Fun With Strawberries!

I am so lucky! Usually, strawberries are grown in the valley, and little strawberry stands pop up along the highways this time of year.Trouble is, the valley is about an hour away from where I live. But last year, Mr. Lee, who regularly sold at our local farmer’s markets, bought a plot of land up here in the foothills, and put in his strawberry patch. So now I can get the best strawberries any day of the week, only about five miles from my house. And it just happens to be on the way to the gym, so strawberries are the fruit for me this time of year!

Here’s a couple of fun ways I’ve eaten them the past few days.

My own “fruit on the bottom” yogurt. When I have too many strawberries, I just mash them with my potato masher, and put them in the freezer, kind of like freezer jam. I thaw some out when I need it, spoon a little bit in my bowl, and plop half a cup of homemade yogurt on top, and then finish off with Shelley’s hippie granola. Yumm.

DSCN4098

Yesterday for my afternoon snack, I made “stuffed strawberries.” Just hollowed out the big ones, and cut a wedge of Laughing Cow Lite in 4 chunks, stuffed them in the middle, and finished off with a sprinkle of Splenda. Yumm yumm 🙂

DSCN4101

 

5 thoughts on “Fun With Strawberries!

  1. I looooove strawberries. And blueberries. I guess I just love fruit. I almost never do anything with it, though. I just eat it straight out of hand.

  2. You ARE lucky! I get good strawberries here, from Watsonville and Salinas, LOL. Not quite as fresh as what you have. Oh and freezer jam! My Grandmother used to make it; she had me save the baby food jars from my kids and she’d put the jam in them. I loved it when she would take a tiny jar of jam out for us. 🙂

  3. I love strawberries but only in season. You can buy them here all year round now but I only buy them in Spring and Summer. Just bought another box yesterday.

Leave a Reply

