Two Years in a Garden

Hmmm. Another garden post. Apparently that’s all I want to talk about right now.

Anyway, MLG was here today working on yet another project. Before he got started, I had to point out how well all the trees he has helped to plant are doing. The first tree, my oldest and biggest Japanese maple, is actually what started this whole adventure. Some of you might remember this story, but its worth repeating.

I grew all my Japanese maples in containers, because the ground here is 3/4 rock, and 1/4 clay. Pretty much impossible for a single person to dig in. And this oldest tree (now 28 years since I bought it) was still in a wooden box that was disintegrating, but the root system had long since gone through the bottom of the box into the ground. If something wasn’t done, the tree was not going to make it one more year. I asked MLG if there was some way we could build a raised planter bed around the tree, since some of its root system was still above ground in the box. And so began the wonderful garden adventure.

Here is the tree, looking pretty forlorn, in its box.

IMG_9181

And here it is, a month later, in its new planter. Looking kinda sparse, but still living.

IMG_9242

And here it is this year, looking, IMHO, quite marvelous!

DSCN2705

Here is a glimpse of the new wooden border MLG started working on today to surround all the rest of the Japanese maples that we put in the ground.

DSCN2706

And here is something you all might already know about. But I thought I was quite clever to think of this and thought I would share with you.

So you know you’re supposed to leave the darn daffodil leaves intact so the bulb can re-nourish itself. But honestly, they are just a mess. You can’t see if there’s any room to plant anything new, and if you do plant something, the daffodil leaves are so massive that they shade the poor new plants that are trying to get some sunshine. I read somewhere that it was okay to bundle the daffodil leaves in a rubber band or something. I had a lot of those nice ponytail holders left over from my years of long hair. They work perfectly! And if you buy the ones without any metal parts, you can take them off when the daffodil leaves are spent and save the holders for next spring.

Here are the daffodil leaves as is.

DSCN2699

And here they are all bundled. I don’t particularly like the way they look, but I can see my garden and plant some new plants now.

DSCN2700So it was another morning of working in the garden. Honestly, I am spent after all that bending. I did go to the gym, mostly for the promise of the hot tub/spa. But I managed to do 40 minutes of pool walking/jogging.

Have a great weekend. I am so happy to see signs of green and bare ground from my friends back east! Happy springtime to you all!

6 thoughts on “Two Years in a Garden

  1. Wow!! Your Japanese Maple looks GORGEOUS!! It is really thriving in that spot.

    Your garden is so lovely. I want to sit right in the middle of it. 🙂

  2. That tree is amazing. Plants are like people. Put them in the right spot and they flourish.

    I don’t like the tulip foliage either, but it stays green enough while the rest of the garden catches up to at least give some interest. I am wondering if tulip season around here is going to be mooshed in with the late spring flowers! Our ground is still frozen solid.

  3. That is an amazing transformation of your tree! And I’m with Lori in doubting my own daffodils or tulips will even be able to come up, though I do plan on looking around outside today since some of that darn snow has finally melted!!

Leave a Reply

