The Long Farewell

“The Long Farewell”–I thought the title would be fitting for a dog named after an iconic television character. Kinda like the episode name for a TV series finale. Mr. Monk is one of the best dogs I’ve ever had the privilege of owning. And believe me, I’ve owned a lot of dogs.

I found him on Petfinder. He was at the pound in Sacramento. AΒ stray that no one claimed, they guessed his age at 8 years old. So I got the senior citizen discount (him, not me πŸ™‚ ) The best $47.50 I ever spent.

The first time I met Mr. Monk (he still had anesthesia on board–that’s why he looks so pitiful.)

img_0020

He was a dignified gentleman.

img_0054

Over a year ago he developed what we at first thought was arthritis, but then turned out to be a slowly progressive neuromuscular disease. There were a couple of times that I thought we were going to lose him. But I was blessed that with a good vet, some good medicine, and a little assist from me, he was able to have a good life for the past year.

I will miss my little man.

Photo on 12-4-13 at 12.56 PM #2

27 thoughts on “The Long Farewell

  1. I am so sorry for the loss of Mr. Monk. It’s obvious how much love and pleasure you brought each other over the years. May he ramble contentedly in doggie heaven and in your memory forever.

  2. What a wonderful tribute post for Mr. Monk. I am so sorry to hear of his loss and have enjoyed the pictures of him and your other dogs over the past couple of years since I discovered your blog. He has such as sweet face and I know he will be missed by both you and your whole pet family.

    I lost one of my beagles, Toby, on Christmas Eve. We adopted him as a senior as well, and we enjoyed just under seven years with him. He was around 14 or 15 when he died. It is so hard to lose them, isn’t it? I’ll be thinking of you and Mr. Monk, and wishing you peace, good memories, and a healing heart.

  3. Mr Monk was a dear dog and a gentleman. I have loved seeing and hearing about him in your blog. My husband, who knows all about your dogs, though he doesn’t read about them, adds his condolences. Rest in peace, sweet man.

  4. No, no, no, I’m writing this with tears in my eyes. I’m so sorry for your loss of Mr. Monk Debby. Losing a pet is so sad. He was such a lovely sweet dog. Know that he couldn’t have had a better life than with you and the other doggies. You made his life better (and he yours).

    Big hug for you.

  5. Wait..what? WHAT? He’s already gone????? 😦 I remember when you got him – it doesn’t seem like it was that long ago. My heart is broken for you today. ((((hugs))))

  6. sO SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS. I loved seeing all your dogs piled up together in one bed. Mine do that too, but I have just two. Bless you for adopting “older” dogs and making sure their final years are happy and comfortable. I’m sure your other little roommates will miss him too. You have lots of great pictures to remember him with.

  7. So sorry for our loss. So many people want to adopt puppies – it’s wonderful when folks seek out the older dogs who might not otherwise have a chance at a wonderful rest of their life. πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, Debby. I’m so sorry for your loss. I only knew Mr. Monk from the blog, but from your writing of him and your photos, I felt like I did know him – he seemed like the sweetest dog. (((Hugs))) to you and pats to Sophie, Noah, and Bess, I’m sure they are missing their friend.

  9. Debby, I am so sorry for your loss of Mr. Monk. Being a elderly gentleman when you adopted him I consider him one of the lucky ones and you gave him a great life in his golden years. I’ll miss seeing his lovely face on your blog.

  10. Debby, I’m so sorry that I’m just seeing this and more sorry for your loss. Mr. Monk was a classy fellow, and I so enjoyed getting to know him through your writing. Rest in Heavenly peace, Mr. Monk!

  11. Checking in today after a long absence. I’m so sorry about Mr. Monk. His little mug always brought me such joy, and I know he had a special place in your heart.

Leave a Reply

