Recipe Review: Bare Bones Scones

This is one of my all time favorite recipes. It has gone through a number of revisions, and this is the one I created last year when I was attempting to make some new, lighter breakfasts. Its still based on my “Best New Blueberry Scones” recipe, but with a few of the bells and whistles cut out to get the calorie count down to 155 per scone. And just in case you’re wondering, these are nice sized scones. I notice that a lot of “low cal” scone recipes just make the portion size smaller. That’s one way to go. Its just not the way I prefer to go : )

I usually make these scones with blueberries. Bleuberries are easy to work with either fresh or frozen. But for this batch I had a basket of particularly lovely raspberries in the fridge. I probably wouldn’t try making the scones with frozen raspberries–they are too delicate.

DSCN0790

The recipe for the Bare Bones Scones is here.

Sometimes I enjoy my scone with a cup of tea in my favorite Christmas present:

DSCN0768

5 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Bare Bones Scones

  1. Your scones always look so good, and I am right with you on not wanting to cut the size in order to cut the calories…you’ve done a nice workaround on that! πŸ™‚

    Funny pug…er, mug.

  2. Those look good. I just got some fresh blueberries at the store today. If I can find time somewhere I should make them before I just eat all the blueberries πŸ˜€

  3. Mmmmm Debby, I could use something new and tasty for breakfast! Any idea if finely ground almond meal/flour would work in place of the brown rice flour? I’m new to all these non-AP flours and I don’t know if they measure and work comparably or not. I have the almond flour on hand so ….
    Thanks for any input. Also, relative to a previous post .. do you think your contractor would take a job in Michigan? πŸ™‚

    • No, I don’t think almond flour would work–I think its denser, and I’m pretty sure it has more calories (fat.) Its very tasty though! You could substitute regular flour, whole wheat flour, whole wheat pastry flour (recommended,) spelt flour (like this one a lot,) or oat flour. I have used all of those.

Leave a Reply

