Re-Entry…Random Thoughts from a Trip

Re-entry…its hard sometimes. A day of travel just wipes you out. A little trip to Colorado seemed so easy–just a 2 1/2 hour flight, no lay-overs! But then you add on the drive to   the airport, the never-ending shuttles to get you here and there in the airport, long waits in line, and the three hour drive to your destination, and its a whole long day of travel. Nevertheless, I am home. And so happy to be here, even if I am too tired to look happy 🙂

Glad to be back to my routines, and somewhat anxious to return to those routines. But still too tired to jump right in. Had my own blueberry scone and coffee this morning, and then was hankering for a little more. I just so happened to be reading Biz’s blog, and found her recipe for banana-chocolate chip muffins, and thought I’d give them a try, with a few of my own variations, of course!

DSCN4368

While I waited for them to cool, I decided to drag in the suitcases and unpack. 10 minutes–done! Not as many clothes as I usually pack for a trip, and quilt stuff was limited to what I could fit in between clothes in two suitcases–thank you to Southwest for allowing two suitcases to be checked without any charge!

Bess supervises the unpacking

Bess supervises the unpacking

Zoey keeping track of me from her usual perch.

Zoey keeping track of me from her usual perch.

Sophie and Chloe in their place under the desk, happy I am home.

Sophie and Chloe in their place under the desk, happy I am home.

I will start my laundry soon, and get out there and start watering the garden, and then I will be ready to go to the gym, grocery store, and pick Noah up on the way home. Aaaaah, its good to be home.

The girl's babysitter did an excellent job of keeping the garden going while I was gone!

The girl’s babysitter did an excellent job of keeping the garden going while I was gone!

 

DSCN4372

9 thoughts on “Re-Entry…Random Thoughts from a Trip

  1. Welcome home! Yes, travel is fun but it’s always nice to get back to your own place…and I’m still in love with your floors, thanks for the picture. 😉

    All of the girl doggies look so happy to have you back! And I’m sure Mr. Noah will be wanting to get back with his posse AND inspect his yard…which looks fabulous!

  2. I am always happy to be home again. I have to admit I love being at home, traveling is fun but if I never could travel again, it wouldn’t be that bad either.

    Your doggies must have been so happy that you were home, only that alone is the best reason to get home: reunite with the fur babies.

    • I followed the recipe that I linked to, but instead of 2 cups flour I used 1 cup gluten free flour and 1 1/2 cups oats. Instead of 2/3 cup light brown sugar I used 1/3 cup. Oh, and instead of 1/2 cup chocolate chips, I used 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 1/4 cup walnuts. I really like walnuts. I ran the recipe through calorie count.com, and it came out to about 150 calories per muffin.

Leave a Reply

