This ‘n’ That

Lots of stuff going on around here, but its mostly fiber art related, so I write about it over on the other blog. If you want to see what I’ve been up to, you can visit over there. One of the things I am doing is going to rug hooking camp, and I decided to attempt a portrait rug of Noah. I have taken one million pictures of the Big White Dog, and still ended up liking one of my older ones best. This is from one of his many photo shoots, and I used it in conjunction with the older photo to draw the outline for the rug.

DSCN4083

This is the first rose I bought. Only one bloom on it so far this year, and the stem was so ridiculously long (over 6 feet high, I’m not kidding) that I decided to cut it off and enjoy it inside.

DSCN4149

Its a very pretty rose, and it has a very nice fragrance as well.

DSCN4150

This is the JP rose I showed you earlier. It looks even prettier when it is fully opened. Its called Belinda’s Dream.

DSCN4153

Last week, I was bemoaning the fact that my dogwood tree has not bloomed since we planted it. It was also leaning precariously to one side, so MLG tied it up to a bigger tree to straighten it up. Then he called me over to look at something. Lo and behold, there were two little blossoms at the top of the tree! Maybe next year, if I treat it just right, I’ll see some real blooms on it!

DSCN4151

Glamour shot of Miss Zoey. Isn’t she the cutest? Its pretty fun for me to have a long haired dog to take care of again.

DSCN4159

Last night, I got an email from Hungry Girl, with a recipe for Cherry Pie Baked Oatmeal. I thought about making it, but then decided I just wanted one serving. This morning, I used my single serve recipe, and added a handful of frozen cherries. Quite yummy!

And that’s all the news around here for now. We have all of a sudden heated up to over 90 degrees, so I am looking forward to my trip to Cambria next week, over by the coast, where the high is supposed to be 70 degrees!

One more thing! After I finished this post, I went out to water the garden (again) and saw this swallowtail landing on the marigolds! I left the water running to distract him, and went inside and got my camera, and he was still there when I got back out! These are the little surprises that I like best about gardening.

DSCN4171

10 thoughts on “This ‘n’ That

  1. That is a gorgeous butterfly – what a treat! I just saw that you guys are going to get super hot; how serendipitous that you have your coastal retreat planned! And baked oatmeal – I should dig out your recipe and make that again, yum.

  2. I got a free Belinda’s Dream rose from JP when I ordered last year and that is the one rose that didn’t survive the winter. At least it was the free one LOL!

    LOL at Jill’s hooker camp ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Oh you made me mad at JP all over again. Not only did they sell me dead roses to start with, they replaced it with a weak piddly rose that they really only use as a free giveaway. I will never do business with them again.

  3. I can’t wait to see your textile portrait – I admire you for even taking that on! I just got a notice from my weather app saying the west is heating up and the east is cooling down over the next week. I guess I didn’t realize your temps got quite so high!

    • Yes, it gets pretty hot out here. At my elevation, and with all the trees, it is usually quite bearable. But in the valley, and even in Jackson, the closest town, it will get to over 100 frequently during the summer. I am still hopeful that we will get the occasional rain now that the drought has brokenโ€ฆ I’m anxious to start the portrait and see if I can do better than I think I can ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Debby… dogwoods set their buds in the Fall so you should be able to look at yours later and see what you will have in the Spring…. Hugs! deb

  5. Oh wow that butterfly is so pretty.

    I love the photo you are using of Noah. He is so cute and before miss Zoey gets jealous, she’s cute too.

    Hope you have a wonderful trip.

Leave a Reply

