So This is What 60 Is

This was a different kind of birthday week. It was, what shall I call it? Satisfying :)) ย Ha, I still crack myself up. One of the things I didn’t mention in that last post was that I also seem to be satisfied with what I already have. I couldn’t think of a single thing I wanted to get for my birthday. What a refreshing feeling. Of course I still wanted to eat All! the! things! But I managed to eat reasonably for the most part ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a few things that happened this week.

One of the things that was the most important to me this birthday week was that I put an emphasis on exercise. And I wanted to get in the pool. To at least give it a try, swimming in colder weather. So on my actual birthday, I had a nice lunch with a friend, got a new haircut, found a Christmas tree, and then went to the gym, where I worked up a sweat on the exercise bike and the weights machines, and then GOT IN THE POOL! Yay me. I decided I didn’t want to get my hair wet, so I walked 20 laps, and then I got in the spa, which was a real treat.

The Christmas spirit caught up with me and I brought in all my tubs and went through them a little at a time. With more room in my house, it was easy to find places to put all my stuff. It is fun to look at my treasures, many of which I had completely forgotten.

The doggies enjoying the Christmas decorations

The doggies enjoying the Christmas decorations

 

On Monday, I finally had my appointment with the ortho doc about my knee. I really like this doctor. He did remember me–it was almost exactly two years ago that I first saw him–and he did think that my range of motion had improved since he first saw me. That made me really proud that I had tried to follow his advice, and that two years later, the physical therapy exercises that I had learned are still a regular part of my exercise routine. I can really tell the difference when I slack off on them. Soโ€ฆ even though my ROM was improved, my knee is worse. He is putting in the application to the insurance company so that I can get the gel shots in my knee. Honestly, I can hardly wait. And, he wrote a referral to the orthopedic surgeons “just so they can get acquainted with me.”

On Tuesday, I had to go and have a root canal. It started with a small crack in a tooth. Dentist recommended a crown. So I wentย in for that. Do you know that they have to file down your perfectly good tooth so that the crown will fit? Yeah, so between the crack and the filing, the nerve/root started acting up.

All this added up to me thinking about things wearing out and getting old. But then I thought about the alternative–my grandparents didn’t have teeth, and both of my parents had partials by the time they were my age. So I guess this is better.

Also on Monday, my episode on The Quilt Show went live. That was very exciting! In the weeks leading up to it, I worked a LOT on creating a website. It was so different from doing a blog, and that’s what made it harder for me, I think. But once I found instructions, and followed them, and then got brave and clicked around a bit more, I finally got the gist of it. So now I have a real website for my art quilts. In case any of you are interested, you can click here. One nice thing about it is that for the first time I have most of my quilts organized into galleries so that you can view any of them. If you want to see my episode of The Quilt Show, I will be able to give you a code on Monday the 15th so that you can see it for free.

We’re supposed to be having a big storm blow in tomorrow. So I was out in the garden cleaning up a little today. And I saw this camellia blooming away. Something like this makes me so happy, because this plant was really suffering in the container I had it in, and even when we planted it in the ground, it didn’t look like it was very happy. Its taken over a year, but now it is flourishing. And so fun to have a plant that wants to bloom when everything else is ending. This bush always reminds me of the saying “memory is the ability to gather roses in winter.”

DSCN2313

16 thoughts on “So This is What 60 Is

  1. Finding a camelia like that in Winter is a real treasure and would make me happy too. Think you had a great week but a root canal treatment in my birthday week? No thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I needed to see that perfect little pink flower today! It’s been so cloudy and gloomy here lately, I had forgotten what color looks like!

    Good job on getting in the pool!! And I like the idea of the spa as an instant treat for your efforts. I need to make time for more exercise…twice a week isn’t going to cut it, but I want it to be something that I really enjoy and look forward to. Other than zumba, not sure what else I’d like. :/

    I want to see your Quilt show episode! After I post this, I’m going to go check out your new quilt website. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Some days I look forward to exercise and some days not. Mostly I look forward to watching tv while I’m on the bike or doing my PT ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love the doggies under the Christmas tree. I caught Paco nosing into one of the (few) gifts I’ve wrapped and placed under mine, and realized it was two packages of cookies that I’m giving my uncle (he want nothing, so he gets cookies). Wonder if that package will survive until the 25th? ๐Ÿ™‚

    You make 60 look great. Sure, things need medical attention, but overall, it’s not bad…and like you say, you’re ahead of the game compared to prior generations.

    The day after my half, I plan on relaxing by watching your episode of the Quilt Show. Can’t wait!

  4. Oh blooms! My garden is buried under snow right now.

    I had 2 cracked teeth and had to get crowns on them. I hated the grinding down of the old tooth. It was awful. I have a high pain tolerance to everything but dental stuff – and I am pretty sure I have another cracked molar on top now. Wahhh!

    Love, love the doggy picture. They just look so happy with all the renovations ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Misery loves company? It kind of made me happy to hear that a “young’un” had cracked teeth.

      Hilarious thought–the dogs being happy with the renovations. The part they like best is the doggie beds in every room of the house ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hey, you use something for 60 years and it’s gonna wear out! LOL.

    I have a co-worker who got those injections in her knee (she’s 10 years younger than you!) and managed to stave off surgery for 5 years. I remember when she got the first ones she was so excited about her knee feeling somewhat normal again!

    It’s crazy to look at that flower and think it’s blooming at your house right now. Everything here is pretty much brown ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You get the biggest laugh of the day with that first line!

      I’ve heard similar stories about the injections. The doctor says 6 months, so right now I am hoping for 2 year with 2 series of injections.

  6. Really enjoyed your show. I didn’t know you and Ricky had a “history!” And an exciting one! I’m a dog person too- currently with two long haired chihuahuas. I also live in the foothills. i hope you made it through that wind safely. Now I’m going to go see your website. I hope you continue to enjoy your “new” house and studio. You seem to be flourishing!

Leave a Reply

