Garden Inspiration

Warning! Picture heavy post. I’ll try to make up for it by not writing too many words πŸ™‚

Last week, MLG started work on another area that we are adding those new stones to. Whereas I would just plop those stones down on the dirt just as it is, MLG works hard to make sure the water (haha, if we ever get any) will drain in the right direction, and to make the ground even, which involves digging out some pretty big rocks.

DSCN3205

Here’s what we have so far. I need to get a lot more rocks :/ Β And some topsoil and ground covers to fill in the spaces.

DSCN3254

Last weekend, I visited an artist’s home in the bay area, and I thought it was really interesting that everywhere in her garden she had shards of broken pottery. Most of the pottery was tumbled so that the edges were soft. An interesting way to add a bit of color to the garden.

IMG_1458

Then, I took my mom over to a nursery in Richmond called Annie’s Annuals and Perennials. They have a wonderful catalog, and I have a feeling that they do a huge mail order business. Everywhere they had informative signs, telling you where each plant would grow the best, their eventual size, and other stuff. They had display beds lining the huge nursery. So you could see the mature version of a plant, and then go and buy a baby of the same plant.

IMG_1486

IMG_1484

IMG_1494

See that magenta one there, with the little yellow tips on it? I got a baby of one of those. It is a Gomperena globosa “fireworks.” The catalog says it is HEAT AND DROUGHT TOLERANT!

IMG_1491

I also loved this pale hollyhock. Not sure where I’ll plant it, but I had to get one!

IMG_1487

Back home, my little babies await planting. I stopped at Alden Lane Nursery on my way home, and picked up a few more little plants.

DSCN3209

Here’s a close-up of another of the plants I got. It is a trachelium caeruleum “Hamer Pandora.” I love the black wiry stems.

DSCN3211

And I couldn’t resist a few ground covers. I love the rosy-yellow color of the one, and the other is NOT irish moss. It is an australian plant that just keeps growing in a circular mounded shape.

DSCN3210

Yesterday, during the endless watering. I saw this monarch butterfly fluttering around the stones. It would flutter a few feet, then land, with its wings closed. I ran to get my camera, but it kept its wings closed every time it landed. I think it must have just hatched, and it was waiting for its wings to dry. Anyway, I was quite excited, because this is the first monarch butterfly I’ve ever seen in my garden.

DSCN3214

I decided to try the “pet” setting on my camera. It lets you hold the button down and take continuous photos. So I finally got a series of the butterfly opening its wings!

DSCN3238

DSCN3240

DSCN3235

Bess was very happy that I was home. Quite content to snooze on the ottoman, while keeping a sleepy eye on me.

IMG_1363

Another weekend is upon us. Stay cool, and have fun!

10 thoughts on “Garden Inspiration

  1. YIPEEEEE! A garden post πŸ˜€ Those butterfly shots are most excellent. They are one of the hardest things to photograph.

    I really like those new stones you got. The free form is so natural looking. I have a second pile of rocks now. John is planning the water feature. We are probably going to do a small waterfall, probably pondless, and then plants around it. This will be in the bed right by the house, which will make running the electric easier πŸ˜€

    It looks like you bought some heuchera? GMTA. I got some yesterday at a nursery sale. It’s time for fall planting!

    • Thanks Lori! I was kinda second guessing myself about the stones, so its nice to hear another’s opinion. I am going to be very jealous of your water feature! I still might be able to do one–I remember MLG and J. the contractor talking about running an electric line that might make it easier.

      Yes, I like heuchera a lot, and have not had good luck with it. I think I don’t give it enough attention, and I either over or under-water it. I am going to really try to do right by it this time.

  2. Your garden is so so beautiful! Lovely photo’s.

    I love photographing butterflies but they are indeed hard to get a good pic of. But when it happens I’m really happy πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Fran. Yes, I think it was a combination of seeing the Monarch, and then actually getting some good shots of it, that made me happy!

  3. I just realized that we don’t see Monarchs here. Weird – you see something your whole life (well, childhood, but YOU KNOW), and then *poof* it’s gone. Really cool pictures!

    I love all the stonework you’re doing/having done. It adds so much interest and depth to your garden!

    • Yeah, you probably saw a lot of monarchs as a kid! We saw our fair share in Fremont, so much that I didn’t even like them that much–they were ORANGE πŸ™‚

      Well, its with your encouragement that I have continued on with the stones!

  4. Are you loving your garden? It seems so lovely in every photo you share.

    I have to admit, while I find the broken pottery interesting, I think it would eventually drive me nuts. Well, not “think” but “know” because as soon as I saw that photo, I wanted to start cleaning it up LOL!

    • LOL @ the pottery. Yes, I have to admit, I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not. I just thought it was interesting. I liked the tumbled pottery better, because it looked more purposeful.

  5. Debby if your going to keep buying plants you really can’t complain about the watering…lol Looks like you are having so much fun! πŸ™‚ And thats really what its all about isn’t it? Hugs! deb

  6. I love all the stonework you guys are doing! It makes it all seem more pulled together and purposeful – almost like YOU PLANNED IT. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I’m a fan of the broken pottery. Maybe an interesting piece here and there, but I don’t think I could deal with tons of it. I like things to be neat and orderly (not that you can tell that by looking at my house!).

Leave a Reply

