Satisfaction

I’ve been thinking for a whole year what my theme for SIXTY should be. I can’t remember what started this quest, but I think it was a discussion on the blog. And I finally came up with the word Satisfaction.

When I turned fifty, a funny thing happened. I got this whole “you’re not the boss of me” attitude. As in, I’m this old, I really don’t have to do what you say if it doesn’t make sense. I noticed that some of my friends and even my mild-mannered brother had this happen when they turned 50. So I wondered if anything would happen when I turned 60.

And Satisfaction seems to be it. I’ve mentioned a couple of times on here how it bothers me more to see the wrinkles on my face than almost anything else. So I decided a couple of months ago that I was going to make a point of looking at myself in the mirror a little more often, and learn to be content with the face that I now have. Because what is the alternative? Nope not going that direction!

I wrote a little bit yesterday about being satisfied with my physical size and appearance.

I am more content with the life of being an artist that I have chosen.

And I am more content with my spiritual life.

I’m not sure how much sense this makes to anyone else, but for me Satisfactionย signifies a life of peace moving forward into the next decade. Care to join me?

The face of sixty (at the end of a long day, sans makeup, but with soft lighting ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Photo on 12-3-14 at 7.40 PM #2

14 thoughts on “Satisfaction

  1. I’m right there with you (I turn 60 next July) and watching how you do it!! Have already made some goals and established a “mantra” for the months before I turn 60 and then for moving forward! I like yours – satisfied is a great place to be!

  2. Happiest of Birthdays to you, my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to laugh at your description of the 50-person attitude, because YES. And I love the thought of satisfaction and peace…you are in a good place.

    Lovely picture of you – you look content. Hope you have a wonderful day (week??) of celebrating this new decade!

  3. All respect to middle-aged women like you who have really matured and grown up and respect the deeper spiritual and more important issues in life rather than trying to chase after bimbo, fluff status. In Europe older women are respected and admired. However, in the US trying to retain one’s youth and defy the facts of life seems to be the way with many.

    I also think your attitude towards weight should be an example to many women who have tortured themselves their whole lives and continue to do so as they try to be impossibly thin just to fit into BS societal vanity standards.

  4. I wish I could adopt your Satisfaction theme Debby, but I am 61 and just not there yet. I will aspire to that, but now perhaps I need to focus on a theme of re-committing. Happy being satisfied birthday! I wish you a year of satisfaction with joy.

  5. Debby ….you are truly glowing! When I turn 60 in a few months I hope I can be as peace-filled looking as you appear.
    Cheers!

  6. Happy belated birthday Debby. You look fantastic and people should be more like you (like I’ve said on another post by you), we need to be more satisfied with who we are and how we look. Life is too short for that.

Leave a Reply

