Recipe Review: Darn Good Spaghetti Sauce

 

dscn0677

I’ll just quickly say that the title says it all–this spaghetti sauce is just darn good. What I really like is the thickness and chunkiness of it. That makes it more satisfying to me. It more than makes up for any lack of oil or meat in a sauce. I like it over regular spaghetti, whole grain spaghetti, or over a sautéed veggie mix–zucchini, carrots, onion, and mushrooms. at 110 calories per generous 3/4 cup serving, its a darn good deal!

You can vary the original recipe–cook some chopped onions instead of adding dry, or use a different brand of marinara sauce (or just tomato sauce and your own spices!) The most recent batch I made without the meat. That gave me more flexibility when it came time to use it. It freezes very well, so works for the type of cooking I enjoy most–about one quarter of the time I actually cook dinner. The rest of the time I am just “assembling” a meal.

4 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Darn Good Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Oh how funny – I just made a ginormous pot of spaghetti sauce today using 4 pounds of meat (ground sirloin and Italian sausage). Enough to feed the family AND freeze in small containers to keep Jeff happy in sauce for a couple of months.

  2. That looks so good! Spaghetti sauce is one of those things that’s easy to make and great to have on hand. I’ve been adding some spiralized zucchini mixed in with the regular spaghetti to get more bang for my buck.

Leave a Reply

