Still Here, Still Under Construction

I don’t really have anything profound to say. And there isn’t a lot to show you on the construction, but I thought I’d share a few photos that show what I’ve been doing for the last week or so.

Every day the contractor comes and works steadily. I like so much how he works. So calm. He even has a calming influence on Noah! But there is still a LOT to do. And I keep adding on to the things I want done. He is very orderly, though, and wants to finish the studio before moving on to any of my other add-on jobs.

So one day when I was out driving an older neighbor lady around to do some of her chores, she wanted to drop some clothes off at the thrift store. Its not one of the thrift stores I frequent, so imagine my surprise when I walked in and here was “the chair of my dreams!” I thought about it overnight, and then went back and got it the next day. It is very large, soft, and cozy.

DSCN0816

So long-time readers know how important color is to me, right? And you know how I think I’m pretty good with color, right? I mean, I dyed fiber and yarn, and could pretty much create any color I could think of. So do you know how frustrating it was when I couldn’t find the exact colors I wanted? I even tried mixing my own colors a little bit. And then I think I got a little addicted to buying those sample cans of paint. I’m not kidding, I’ve got about 20 sample cans out there. I lost sleep over worrying about choosing the right colors. My biggest worry was choosing the right color for the exterior of the house. Because that’s a big job to get wrong.

DSCN0828

Do you all know the website Houzz.com? It was really helpful–they just have TONS of pictures on there. I could google “painted exterior entry doors,” and there would be hundreds of pics of painted doors. DSCN0827

So I won’t tell you my final choices, and I’m not sure the final choices are even in those pictures. I’ll wait and take pictures of the house and walls actually painted.

Here’s an embarrassing funny picture. See that duct tape on the sliding glass door? Yes, I lived with that stupid sliding glass door with only duct tape and no handle for over fifteen  years. And the tracks for the door didn’t work right either. And that was the main door I used to enter and leave the house. I think that’s how I got the tendonitis–trying to get the stupid door open. I don’t know why I lived with it so long. Indecision?

DSCN0822

So here’s the new door between the living room and the studio. Its SO FUN to open a door with a real door knob. And to have the door open without any effort at all LOL.

DSCN0831

And here’s the room with drywall done. He put some texture on on Friday afternoon. I don’t really like texture too much. Oh well.

DSCN0833

Well, me and the contractor have had the weekend off, so we will be back to our regular routine for the next five days. I am surprised that I can actually get on with my regular routine (to a certain extent) with someone working here all the time. I’m not sleeping all that well, but I’m not stress eating, and I am getting in plenty of exercise (more than usual afternoon escapes to the gym!)

13 thoughts on “Still Here, Still Under Construction

  1. I have problems choosing colors, too. And sites like Houzz are great for ideas, but they also add a layer of “possibilities” that complicate things for me.

    I love your new door and the way the room is coming together. Can’t wait for the Big Reveal!

  2. Ohmigosh Debby, I keep finding more things we have in common. There are several projects around here that have been in desperate need of being done … for years and YEARS. Some of them become invisible to me for a while, then uncomfortably apparent for awhile, then invisible again. The invisible times are a relief until some visitor notices. I have color swatches taped to the wall of this room that have been here for years as well.

    I’m very excited about seeing your studio come together. My sewing room is in the basement with no windows, so yours looks SO bright.

  3. Don’t feel bad about that old door – Mr. Helen’s go-to repair item is duct tape. I kid you not.

    Love your new chair – so pretty! Can’t wait to see your final color choices!

  4. Oh mah gah that chair!! I neeeeed a chair like that in my life. I’m so glad you went back and got it – it looks so comfy!! I could do some serious reading in a chair like that. 🙂

    I am awful at any kind of decorating at all. I get paralyzed with fear of making the wrong choice, so I tend to not choose anything and then I bemoan the fact that my house doesn’t look like I want it to. We had to buy a new kitchen faucet for our sink yesterday and it took me half an hour to decide on one (mainly because there were approx 400 different faucets to choose from – too many for my overloaded brain!!). I finally made my husband make the final decision.

    Can’t wait to see your colors!! 🙂

  5. Ahhh, that new chair looks so soft and squishy! Plenty of room for you, the Queen, and at least one of her minions, too.

    I feel for you with paint color choices. And I’m glad you’re not showing what you picked until the final reveal, because you do not need any more opinions coming in once you’ve made your decision! I liken that to not saying what name you’ve chosen to name your baby until it’s born…otherwise, you will hear an earful on how that name has negative connotation to this person, etc.

    Your duct tape door reminds me of my flooring in half the house…and I realized that we’ve been living with it since 2008 – six years now! Time to remedy that, or next thing you know, it’ll be 15 years!

  6. Paint is tough, but at least it is the easiest to fix, unlike something like hating floors or something like that. We do a lot of temporary repairs until we are ready to fix for real or buy new, but surprisingly temporary repairs can become long-term ones!

  7. OMGosh so glad i’m not the only one that has trouble picking out a paint color. If only there weren’t so many choices! LOL ! And what a difference color makes in a room.! I know you’ll do great…. and honestly deb if you get it wrong the first time , its not the end of the world….. it is… after all… only paint! Hugs! deb

  8. I really love that chair and can just picture you curled up in it early in the morning during devotional time! Gotta a get (or you may already have) a great lamp that provides good, but ambient light and a small table for your coffee cup (or is that tea?? can’t remember! Shoot!)

  9. Love the new chair! And am curious what the final color will be that you pick.

    About your comment the other day on my blog about how the different parts of the world we live in can be so similar: I know, it’s great. I love seeing other peoples pics about the area where they live.

  10. Take a deep breath and enjoy all the progress that has been made. Your new chair is gorgeous, just bet that it will become a fav.

Leave a Reply

