Baking and Portion Control

So I have a new recipe. I have debated over whether or not to share this recipe. It isn’t that low calorie, the portion size is small, and it is much different in texture than the traditional item. But since I’ve made it three times, I decided that other people might just like them as well.

Its a “healthified” recipe for cinnamon rolls! I enjoy starting my day with a cup of coffee and a low calorie baked good. Most days this is the only grain item I will eat. I have my scones, and baked oatmeal, and I’ve tried the Scottish oat cakes (thanks, Cammy!) but I had never before tried making some sort of cinnamon rolls.

I saw Biz’s recipe, and that got me to thinking. How would I make them?

I used Biz’s recipe as a starting place, and then used the basic ingredients that I use for my scone recipe. I like oats, and I like brown rice flour.

And here’s the thing. These are small. Literally, six of them are the same size as ONE of the fancy cinnamon rolls from a famous local bakery (don’t ask me how I know this.) And that’s where the portion control comes in. If I get one of those famous cinnamon rolls, I want to eat the whole thing. Knowing how many calories are in my little cinnamon rolls, I can safely presume that those fancy cinnamon rolls come in at about 1500 calories. 1500 calories! I guess if that would hold me for the entire day it would be okay?

IMG_0881

But for whatever reason, I am content with fishing one of my little 200 calorie cinnamon rolls out of the freezer and having it with my coffee for breakfast. (don’t worry, mid-morning, I have a protein snack.) Here’s a link to Debby’s Cinnamon Rolls recipe.

Here’s another portion controlled baked item that is most worthy. Veggie bread. If you were in a restaurant, I think I can safely say that they would serve you four times the size of a single serving of this bread. And they would probably offer it as an appetizer! But for me, it is a special treat to take one piece of this delicious bread out of the freezer for either lunch or dinner. And it is enough.

DSCN2749

I cut the loaf into 8 servings, and wrap each in foil and put in the freezer.

DSCN2751

12 thoughts on “Baking and Portion Control

  1. Back in the day, one of my favorite things was to go to the mall and get a Cinnabon. *And* get an extra thing of frosting to go with it. Yep. Those things sit like a rock in your stomach, too.

    I haven’t had a cinnamon roll in ages.

    • If you can believe it, I’ve never had a Cinnabon! If I had, I for sure would have gotten the extra frosting 🙂 “Rock in your stomach”–that feeling is what keeps me from a complete reversion to my “olden days” of all the sugar all the time.

  2. Thanks for the link love Debby! I had totally forgotten I had made those – I am sure Hannah will want me to make them again – she loves sweet things. Hugs!

  3. I am so not a sweets eater for breakfast, but do you know my mom used to serve either coffee cake or cinnamon rolls WITH chili when she made it? I need to ask her why some day if I can remember to. Anyway, I love, love, love a good cinnamon roll – they truly are a comfort food for me. I’m glad you figured out how to make them work for you.

    • So did you put the chili on top of the cinnamon roll??? Or just have the cinnamon roll there on the side? I can see how that might work, like corn bread that’s kind of sweet that you have with chili. Now I want corn bread 🙂

      • You have the cinnamon roll/coffee cake on the side as your bread with the chili. It honestly is delicious because you get sweet and savory. To this day when I eat chili I wish I had a cinnamon roll lol!

Leave a Reply

