A Special Dinner for One

I was feeling like I needed to treat myself. I was in the pool, doing an extra long workout, and thinking about all my options. Going out or eating at home? Home is always a better choice, calorie-wise. But could I make it special?

And here’s what I came up with! So fun, and SOOOO delicious. That’s a turkey burger on top of a bed of lettuce and tomatoes. What can I say? I like a bite of tomato with each bite of burger! And one small sweet potato, cut into fries and baked. And a strawberry shake–the best! Just a cup of frozen strawberries, mixed together with half a cup of yogurt and half a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze. Now that was a good deal–about 135 calories for that delicious shake!

DSCN4253

7 thoughts on “A Special Dinner for One

  1. Yum!! I did that the other morning getting ready for work. I wanted eggs for breakfast but I decided I wanted a fancy breakfast, so I added some spinach and some onion powder to my eggs, microwaved them for a bit, then put them on top of some toast with avocado. Then I sprinkled on just a touch of shredded mozzarella. It made an ordinary day seem a little fancier!

  2. Nice! I have found that I don’t like the taste of ground turkey anymore. Not sure why. I have switched over to chicken.

  3. You go girl! You definitely need to treat yourself every now and then. Whenever R. is not eating at home I make something special for myself. Usually something he doesn’t like but I do.

    Meal looks delicious.

  4. You are so right – home is often way better. The only thing better when eating out is not having to clean up lol. You are right in the current trend with your meal. There are a couple of specialty burger joints around here and they all offer a “burger on a bed” which is exactly what you made!

  5. I am struggling to stay on track these days (months) but one thing that helps is making meals for myself that looks good and taste great.
    I bake sweet potatoes sometimes, but I’ve never made fries, but they go perfectly with burgers and sandwiches, I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

