Breakfast Boredom

For a couple of months, I’ve been bored with my breakfast choices. How could this be? I have majored in breakfast recipes, and I have all kinds of choices besides my recipes. I have cereal in the cupboard. I have oatmeal. I have cottage cheese and yogurt and all kinds of fruit available. Nothing excites me.

As you know, I like sweet stuff for breakfast. Scones, muffins, pancakes, etc. All low-fat and sugar free, of course. So when the boredom started creeping in, I thought about switching to savory for a while. And then Helen posted her breakfast casserole recipe. Turns out I had all the ingredients in the house, except I had bacon instead of sausage. So I tried it. I ate it once for breakfast. It was really really good. But I didn’t like it for breakfast. It turned into a lunch item for me. This kind of recipe is really good, because it gives you the basic proportions of things to make it really tasty, but you can vary the add ins. I did add a few mushrooms to it.

DSCN3754

Maybe its okay to not be excited about breakfast. Maybe its part of getting older. I’m not as hungry in the morning as I used to be. I’m experimenting with just having my coffee, and then having breakfast a little later.

Okay, its not in the breakfast department, but I tried another new-to-me recipe, and I LOVED it. It was via Biz’s blogwon ton soup. I used to love won ton soup. This was another recipe that is so useful because it gives you the basic ingredients/proportions, and again, you can vary the ingredients. To me it was just the right taste–a delicate flavored soup, with plenty of hearty ingredients. I used broccoli, and I couldn’t find the mini pot stickers (I thought it was brilliant to use pot stickers for the won tons,) so I got regular sized ones at the stores. I just did my own math, and made three big dinner sized servings for myself. They came out to 225 calories each.

Tonight I am going to try Biz’s idea of lasagna soup. This time I’m just using the basic idea/proportions, and doing my own thing–making my Darn Good Spaghetti Sauce as the base, and adding chicken stock to make it soup. Then I am going to use my edamame noodles (I’m determined to find a good use for those!) and I will just top it with some mozzarella cheese. This can’t help but be yummy.

10 thoughts on “Breakfast Boredom

  1. I am usually good with several cups of coffee in the morning, which lets me push my breakfast back to 10:30 or so, which then makes me have a light lunch mid-afternoon, and a normal dinner. I’m not usually all that hungry in the morning either, so why not go with it, right?

    That breakfast casserole looks great, but I’d eat it for dinner. #rebel πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, the breakfast casserole for dinner is perfect! By then my taste buds have warmed up, and eggs don’t seem so bad to me πŸ™‚

  2. I am always starving in the morning. Breakfast is my biggest meal of the day. Funny, though, I have decided to switch to savory breakfasts as well and made a cheese omelet with chicken sausage for breakfast.

    John made a slow cooker lasagna soup and it’s really good calorie wise because instead of sausage, he used veggie crumbles and then we just put a couple tablespoons of ricotta on top of each bowl. It was delicous!

    • I really liked my version of the lasagna soup too! I’m glad I have four more servings in the freezer. I decided to freeze the soup base, and add the pasta fresh after I thaw the soup. I don’t like ricotta, but I might try cottage cheese in the bottom of the bowl, like some of the versions say.

    • My BF is not a breakfast eater, and she has maintained her weight loss for a long time. But only oatmeal between morning and dinner? Pretty sure that would not work for me! However, oatmeal later in the day does appeal to me. I might try that this week.

  3. I actually eat that breakfast casserole any darn time of day I want. I like the idea of mushrooms although, for me, I think I’d change the meat to ham at that point. So thank you for the new casserole idea LOL!

    I am usually hungry for breakfast, but when I think about it, it is several hours after I’ve woken. I get up at 4 am, start my workout by 4:45, finish by 5:45-6:00, spend the next 70 minutes getting ready for work, get to work by 7:30-7:45, settle in, THEN I eat breakfast. So generally about 4 hours after I’ve gotten up!

    I notice this trend stays the same when I sleep in a bit later on the weekends and that usually means I only eat brunch, and dinner.

  4. I used to eat breakfast around 7 am but the past couple of years I am not hungry immediate in the morning. To be honest there are days in the weekend where I don’t eat at all till lunch time.
    On workdays I just drink coffee at home and bring breakfast to work (usually a sandwich) that I eat around 8.30 am.

    I like both sweet and savory breakfasts.

    And I like it that you try new recipes. You know me a little by now πŸ™‚ and I always am trying new recipes out.

  5. I’ve been eating the same breakfast for over a month now and I’m still not bored with it. English muffin (or whole wheat toast), a scambled egg, and swiss or provolone cheese – all made into a sandwich. I take it to work with me and eat it while I check my email. It’s easy, it’s filling, and I LOVE IT. I’m sure I’ll get tired of it at some point but for now, it works.

    That casserole has WEEKEND written all over it for me – it looks delicious! That’s something I would like to eat as I linger over my coffee on a Saturday morning. πŸ™‚

  6. So many recipes, so little time!!! This looks delicious, and Biz sure is knocking the recipes out of the park lately, isn’t she? πŸ™‚ So many I want to try. I need to get myself to a TJ’s on Friday and do some weekend cooking. And that sounds like a good method for making the lasagne soup, I have a bunch of edamame noodles, too – I like them, but they sure do shed!

    I’m not super hungry in the mornings – I usually grab a cup of plain yogurt and put some fruit and flax seed in it, or sometimes spackle. I also like an open-faced PB&J on Dave’s Killer Bread. Sometimes I think I should just call the cream in my coffee “breakfast” and pack something for later.

Leave a Reply

