Just a bit of this and that

I stepped out the door this morning to check on the garden and was shocked to see this:

DSCN2015

Yes, one whole morning glory flower on that whole vine. As the days got shorter, I guess the vine did not get as much sun as it wanted, so its been weeks since I have seen a single flower on it.

DSCN2014

Is it any wonder they are named morning GLORY? The flowers absolutely look as if there is a light source shining out from their center.

Hey, look what I did! My first furniture painting experiment. It went pretty well, if I do say so myself! I’ve only thought about painting this chair for about five years. What can I say? I have a hard time making decisions 🙂

DSCN2016

The other day I was flipping back through my own blog, looking for something or other, and I realized that yes, quite a bit of progress has been made on the house. Here are pictures from this morning–the siding is up, and a lot of the painting is done. The roof is bare–they had to strip off THREE layers of old shingles! And already, by the end of today, J. the contractor had a good portion of the roof re-shingled!

The front of the house:

DSCN2017

And the back:

DSCN2020

And a gratuitious cute doggie shot:

DSCN1982

And that’s all the news that’s fit to print tonight. Hope you all have a good and relaxing weekend!

11 thoughts on “Just a bit of this and that

  1. Hey, that chair came out great! Did you spray paint it? Love the color. 🙂
    Your little cabin is looking quite charming! And yes, much different! Soon…it will be finished soon. And then you and those cute dogs can settle in and just enjoy all the space!

  2. Thanks! No, I bought spray paint about three years ago, but couldn’t decide if I wanted that exact color :\ I painted it with a sponge brush and then a mini-roller when the sponge brush broke. Its one of the many paint samples I have bought in the past year!

  3. Aren’t you just absolutely thrilled with the way your house is coming together? I know you’ve planned this for a long time and I am so happy for you to get it done. It is beautiful. When will you be ready to receive guests?? FYI – Don’t panic,it’s a long way from Tennessee to California. Doubt you’ll ever have to worry about me “dropping”in!!

  4. The house is progressing nicely and the garden is yummy ….but that morning glory is PERFECT!!!! thanks for sharing
    .

  5. Debby – your cabin is turning out amazing! I can’t wait to see the finished product, as I am sure you can’t either LOL!

    Is it too late for you to plant stuff? I need to send you some LOTV.

  6. Well Debby whether it took you 5 years or not that chair is a fabulous color. LOVE it!
    I’ve always heard that you need to neglect morning glories a little to get them to bloom. Let them get dry…not wilting dry but dry then water them good….. Or you may be right and its just lack of sunlight…..i do see alot of trees… Thankfully it will happily reseed itself…. Hugs! deb

  7. It’s a one morning glory day! 😀 Seems you and I will get a new roof at the same time, all the shingles got dropped on the roof this morning. The cats sure didn’t like that thumping and therefore didn’t look near as relaxed as your doggies.

  8. Love the garden shots! The lantana, too. It’s an annual here, but definitely worth planting. I favor the red and orange colors. Your house looks great. It’s changed a lot since my last glimpse of it.

Leave a Reply

