The Garden’s Supporting Cast

There’s lots of plants in the garden that don’t get a lot of press. Because they are not big and fancy and colorful, the way I like things. But all these little plants add to the look of the garden. I decided they needed a feature of their own.

This creeping wire vine is all over the shade garden. I really like the look of it. It will take over (the bunny is just about buried here,) but its easy to keep under control too.

dscn4492

There’s a button fern in there. I need to trim the wiry plant to give it more room to grow.

dscn4493

Creeping Jenny, along with some violets.

dscn4499

Licorice Lemon plant. I really like this plant. I thought it played well against the dark red petunias.

dscn4519

These little pink begonias do well for me. And sometimes they come back year after year.

dscn4521

The violets….This variety has dark green fairly glossy leaves, and so they are attractive even when they’re not blooming. But they are pretty insistent on spreading, so they are a two-edged sword. I am using them to fill in the spaces of one of the stone pathways.

dscn4522

I don’t know what this plant is. But its doing just what MLG wanted it to do–climbing over those big rocks. I had it in a container in the shade garden, and it just about took over the whole garden. So I was going to toss the whole container, and MLG saved its life, by suggesting planting it in the back of the garden. Its doing very well, and it is better than bare dirt!

dscn4523

Another plant I don’t know the name of. But these tiny blue flowers bloom all summer, and the bees LOVE them. I like their intense color.dscn4518

Hollyhocks!! I’m pretty excited about these. I grew them from seeds (from a packet that was a couple of years old!) and I’m looking forward to seeing them bloom next year.

dscn4511

Mondo grass. Another plant I had in a container. It did so well in that container that it almost choked the life out of the Japanese Maple that was in the same container. So When I put that maple in the ground, I saved a couple of clumps of the mondo grass to plant along the front fence line. It has been very slow, but I’m glad to see a few new sprouts coming up.

dscn4502

And I couldn’t resist some pretty pictures! The geranium with the salvia.

dscn4524

My favorite lantana. This is a little plant that Noah almost destroyed when I first planted it. So I moved it over next to the fence to give it a chance to live. The ground there is not that good, but it is really doing well now.

dscn4520

Close-up:

dscn4501

 

And that’s the garden report for this week. I hope you are enjoying your weekend 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Garden’s Supporting Cast

  1. The greenery, the ground cover, is what ties your garden together and makes it look so good, instead of just random plants here and there. I love the green plant among the rocks; it looks so natural.

    • Well thank you. I forgot to show the elfin thyme that has filled in the gaps between the stones–I’m very proud of getting that filled in this summer!

  2. The creeping plant on the rocks with the blue flowers? That’s creeping Charlie. It’s a weed around here LOL! It grows into our lawn from the neigbor’s house and I’m constantly ripping it out.

    I can’t wait to see the hollyhocks. They are not really hardy around here, but I wish I could grow them.

    • Awwww, its not such a bad little plant–I wouldn’t call it a weed! I know we don’t call it creeping charlie out here–it might be related, but it doesn’t have blue flowers. The blue flowers in the picture below it is a different plant–pretty tall, about 2 1/2 feet.

      I did start to worry about the hollyhocks being hardy. But I think I checked the package before I planted them. We’ll just have to see.

      • Creeping Charlie might be considered a weed in New York, but I remember my mom planting it in our yard in California – funny how different the takes can be on the same plants!

Leave a Reply

