The Best

My new dental hygienist has convinced me that I NEED a better tooth brush. She specifically recommended the Sonicare toothbrush. So of course Sonicare has about a million options. One of the things she talked about was the UV Sanitizer as an additional way to decrease bacteria. The Sonicare with the UV Sanitizer is about $200. That ain’t happening. I have narrowed my choices to the Sonicare Series 2 because it gets rid of SIX TIMES the plaque, and its only $49. The other option is not a Sonicare. Its called an iBrush (clever name, apparently no relation to Apple products.) It has the huge number of rotations per minute just like the Sonicare, AND it has the UV Sanitizer, and it is priced at $69. For somebody who spends a lot of time trying to choose between the toothbrush that is $1 and the ones that are 2/$3, this is a big investment, and I want to get THE BEST! Anybody out there have any opinions or experience with these products?

Next, and interestingly enough, it just might be part of the reason I need the super-deluxe toothbrush, I need to know which is THE BEST brand of candy corn. I never buy candy corn, because I am afraid I will get bad candy corn, and I will still eat it and be disappointed. Weird, huh? Anyway, which is the best tasting, freshest candy corn out there? I might need to get some before the season ends.

23 thoughts on “The Best

  1. I don’t have any experience with the Sonic toothbrushes, so I can not help you there. As for the candy corn? I prefer Brachs. Very fresh and yummy!! I’ve tried the “no name brand” ones and the ones that I tried were a little hard and waxy. Good luck πŸ™‚

  2. My oldest has a Sonicare toothbrush and loves it. We’ve used the Oral B series for years, and he said that there’s no comparison between the two. Once I finish using my extra brush heads, I’ll probably make the switch. I know that when I first went from a manual toothbrush to the Oral B, my hygienist said “oh, you’ve been flossing” when I went in for a cleaning. Nope. The brush made that much of a difference!

    Don’t buy Jelly Belly candy corn. Terrible. I tried some because I could dispense a little bit, thinking I could get my craving taken care of without having to buy an entire bag. Ended up disappointed AND I tossed the remainder. Brachs is good, and made with honey. πŸ™‚

    • Ohhhh, so its healthy :))) Thanks for the Jelly Belly advice. I might have gone that route!

      Interesting about the flossing. You’re kind of encouraging me to quit flossing, which I dislike.

  3. Candy corn would be Zachary’s brand. Hands down.
    Not so sure about the toothbrush, but I might have to look into something after my next dental visit, which I dread. I think I need a crown.

    • Oh, I got mixed up on which Lori was replying! Zachary’s–I think they might be an east coast brand? Maybe I can order them on Amazon.

      Sorry bout your crown. I asked them to count how many root canals/crowns I had on my last visit–6 of them! And several have been done twice. I think I just inherited weak teeth.

      • Just checked–I can get 5 pounds of Zachary’s candy corn for $13 in two days, free shipping. Is that too much for one person? πŸ™‚

      • Ummm – 5 pounds is just fine for one person. You can get 2 bags if you want to share with someone πŸ˜‰

    • Other than the expense, crowns are not so bad. I just had to get one as well since half my tooth fell into my mouth. It’s the root canals that suck. Luckily I didn’t have to have that and hopefully you won’t either!

  4. I buy Brach’s Candy Corn. Inexpensive and they have the kind where you get the regular falvor and then the chocolate ones. When I’ve bought and used the electric toothbrushes for less than $10, my dental hygienist was p,eased with my results. She told me the trick is to be sure the brush is at an angle so the bristles are getting the tooth at the gumline. I did buy a waterpik flosser but haven’t used it yet.

  5. I’ve used the Sonic care toothbrush (at my dentist’s urging) for a few years now. It’s good, better dental appointments 😊. I also floss twice a day. It’s good for the heart!

  6. I have no advice because I use a manual toothbrush and I just can’t buy candy corn. I love it so much it allllllll tastes delicious to me, therefore I don’t buy it. There’s a guy here at work who keeps a jar stocked with it this time of year. Usually once a year, I walk down the two floors, take a handful, then walk two floors back up. I figure the stairs help to burn off some of it and the fact that it’s two floors down and in a public place keeps me from burying my face in it.

  7. For years I lived under the assumption that Brach’s had the best candy corn until one day I decided to buy some cheaper candy corn for the candy dish on my desk. I had to test one (quality control, you know) and OH MYLANTA it was delicious. It was Zachary’s brand and it was super fresh and tasted like honey and it was DELICIOUS. Needless to say, the candy corn didn’t last long on my desk. It was good while it lasted though! πŸ™‚ (I got it at Dollar General, btw)

  8. I don’t even now the Sonicare brand, we have an Oral B for years now but I don’t set high standards for my tooth brush: it has to brush that’s all.

  9. I’ve used Sonicare brand for decades, and it made a huge difference in my hygienist appointments. Mine is the Easy Clean model. Not to scare you or anything, but it’s not the cost of the toothbrush that is an issue, it’s the ongoing cost of the brush heads. I try to stretch out buying them, but I really do notice the difference when I get a replacement, so I just watch for deals on Amazon or coupons/sales at Bed, Bath, Beyond or wherever. (I also try to think of it as dental insurance.) I do not recommend giving up flossing, although maybe it depends on your teeth.

    As for candy corn, I’m trying to block out that discussion. πŸ™‚

  10. Re: candy corn- not a fan, so no advice there. As for toothbrushes, I have both a Sonicare and an Oral B. I have been using a Sonicare for years with good results, but my periodontist was selling fancy Oral B electric toothbrushes at cost, so I got a nice deal on it. Both have the “quadrapacer” feature, which signals you to change quadrants every 30 seconds. The Oral B also has a free-standing timer that sends you a sad face if you get too aggressive with your brushing, which I’m guilty of. I actually prefer the Sonicare because my teeth feel really clean after, whereas with the Oral B they feel merely brushed- lol. Both toothbrushes have different cycles-gentle, gum care, etc. I think both are good choices, and far better than a manual toothbrush. Not sure about the iBrush, but if you go with it, be sure replacement heads are readily available. Both Sonicare and Oral B replacement heads are carried by Target-type stores. One more thing- neither of my toothbrushes come with a UV sanitizer . I just let them air dry, and that works just fine.

  11. I’m late to the party … but…. I use one of those motorized Crest toothbrushes.. and i like Brachs brand candy corn the best… πŸ™‚ Hugs! deb

  12. Love, love, love my SoniCare Diamond. In the store they’re mucho bucks and I probably wouldn’t have dropped the coin for it, but my step-daughter is a dental hygenist and got me one through her office for $75. Would never go back to manual. I’ve been using it for over a year and yes, the dentist office noticed! I also oil pull with coconut oil. My teeth have never been whiter! BTW…yuck on the candy corn (probably the only candy that I’d pass on, lol)

  13. I’m dying to know what you decided on for both the candy corn and the toothbrush??? I just got to this discussion and am having a blast reading the comments. I like the grocery store candy corn, which here is Brachs. Have even tried the high end stuff from the local chocolate maker, but it’s just not the same. So I’m really intrigued by this Zachary’s talk.
    As for toothbrushes, I’ve never used one of the electric ones, but it’s time for the switch. The cost of the replacement heads is probably more important than the brush, as they are supposed to be an improvement?

Leave a Reply

