to have my old covered deck turned into a studio room!!! I’ve thought about this since I moved into this cabin 27 years ago, and I started saving money for it over ten years ago. Part of me still can’t believe its happening.

DSCN0596

See the yellow part of the cabin in the picture above? That is just old fiberglass siding that was on the side of the covered deck. That’s where the studio will go.

The contractor said he’d be ready to start work on Wednesday. Oh my. That meant I needed to clear out at least 10 years’ accumulation of stuff that was being stored out there. I should have taken a picture of all of it. Then you would really know why I needed a day off! Here’s what it looked like after I cleared it off.

DSCN0704

Wednesday morning the work started. I had several errands to run. When I came home at noon, this is what I saw:

DSCN0707

And when I came home at 3pm, this is what I saw! Its kind of shocking actually. That was my main entrance/exit to my house.

DSCN0710

So I know other remodels require a lot more decision making than this, but my mind has been swirling with doors! windows! lighting! flooring! paint color!! I even had trouble sleeping last night thinking about the decisions I need to make.

I’ll keep you updated as things go along. When the studio is finished, he is also going to add on a small “mudroom” out the front door. I was almost more excited about this than the studio. Its always a huge chore to bring the dogs in and try to dry them off a bit  when its raining. And… if the money holds out, he is going to put new flooring in the main part of the house (living/dining room,) and paint that room too.

Have a good weekend, and don’t work so hard that you can’t enjoy the peacefulness of the Christmas Season.

19 thoughts on “Yikes!

  1. Love your red cabin and the snow. You needed a BIG one for all the different things you are into. I’d love to have a studio like that one.

  2. This is so exciting. I know it sort of stinks to have construction going on but the end result will be fantastic and so worth it.

    I hope you’re enjoying your day off.

  3. How very, very exciting! I tell you, choosing a paint color can be paralyzing. There are just too many choices. Really, do you need 50 shades of gray?? 😉

  4. Wow, that’s already a dramatic change! Noah looks concerned…”mom, where my floor?” – probably best that he’s on a vacation right now. Besides, I’m sure the Queen is supervising the progress quite well – hah!

    Glad you are doing this. I know you’re going to love it!

  5. I had never seen your cabin: WOW! I love it!
    Look forward to the results. What always works for me if I have a lot to think/decide about is make a to do list. That way I don’t forget anything and know what I still have to do.

  6. Love your cabin and the surrounding peacefulness. This is so exciting. Can’t wait to see the progress as it unfolds. What type of space inside will this free up and what will you do with it?

    • A LOT of space! Right now my dining room is my sewing room, so that room will be emptied completely. And there are two small cabinets in the living room that will be used in the studio. And, my design wall is in my bedroom! It doesn’t take floor space, but it will be nice to have that wall back. My whole cabin is 650 square feet. This room will add 230 square feet.

  7. I am excited for you! Imagine how nice it will be to have a studio, and you certainly do deserve it after all those years of planning and saving. As another retired person, I understand what you mean about having a day to yourself. It’s amazing how scheduled we can become in retirement, and need to take some time for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

