This ‘n’ That

You know how one of the first things we learned as dieters was to READ THE LABEL!? Well, that is still good advice. It helps me to make wise decisions. Recently I made myself a strawberry protein smoothie (1 cup frozen strawberries, 1 cup yogurt, etc,) and I remembered I had some spinach in the freezer. I got that out and added a handful. I love to make a frozen protein smoothie for lunch so I can drink it on the way to the gym. I am all about saving time. I took a taste of it before I left, and thought “that spinach tastes like basil.” I thought about re-doing it, and leaving the spinach out, but, being all about the saving time, I took it and left. It was okay, but I made a mental note to toss that spinach when I got home. Later that night, I remembered to get the spinach out of the freezer. There was the bag, clearly marked “basil.” Read the labels!

Follow-up to the dog food discussion.  After re-doing my stats on the cost of making my home-made dog food, I discovered that it cost quite a bit more than I had figured at first. I decided to make a visit to the local “canine cafe” to see what they knew about the raw food diet. I was pretty sure it would be way more expensive than I wanted to spend. Turns out, they had it all ground up and pre-frozen for almost the same price that it was costing me to make it myself! That will save me a couple of hours each week. But there’s a lot more hand-washing going on around here. I don’t particularly like handling all that raw chicken every day. I’m still going half and half. They get the raw food in the morning, and kibble and carrots and sometimes apples at night. It didn’t seem to have any ill effects on their digestive system…

Some foodie notes: I started listening to a quilting podcast. They include a recipe each week. I noticed this one for “Mary’s Rice Pudding of Death” and noticed that it didn’t have added fat or that much sugar in it. I did the stats, and decided it would be worth a try. SOOOO delicious, and so very worthy. I did use brown rice, because that’s what I had on hand. Mine didn’t look like the picture, but it was so very tasty. Yesterday I woke up with an urge for baked oatmeal. Only I didn’t feel like making a whole recipe. I decided to try making a single serving. It was a HUGE success, at least in my mind 🙂 Here’s how I made it. I also simplified the ingredients from what most baked oatmeals include. Last night I made Biz’s Chicken Cilantro Won Ton Soup again. I had found the chicken cilantro pot stickers at Trader Joe’s and wanted to try them out. This is such a good bowl of soup, and those pot stickers are much better than the ones I got at the local grocery store.

Here’s the final shots of the dye studio. J. the contractor came back and put the subway tile backsplash up. I actually went out there and dyed some wool this week! Very fun. I had my first dye spill on the granite, and it cleaned up well. I do envision the granite and backsplash eventually being multi-colored. We shall see.

DSCN3892

DSCN3891

15 thoughts on “This ‘n’ That

  1. LOL! Sometime I like to put cinnamon in my coffee grounds before I brew it and one day I noticed it tasted a little spicy. I double checked the cinnamon container and I had accidentally grabbed the chili powder instead! I just decided it would be Mexican coffee instead of Viennese coffee that day! Reading the labels is a good thing!!

    Your dye studio looks great!! 🙂

  2. Debby, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve brought frozen marinara to work, thinking it was roasted red pepper and tomato soup! Glad you love the wonton soup – I agree – comfort in a hot steamy bowl of soup! Happy Friday!

  3. Wow, wow,wow on that studio! How wonderful to have that!

    It’s always amazing to me what dogs can eat and not get sick. Garbage eaters, litterpan snackers and all that. Then they want to lick your face. Ew.

  4. Ha. From all my Food Network watching, I seem to remember that strawberries and basil go well together. Ya just got the proportions off a tad.

    How cilantro-y (yeah, that’s a great word) are the TJ chic pot stickers? When cilantro flavor in something is strong, I can’t handle it. I wanted to try the recipe the last time you mentioned it but chickened out.

    • I like cilantro, so I was trying to taste it, but I couldn’t taste it at all, so it’d probably be okay for you. You should definitely try the soup. I’ve eaten it three days in a row now!

  5. Did you seal your granite? Just wondering because it’s a light color – I didn’t bother sealing mine but it’s dark and hides everything.

    Cracking up at your basil smoothie. I shook pepper onto my Greek yogurt one morning – it was in the same-looking bottle as the cinnamon! That mistake was not salvageable.

    • Wow, thanks for the tip! I sealed the granite in the kitchen, and I have some of the stuff leftover, I just never thought about sealing the granite in the studio. I’ll get right on that this week!!

  6. Your studio is just wonderful! I have a mental picture of you working out there singing and smiling and generally happy. I’m sure that will be the case.

    The label thing goes for non foodstuffs as well. I once rolled a shea butter stick foot cream under my arms. That was a goopy mess!

    • I didn’t write about that–the first day I worked in the studio, I had been upset about something. I decided to go and try to dye stuff. It was a beautiful spring day, and in between dye pots, I just sat in the sun and totally enjoyed the day! I don’t think I was singing, but I was really happy 🙂

    • I saw…I’m contemplating whether there are seven things about myself that people don’t already know, after writing ALL ABOUT ME for eight years!!

Leave a Reply

