I Have a Food Template?

Recently I’ve noticed that it doesn’t matter much whether I write down what I’m eating for the day ahead of time, or as the day goes on, or even if I rebel and don’t track what I’m eating, but only write it into LoseIt at the end of the day because I’m curious. It almost always comes out to the same amount of calories. Now, this could be because I know how to “game the system” and am fudging on the calorie count of the food I eat. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I have a certain way of eating. A certain size meal, fitting into a certain amount of calories, and usually consisting of a certain amount of protein, veggies, and fruit, with the occasional grain thrown in for good measure.

Me having a food template–I don’t know why this surprised me. I guess because I eat a wide variety of foods, and I don’t really restrict any food groups in particular, I didn’t think of myself as having a food template. But after many years of choosing to eat a certain way, I guess some of those good habits have finally taken root. Whew. Some things are going right. Later I’ll write about some of the things that aren’t going so right.

4 thoughts on “I Have a Food Template?

  1. Funny, I never thought of it as a template, but that’s a great way of putting it. And I think it’s great that your habits are so ingrained and come so naturally to you.

  2. I appreciate your discussion and sharing. I’m moving towards it but it’s not quite a habit altogether. Thanks for putting it into words, it’s a concept I can use!

  3. I have one as well, discovered the same way you did. I’ve often wondered if it’s not because I eat less of foods that have more fats than when I’m eating salad, for example.

  4. I am like this, too. If I don’t track – I still know pretty much how many calories I am eating and know for sure when I am eating too many LOL! I eat a fair variety of foods, but my meals are usually built the same way.

Leave a Reply

