Good Things

Who knew? I first heard about PB2 when I went to Weight Watchers. Over ten years ago. I am not eating powdered peanut butter!ย I told myself. I don’t even like peanut butter that much. It just sounded gross to me. Anyway, fast forward ten years, and I was in the “nutrition store” getting some of my favorite Quest protein bars. I saw the PB2 again, and noticed they had a “chocolate PB2.” The nice young man convinced me that it was excellent when you just wanted “a little something sweet to eat.” Oh, well, that’s me pretty much all of the time. And with my newfound celery love, this might work great.

Holy moly! PB2 is delicious! And only 15 calories per serving. It works perfectly as a celery topping.

DSCN2754

Oh, and in case anybody didn’t know this trick–keeping your cut celery in a container with a bit of water in the bottom will keep your celery nice and crisp.

Okay, in the somewhat questionable category of good things, I think that single serving cookie recipes are a good thing. I no longer have to obsess over buying a whole container of cookies, which is NEVER a good thing to have in my house. Knowing that I can make a cookie whenever I want does not actually give me the urge to make them more often. Most days I decide I don’t want the sugar. If you must have a cookie, just google “single serving ______ cookie” and a recipe will pop up!

IMG_1133

For Easter I just wanted a sugar cookie. I knew if I bought a package of them I would eat too many and feel bad in so many ways. Enter the single serving sugar cookie! It was so delicious. I’ll probably have another one for Easter next year ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “Good Things

  1. My life would be so much easier if I could just convince my taste buds that celery is good, but I don’t see that happening any time soon. I wonder what other carriers I could use for peanut butter???

    I’ve never tried the PB2 because, like you, I always thought it just sounded weird. But maybe I’ll have to give it a try now since you’ve given it a thumbs up. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m kinda laughing–exactly how would celery-love make your life easier?

      I just looked–the ingredients on the PB2 is roasted peanuts, cocoa powder, sugar, and salt. Need I say more about why I find it tasty? But 15 calories–put it on whatever you want, or just lick it straight out of the bowl ๐Ÿ™‚ The kid I bought it from said he liked it on oatmeal.

      • Because celery is such an easy and portable snack! You can put anything on celery and BAM! Instant healthy snack! ๐Ÿ™‚ My mouth just can’t get past the taste, texture, and stringy-ness of celery.

  2. That’s a nice flavor bang for 15 calories! I remember trying PB2 back when I started dieting and didn’t like it…but my tastes have evolved (less fat is actually good now, LOL), and with the addition of cocoa, I bet I’d like it now!

    Your sugar cookie looks amazing. Love those crispy edges!!

  3. I had totally forgotten about PB2 – didn’t know you could find it in stores because I think back then it was only online – I’ll have to look for it. ๐Ÿ˜€ Happy Friday!

  4. Giant containers of PB2 are now sold at my warehouse store. I’m funny out nut butters – sometimes I like them, sometimes I don’t. I can honestly buy a jar of PB and end up throwing it away because it goes past date and it’s still 3/4 full.

    I think those single serving cookie and mug cake recipes are genius. Not just because of calorie containment but also because even two people don’t necessarily want a huge cake in the house all week.

    • Oh interesting. I ended up buying a new container on Amazon because it was less than half the price of the little jar I bought. I’m actually not a huge nut butter fan either. It amuses me that I can make walnut or almond butter, but they all taste pretty much the same to me. I think I like –no, I KNOW I like this stuff because it is sweet and salty.

  5. I like PB2, but I am over the moon about cashew butter, which doesn’t come powdered. So I eat that. I really hate having to measure nut butters, but I could easily sit there with a spoon and eat it out of the jar.

    • I agree about cashew butter–its the only nut butter I’ve had that actually tastes different to me. I still don’t want to eat it every day though. I’d rather spend my calories on something else.

Leave a Reply

