Exercise, Interrupted

If you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you will know that my normal orderly 🙂 life has been disrupted for the past few months. Since the week before Christmas, construction and renovation have been going on steadily until about a week ago. Then in February, I went on a long trip. After I returned from that trip, I got a bad cold that knocked me out for a couple of weeks.

Anyway…the exercise. At first when the construction started, I went to the gym very regularly. It was a good reason to get out of the house for a few hours (haha, not that I spend a few hours EXERCISING.) You know what I mean. After a while, though, sometimes I skipped the gym. Watching all that construction wore me out :).

Of course, travel always interrupts my exercise. I do not really like going to hotel gyms. So I don’t. Pretty much regular exercise goes out the window when I travel. I was surprised that my brother, who loves to exercise, said that he does not work out when he is on vacation. That made me feel better about that.

And then, the cold. I was just plum worn out. I walked a little most days, but I couldn’t make myself drive down to the gym.

AND THEN, and this is the biggest interruption, my carpets got taken away, and hardwood floors were installed. What the what? What do hardwood floors have to do with exercising interruption? Well let me tell you. They are HARD. The exercise that got interrupted was my 3X/week P.T. exercises for my knees and back. They are mostly floor exercises. I would sit on the floor (on my carpet) and do them while I watched a tv show. I just stopped doing them. I am looking for a carpet for the living room, but so far have not found just the right one.

Finally, last week, I hauled in a smaller rug I had for the entry and re-started my PT exercises. I’ve been back at the gym for a couple of weeks. And walking continues as before. Interruption ended.

I guess all I want to say is that life happens. Injuries, family obligations, work–exercise gets interrupted. I think its pretty much the same as eating and food. If it’s a lifetime commitment to healthy living, the interruptions are just an unavoidable part of that. There’s no need to despair, or to quit and start all over. Just start right back as soon as you can, doing as much as life allows.

Sometimes you have to find something different to do (I wrote about that here.) But for sure you need to do something. For your best life, its a good thing. (haha, don’t tell Bob or Martha that I “borrowed” their words.)

7 thoughts on “Exercise, Interrupted

  1. I agree with Jill – yoga mat and you can still use it when you find your rug! Other than running injuries, I distinctly remember when we were buying our current home and packing and moving and unpacking I was SO STRESSED because I was having a tough time finding the time to work all day, exercise, pack, pack, pack. Finally I gave myself permission to stop exercising – no guilt. I literally did not exercise a single minute other than lugging boxes for a full month. Whooo boy did I feel out of shape when I started running again. But it was the best decision at the time.

    Oh, and I’m with your brother – I never do any planned exercise on vacation. I think vacations are to vacate and completely get out of your normal routine and get some good rest and relaxation.

  2. I figure on vacation I usually walk a ton, which is different than my normal biking/lifting routines, so it is all good in the end. Funny for me, though, exercise is usually the thing I always keep up. The eating is what takes a dive first LOL!

    • A couple of years ago we went to England on vacation. I wore a pedometer and was shocked to find out how many steps I was walking while there. I actually lost weight on that vacation!

  3. I know that for me if I get out of the routine on exercise – even if for a legitimate reason it is hard for me to get back to it.

    Now – about those hardwood floors. We had hardwood floors put in about a year ago. We only have carpet in secondary bedrooms. Anyway, I was trying to do something the other day that required me getting down on the floor and, yes, it was really hard. So, I bought an exercise mat. It is one that easily rolls up so I can put it down and take it up as needed. Really helps.

  4. I have a hard floor at home too. I use a yoga mat and have a big towel under it. This works pretty well for me.

    I never exercise on vacation, I sometimes run but that’s because of the opportunity to run somewhere else for a change. We don’t do beach vacations, we are pretty active on vacation and walk a lot. Besides that I think it’s good to take a break from exercise every now and then, it’s good for the body.

Leave a Reply

