Do You See What I See?

IMG_2614

The other day I was out taking a walk with Noah and Chloe, and I stopped for some reason. And then I heard something flutter by me. Wow, that was close by. I inspected the side of the road, and there was a little bird’s nest, built right into one of the little crevices! The mama bird flutters away to divert any perceived enemies from her eggs.

Yesterday I decided to go back and see if she was still there, and see if I could get a couple of good pictures without freaking her out too much. Here she is, on the nest. I only got one picture before she fluttered away.

IMG_2612

And here are her three little eggs. Don’t worry, I didn’t stay long, and I checked when I drove by the next day to make sure she was back on her nest.

IMG_2613

 

Such a simple thing, but these are the things that delight me.

11 thoughts on “Do You See What I See?

  1. I scoured the pic and saw the crevice, but couldn’t tell if it was a den or what. But then I THOUGHT I found an animal peering at you elsewhere. Follow the trunk of the largest tree in the upper right down to the bottom of the spider web at its base. Go a bit to your right and I saw 2 eyes, a nose, a light colored cheek and perhaps a paw below. I watched some program on the brain before that talked about how we are programmed to recognize faces. Even when they aren’t there. Hahahaha.

  2. This is such a sweet post. Look at her beautifully woven nest. I am always amazed at the stuff they find to line the nests with. I would like to look her up in my bird book. What size bird is this, is she black and charcoal, or….. Love her white beak.

  3. Okay, I’ve done a little research, and I think she’s a dark eyed junco. They are very common around here, and I have noticed that they like to get the seeds on the ground under the feeders, which is what it says in the description.

  4. So cool! You read on my blog that we have a nest in the garden too and like you, I love it. I can watch the birds fly in and out for hours. Especially when they were building the nest, that was so fun to see.

  5. There’s a road in Grand Case, St. Martin where all the birds build their nests into the side of a hill. It’s so crazy when you realize those holes are bird nests! Great catch – nothing like seeing baby birds in the making.

  6. Debby..I think you are right about it being a dark eyed junco. My research says they build their nests near or on the ground….3 – 5 eggs .. incubate in 12 – 13 days and hatchlings leave the nest in 11 – 14 days. The photos of the nests and eggs appear to be the same as the ones you photographed. Can’t wait to see your photos of the new hatchlings.

Leave a Reply

