Recipe Review: Ham and Cheese Breakfast Muffins

That darn Facebook! People are always posting “recipes I can’t try” on there! The other day I saw a recipe for breakfast muffins and it reminded me of an oldy but goodie of mine–Ham and Cheese Breakfast Muffins. 

And hey! I had all the ingredients right in the house. Or so I thought. Also, as I looked at the recipe, I thought–why were you so skimpy with the ham? So I changed it up a bit-increasing the ham from 1/4 cup to a whole cup. Oh, and then I forgot I was out of oatmeal (had already made a batch of Shelley’s Hippie Granola that morning–yummmm.) And I only had one egg. Never you mind, I am the queen of substitutions. Some of which work, and some which don’t. These worked marvelously. I used oat bran instead of oatmeal and sub’d egg beaters for one of the eggs. Oh, and I wanted to make a “dinner sized muffin” so I made six big muffins instead of 8 smaller ones. And I baked them for 30 minutes instead of 25 minutes. Don’t worry–I’ll post all the changes on the actual recipe. To tell you how old this recipe is, I only listed points instead of calories. These new larger muffins come in at about 150 calories and 12 grams of protein. A very good deal indeed. And oh so delicious! For dinner I had one muffin with some of that Kale super foods salad from Costco.

DSCN0836

Hope you are having a wonderful relaxing weekend! These would also be a great “Sunday Brunch” item. This is one of my healthy recipes that I’m pretty sure the mainstream would enjoy, so its a good one to share with friends.

8 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Ham and Cheese Breakfast Muffins

  1. Yum!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe – these sound wonderful, we’ll definitely have to try them!

    Also, wanted to say I’m really excited for your new studio addition to your place – can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. As many food photos as I post, I REALLY wish people would stop posting those recipe things on Facebook. Not because I can’t have it but because that’s what Pinterest is for. Stop using Facebook like Pinterest!!

Leave a Reply

