A Good Bowl of Oats

I went to bed last night thinking about what I was going to eat today. What? Doesn’t everyone do that? I have a notebook on my bedside table where I write down a brief plan for the next day’s food. It only takes a minute, and then I don’t have to think so much about “what am I going to eat?” the next day.

ANYWAY, I started thinking about oatmeal. Somewhere along the way, I lost my oatmeal mojo. Then I added up the calories in the way I like it (custard oats, with walnuts and raisins) and I remembered one reason I stopped eating it. That bowl was 300 calories, and I try to keep my breakfasts under 200 calories. (Don’t feel sorry for me. I do that because I want my mid-morning snack.)

ANYWAY, I started thinking about how I could change that bowl of oats, but still make it delicious. And maybe get a little more nutrition into it? What if I made it REALLY custardy, and doubled the usual amount of egg whites in it? How about using fresh fruit instead of the raisins?

Its hard to get a tasty picture of oatmeal...

Its hard to get a tasty picture of oatmeal…

Oh yes, this was a most worthy recipe! It made a nice sized bowl of oats, so creamy and delicious, and came in at just under 200 calories, with 10 grams of protein per serving (that’s more protein than my usual breakfast fodder.) Here’s the official recipe. Best part? It makes 2 servings, one for now and one for later!

5 thoughts on “A Good Bowl of Oats

  1. Oatmeal is a great and filling breakfast! I like mine with nonfat milk, raisins, and a bit of brown sugar. Looks like a very interesting recipe you’ve created. I’ve never heard of mixing egg whites in with the oatmeal!

  2. I love oatmeal but I’m a savory oatmeal person. I make a little oatmeal then I top it with scrambled egg beaters and a piece of reduced fat cheddar cheese. Melt the cheese, sprinkle the whole mess with hot sauce and I’m in heaven!

  3. I have tried several times but I don’t particularly like oatmeal. But I do eat it sometimes for variety in my breakfast but only during Winter.

Leave a Reply

