What Does a Quilter Do When She’s Too Tired to Do Anything Else?

She knits, of course! I had all but given up knitting, but spurred on by Shelley’s magnificent knitting, I took it back up again. And of course, Shelley and I have gotten together several times in the past few years, and each trip has included the prerequisite visit to THE YARN STORE.

This meant that I had quite a few skeins of beautiful yarn accumulated, and I always bought enough to knit a scarf or a shawlette–nice easy projects that don’t require a ton of thought.

Each time I finished one, I threw it in the quilting studio closet, anxious to start the next! fun! project!

And then the other day, Shelley asked me about some of them…Oh, I know, I said, I’ll block all of them today! so I can take pictures of them and do a blog post…

Oh my oh my. I’m here to tell you–do not do that to yourself. An entire day and thousands of pins later, I finally had 6 projects blocked. I swore to Shelley that I solemnly promised to block each future project as soon as I finished it!

Anyway, here are the six scarves and shawlettes. They are so much prettier when they are blocked, and now I have six nice presents waiting in the closet.

I think I found all of these patterns (with Shelley’s help) on Ravelry. This one is called Summer Flies.

DSCN2106

The ruffly one–I can’t remember what its name is. It starts out with over 600 stitches on the needles, and then you gradually decrease and knit the center part, and then you start increasing again for the ruffle on the other side. And the coral/gold/green scarf is made of yarn I spun myself, and a pattern I made up myself.

DSCN2112

This one is called Calais Shawl.

DSCN2116

Close up of the pretty lace pattern.

DSCN2115

This one is called Citron.

DSCN2103

And this one is called Dangling Conversation. It is quite dangly–appropriately named!

DSCN2117

You should be able to find the patterns by clicking on the link to each one. Some of them are even free patterns!

And now if you’ll excuse me, I have a new! fun! project! to get to work on!

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “What Does a Quilter Do When She’s Too Tired to Do Anything Else?

  1. I just love your knitted shawls! I even went and down loaded the Citron one to possibly make. I’ve been wanting to knit a lace shawl for a while may have to wait until I get a few Christmas presents knitted up though. Keep up the knitting! I have to piece together my first raglan sweater today you inspire me not to put it off:)

  2. Eeeek! These are all so pretty! I know that was a major pain to block everything at once, but hey – you’ve got Christmas gifts covered (for some very worthy recipients, of course). I love them all! And now I need to knit Citron…I have the yarn, but I’m loving the dark edge you put on yours.

    Oh, and I forgot to mention in yesterdays post that I love your Fairy Garden. Never heard of something like that, but of course now I want one. Although I’d probably just kill it, so maybe I’ll admire yours from afar instead and keep the fairies alive. 😉

    • Remember, I had to put that dark edge because I ran out of yarn. I think I tried to dye yarn to match, but it came out much darker.

      Fairy gardens are very popular out here. Very expensive to put together too–they have all kinds of miniature furniture and stuff. And you use miniature plants. I like this one because its a little more natural. I think they probably aren’t promoted in Texas because it would be hard to keep them watered enough in the summer heat.

  3. So pretty Debby. Have you ever knitted socks before??? I crochet a little but i have never knitted. I wonder how hard it would be to make socks? They just seem like such a useful item… 🙂 Hugs! deb

    • Have I knitted socks??! Oh yes. Many many pairs of socks. Very fun to knit, although probably you should learn how to knit and practice before you attempt socks. Yes, I like knitting useful items.

  4. Oh my, knitting UFO’s. But you finished them! They are so pretty – my favorite is the Calais shawl, but then I am a bit of a Francophile.

Leave a Reply

