Working in the Garden

Yesterday I set as a DAY TO WORK IN THE GARDEN. Between the extra rain we’ve had this year, and my travel schedule, things had gotten a little out of hand. I worked most of the morning in the garden, took a lunch break, and then went back out for a couple more hours. The changes seem so minimal, and yet, it makes a big difference to me, to see some of the weeds disappear, and also to get some pruning done on the trees.

I did some pruning on this lace leaf maple, but I need to work up my courage and do a bit more.

DSCN4110

The stone paths were the main place I weeded. Good grief, I have a hard time getting anything to grow between the stones, but weeds! They are happy to fill in the gaps. However, when I started weeding, I was really pleased to see that some of my favorite ground covers (irish moss and corsican mint) had self-seeded between the stones. Seems our lack of rain has probably been the main detriment in getting the ground cover to grow!

DSCN4105

Then I moved on to the carnation bed, which I guess gets the most sun, and therefore, the most weeds?

DSCN4104

The patchwork path is doing well. I changed out some of the ground covers, and planted some blue star creeper in there.

DSCN4108

The campanula bloomed for the first time this year!

DSCN4109

And lastly, I put a few plants into the ground. It actually takes me a very long time to decide where to plant the new plants I get. This is a calla lily. I have admired these at the nurseries for years, but never bought one. We’ll see how this does in the shade garden. It will get a fair amount of sun where I planted it, so hopefully it will take off.

DSCN4107

I went back out this morning to take a few more pictures of the flowers. Here are the carnations.

DSCN4113

This rose is much prettier than last year! I almost dug it up before it bloomed! Glad I gave it a chance.

DSCN4114

Lori, what is this plant? It is rather rangy and messy, but the little flowers are pretty, and I believe I bought it because butterflies like it.

DSCN4115

And the new little honeysuckle plant has taken off and reached the top of the fence already! So happy. Just a little sniff is all I need 🙂

DSCN4116

This is a dwarf abutilon (flowering maple) that I found. Bright red blooms, and it only gets about 3 feet high. Yes, it has its own little fence to discourage little doggies who like pink (and I guess red is a form of pink?) blooms.

DSCN4118

And that’s the garden report for today. There’s a lot more work to be done, but that will have to wait for later in the week. I have one more short trip to make!

 

10 thoughts on “Working in the Garden

  1. OMG, the carnations are fabulous! Have you cut any and brought them inside? And the calla lily – so jealous. I tried to plant and keep one alive here one year, but it’s just too hot. I love seeing them growing wild in Santa Cruz whenever I manage to get out there.

    Your paths look so good! Your entire garden is really beautiful. 🙂

    • Yes, the carnations are one flower that I really enjoy having in the house! And they last a long time, which is nice.

      Santa Cruz has the absolute perfect temperature for gardening!

  2. Those calla lilies are beautiful! I love them, but they have to be grown as annuals here and I haven’t bothered yet.

    Isn’t is crazy how fast weeds get out of control?

    The purple flower is a penstemon of some type, I think. It is attractive to butterflies and hummers.

  3. I’ve been eyeing calla lillies for the patio this year – I’m just afraid it’s too hot out there, even though I might find some shade. Yours is so pretty and I hope it thrives!

    You have so many different pretty blooms Debby. I’m sure it must be so satisfying to look out at your garden after your hard weeding work and see that.

  4. Another great walk thru your gardens. The temps are in the 50s here in MD and the “last frost date” was the 15th, so will be getting outside to get down and dirty now that the rains have stopped (16 days in a row).

    I love your flowering maple–must check that one out to see if it’s hardy in MD. Yes, that little flower is a penstemon–I have a red one. The hummers love it. You and your gardener have truly transformed your outdoor space.

  5. I so LOVED walking thru your garden; a virtual tour thru an inviting, friendly and beautiful secret garden is what it felt like. Makes me look close to see if there are fairies or other little creatures peeking out. Really, it has that kind of feel. Just lovely. And that calla lily made me gasp, it is soooo gorgeous!

  6. “The calla lilies are in bloom again. Such a strange flower—suitable to any occasion. I carried them on my wedding day, and now I place them here in memory of something that has died.” I will never NOT say that line when someone mentions calla lillies. 🙂

  7. Back in my CA days with my ex-whatever-he-was, we had white callas growing near some birches in the back yard. Beautiful. I tried to plant some other colors and those ones never took though. Hope yours do! I need badly to designate a day to work in the garden, but it doesn’t seem to be happening. So I’ll just enjoy yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

