Down the Garden Path

So MLG was here this week. We worked on extending the patchwork path down between the two front beds, where the cherry tree is planted.

First, a step-down had to be created:

DSCN3124

 

 

 

 

Bessie LOVES laying against the warm stones.

DSCN3134

 

Looking back towards the patchwork path, where Noah is standing:

DSCN3130

The new path, from the other end. That’s the cherry tree trunk, where Sophie is.

DSCN3125

DSCN3126

DSCN3127

From up above. We didn’t leave any spaces for ground covers. Just made some “patches” with the extra small stones.

DSCN3131

There wasn’t a whole lot new going on in the garden. Here is the Japanese Lantern (abutillion) It is ridiculously tall, even though I cut it down to practically nothing last winter.

DSCN3148

It is finally starting to bloom.

DSCN3147

This white hydrangea is blooming. It is a “hydrangea paniculata” (thank you Google images šŸ™‚ )

DSCN3146

I love the delicate flowers on this one.

DSCN3144The row of hydrangeas was one of the first things MLG planted in the ground for me. The three plants were in pots, and were not doing very well. Its taken a couple of years, but they finally seem established in their place in the garden.

I think a lot about this garden and how it has evolved. I never set out to create a big garden. I didn’t have a master plan. I did think a little bit about where we were adding features, and whether they would fit into the yard as a whole. But still I have no master plan. Is this how most gardens evolve?

9 thoughts on “Down the Garden Path

  1. I thnk gardens form themselves. Sure, you have an idea of what you want or even an actual plan, but the site tells you what grows and what won’t. It basically uses the gardener to form itself.

    Thank kind of makes the garden seem like a sentient being, doesn’t it? LOL

    • Okay, that kind of creeped me out–too many Twilight Zones when I was a kid. I don’t want my garden coming to life when I’m out there weeding šŸ™‚

      But you’re right. Even though I haven’t been gardening in the ground for very long here, I have had years of learning what works with this climate and what doesn’t.

  2. Beautiful!! I wish my MLG would spend some more time on my yard but he’s too busy fishing right now! šŸ™‚ Oh well, maybe in the Fall.

  3. Sophie! STOP LICKING!! Ok, I feel better now. šŸ˜‰

    I love how your garden has evolved, and I do think not having a grand plan is perfectly normal. After all, if you had a set scheme, how could you incorporate all of these cool ideas you come across?

    • LOLOL!! I wondered if anyone else would notice that. She is so weird. Its like a nervous reaction–she turns around and licks her butt when she is unsure of herself, which is quite frequently. I didn’t notice it while I was taking the pictures.

      That’s true, about being able to add new ideas as they come. I hadn’t thought of that.

      • Well you know I noticed because I lived with that for so many years…they have their quirks – some charming, some gross, LOL.

  4. OH MY!!!! You have gotten so much work done. I so enjoyed walking through you garden today. The Japanese Lantern is a special treat for my eyes. I got that you named your new path “Patchwork” since you are into quilting…it took me a while. ha ha They are inspiring. I actually got outside this morning to work a while even tough it is around 100 with 85% humidity. But I am pleased with my reworking a small area of my side garden. Keep sharing your photos and send your MG to me for a few days……ha ha

Leave a Reply

