Inspiration Near and Far

Inspiration Number 1: my own pain. When I came back from that trip at the beginning of June, and not just my knee, but my whole leg and various other body parts hurt so badly, I instinctively knew I needed to move more, not less. I have been more disciplined about exercise in the past month than I have ever been. I did all the things I thought would help with mobility and range of motion, and kept a very disciplined schedule every day.Β The only thing I didn’t do was walk as much. I did the bike, water jogging, swimming, and my P.T. exercises. As I started feeling better, along came–

Inspiration Number 2: Β Its not new, but dang, she’s so consistent. Shelley has been getting up EARLY in the morning to run for a long time. I always get up early, but I don’t get dressed for quite a while πŸ™‚ One day I decided it wouldn’t hurt me to get dressed and get out for a walk before it got hot and before people started driving out the dusty dirt road to get to work. It was WONDERFUL! I’m happy to report that I have now taken 6 early morning walks. Working towards 21 to make it a permanent habit. And this morning, I took an extra long walk, because of–

Inspiration Number 3: Β I had lunch with a friend to hear about her recent trip to Spain to walk the Camino de Santiago. She is about my age, in very good physical shape. But people, SHE WALKED 500 MILES IN 35 DAYS!! Between 11 and 19 miles each day. And partway through the walk she developed some serious back problems, but she kept going, just a bit slower.

She told me about two movies, and I have watched both of them in the past week. One is a documentary, and was very good. Walking the Camino: Six Ways to Santiago followed six people on their journey. Almost everyone suffered some sort of pain or injury. That’s just a lot of wear and tear on the body. The other was a regular movie, called The Way. It was also very good, although none of the main characters suffered any kind of injury πŸ™‚

This kind of thing has always inspired me. I read Walk Across America many years ago, and it made an impact on me back then. I know I will never walk across America, or walk the Camino de Santiago. But I can do better, with the inspiration of those who do.

The Camino inspired me in other ways. I wrote about it on The Other Blog.

14 thoughts on “Inspiration Near and Far

  1. Sometimes just getting past that starting hump is all you need. The thing with chronic pain is that movement can help, but it hurts more at first so you don’t want to do it, which then creates a cycle.

    Go you! You are an inspiration to me with being so steady all these years.

    • Good description of chronic pain. With me, it starts hurting to sit still, so that’s a really great motivating factor to get out there and move πŸ™‚

  2. ::blushes:: Aww, what a nice thing to read this morning!! πŸ™‚

    When I first started exercising, I used to put a lot of effort into getting ready. But one thing I finally realized, is that when you roll out of bed and throw on some clothes, you don’t have to look presentable for the day. If you run into anyone, chances are they are out there exercising as well, and that’s the most important thing – to get yourself out there. Big kudos to you for changing your morning routine and getting your walk in – and what a bonus, to be feeling less pain!

    I am so impressed by your friend’s 500 mile journey. In 35 days, no less. WOW.

    • Yeah, I am definitely nothing to look at on my early morning walks!

      I know–she said it was kind of like walking a half marathon 35 days in a row!

  3. This is a very inspirational post!

    I love early morning workouts, not particular in Winter but with daylight I do. If I go for a run it’s always early in the morning but I have also taken a few early morning walks with Bella lately and enjoyed it very much. It’s so peaceful and quiet early in the morning.

    I need to watch that movie The Way sometime. Now that I read about it on your blog, I remember I wanted to watch it sometime. I recently watched “Wild” with Reese Witherspoon, a movie I enjoyed very much.

    My sister in law once mentioned she want to walk the Camino the Santiago but it never happened. In the Netherlands it’s very popular to walk “the walk of the world” http://www.4daagse.nl/en/ I have been thinking about that but don’t want to spend weekends walking and walking and walking.

    • Oh, I’ve been wondering about Wild–thanks for the recommendation. I’ll have to check out that walk of the world–thanks for the link. You’d like The Way–you probably know there was a Dutch guy on there–he was a very likable character.

      • I didn’t know, I looked up who it is and I know him by name. Fun fact is that he is born in the next town to where I live.

  4. UH OH.
    I think youve inspired me.
    500 miles?? 35 days??!!!!
    Now I wanna…even though it sounds unbelievably challenging
    ((off to netflix those movies))

  5. Years ago I began my early morning walks to beat the heat here in Florida, I can’t imagine a better way to start my day. This year I read two books on the Camino de Santiago, my favorite was by Sonia Chouette and the other was by Shirley Maclaine though I had to get past all the otherworldly stuff, the walk has peaked my interest though after a 7 week bout with illness in early spring I will have to wait a year or so. I through hiked the AT 3 times in my life so far so the Camino might become a reality some day and if not there are so many wonderful places to walk and hike here. When I can once a month I walk one of the long nature trails in and around Florida.

    • Thanks for the book recommendations! And how fascinating that you might actually walk it–you’ll have to blog about it if you do!!

  6. YOU inspire me everyday! πŸ™‚ For a while I thought that I didn’t like early morning workouts, turns out I don’t like them in WINTER because it’s still dark out. I’ve learned however, that I LOVE them in summer. I’ve been getting up early before work and working out for several days in a row now.

    I can’t imagine walking 20 miles every day though!! I think I’d drop dead after the first day! I guess it’s something you have to work up to. πŸ™‚

    Great post Debs!!

    • Yeah, I will definitely NOT be out walking in the dark! It is nice in the summer, before the day heats up. If only I didn’t have to get dressed to do it πŸ™‚

  7. I was inspired last year by a book about a 70-ish woman who walked the Appalachian Trail several years ago. Before they fixed it up and fixed the parts that had disappeared due to weather etc. She had no fancy equipment; no tents, just cheap sneakers she wore out several times. I can’t remember the name of the book…not much of a recommendation, sorry.

Leave a Reply

