Sisters, Oregon

I can’t remember anymore what I told you all about this trip to Sisters, Oregon. I planned it last fall, well before I found J. the contractor, and started the work on my studio. So part of my planning was to spend an extended time in Sisters to see whether or not I would actually like to live there. I love the town, and it is very artist-friendly. Plus, it would be a lot closer to my BF. I found a rental (I really recommend checking out Homeaway or VRBO any time you are planning a trip,) and booked two weeks. At the same time I found a 5 day workshop with a wonderful quilt artist and made a reservation for that class. I would have a couple of days to relax in Sisters before the workshop started, and then five days in the workshop. On the last day, my friend would join me for a few days, and then I would have a day or two alone to finish up my trip.

And that’s just about how the trip went. Except in the meantime, I had almost every inch of my house worked on, remodeled, or added on to. Which involved making the decision to stay where I was and be happy here. I decided to keep the two week trip to Sisters, as it would get me out of the house for some of the beginning kitchen renovation work.

Sisters is a beautiful little town. They have the biggest coffee shop I’ve ever seen, and it is always busy all day every day. It was one of the first places I visited as I arrived! They have lots of indoor seating, but its really nice to sit outside and enjoy the flowers and fountains.

IMG_0536

IMG_0538These huge hanging baskets are everywhere in the town!

IMG_0553I will write about my quilting workshop over on my quilt blog, so will not repeat that here, except to say that it was a wonderful workshop, I learned a lot, and really enjoyed it.

On the last day of the workshop, my BF arrived, and we set up shop on the dining room table of the house!

IMG_0599The very first time I visited Sisters, I heard Lindy Gravelle singing outside the coffee shop. Robin and I are HUGE Lindy fans, and I found out that she was performing at the golf course restaurant right in Sisters! We told her we were groupies : )

IMG_0606A storm rolled through before she even started singing, so they moved all the tables inside. It was a beautiful view.

IMG_0610Lindy does a wide range of music–classic Patsy Cline/honky tonk. She writes a lot of her own music. And she plays the heck out of that keyboard! She is really a great entertainer.

IMG_0615We both looked like this for a good part of the evening 🙂

IMG_0628One of the best parts of the trip was RIDING A BIKE! I LOVED riding that bike all over the place. It was so fun to ride where it is flat everywhere (Sisters is considered high desert.) Sisters is also a bike-friendly town, with bike trails and lanes everywhere. One morning I was riding through town and I spotted this potting bench. I really liked it, but not enough to haul it home.

IMG_0629Before she left, Robin and I took one more trip to the Stitching Post Quilt shop to be photographed in our natural environment.

IMG_0632Sisters is also a deer friendly town. The deer are everywhere, and don’t mind how close you come to them. This guy was in my front yard right outside the window.

IMG_0655On one of my evening bike rides, this guy was right in front of me on the road. I don’t know if Sisters is coyote friendly, but he sure wasn’t afraid of me. He trotted along to this spot where he was eyeing a CAT! The silly cat looked like he was challenging the coyote. I made a move so the coyote would run away, because I did not want to watch that go down.

IMG_0642Here is a view of the Sisters mountains. There were about five deer in that field, but they kept moving.

IMG_0667Another view of the Sisters. There was a forest fire somewhere in the distance, so it created a smoke screen.

IMG_0644And looking in the opposite direction, this big peak is called Black Butte.

IMG_0651Good bye, Sisters. I’m quite sure I will be back again one day.

IMG_0672Part of me thinks its kind of silly that a retired person would need to take a vacation. Aren’t I already on vacation every day? But I have to say that this was really very nice and sooooo relaxing. I kept reminding myself that I was on vacation. I didn’t need to worry about getting home to the dogs. I didn’t walk much at all, but I rode my bike every day, and sometimes twice a day, and I brought my PT weights and equipment, and did those exercises fairly regularly. I ate too much, but I alternated that with eating extra light once in a while. And I relaxed. A lot.

And now we return to real life. Sign by my front door:

Schedule for the day:

Let the dogs in.

Let the dogs out.

Let the dogs in.

Let the dogs out…

12 thoughts on “Sisters, Oregon

  1. Funny, Bill & I were having a similar conversation over dinner just a few minutes ago. I’ve had a very stressful day – nothing major (after what we’ve been through over the last year, very few things qualify as MAJOR now), just little aggravations of people coming from all over wanting a little piece of me. He said, “you need a vacation!” And he’s right. Even retired people need time away from the routine and tediums that aren’t much all by themselves, but over time, can really add up to headaches! I am so glad you had a good, relaxing time in Sisters! And thankfully, I’ve got a trip planned with a blog friend later this month!!

  2. What a lovely vacation! Of course you are entitled to one – vacation is for getting away from what you do every day. That looks like a gorgeous area and I could see why with your BFF living there you’d be tempted to move. I think I might have tried to make room for the potting bench, it’s adorable.

  3. Oooh, it looks so beautiful! Happy you had such a nice vacation, and yes, retired people do need them. Vacations are for breaking routine and visiting new or beloved places and seeing/experiencing new things. Refreshing for the soul, and good for those brain pathways.

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful time…..And everybody needs time with their BFF. 🙂 Against popular belief being retired is NOT like being on vacation. geesh….. I’m so glad you took the trip. I don’t know how you decided to stay where you live instead of moving to that beautiful place unless……your place is just as beautiful and perhaps you have another BFF that lives near you? Big hugs! deb

  5. Do you board your dogs when you travel? I’m trying to figure out what to do with two rather spoiled long haired chihuahuas. You’d think I’d know how to spell that word!

    • I have a “dog room”–basically a glorified storage shed, which has been turned into a doggie condo this year– has a couch, dog beds for the ones that can’t jump, and air conditioning and a heater and a doggie door going out to a chain link dog yard. I pay my neighbor to babysit the little dogs. Then I board Noah at the trainer’s, because he barks too much. So it costs me a lot to travel. That’s just the price of having dogs, I guess.

  6. Oh Debby what a beautiful place, I love it! Thanks for sharing.

    And why shouldn’t you go on vacation while you are retired? I know lots of retired people here that go on vacation all the time. Vacation is about visiting new (or familiar) places and get out of the daily routine that I’m sure you have too.

Leave a Reply

