Senior Citizen???

I recently had to write a small piece about myself for my church newsletter. In case there are any readers who do not know everything there is to know about me, I thought I’d share that here.

I was surprised when I received R’s request to be interviewed for the “Senior Connection” in the (church) newsletter. Wasn’t that for old people??? And then I remembered that I had gleefully applied for Social Security just a few days prior. And of course, I’m always very happy to take advantage of senior discounts. But I’m not really a senior. Isn’t that how most of us view ourselves?

Anyway, for what its worth, here it is. I was lucky to be born to two really great parents. My dad was enamored of God’s word and studied it voraciously his entire life. My mom told me “I could do anything I really wanted to,” which gave me the courage to try things I didn’t think were possible.

I always loved dogs, and I loved handwork. And that is where I have ended up—with five rescue dogs and working as a studio artist. Along the way, when I listened to God and followed his lead, I have had some amazing adventures. I was a neonatal intensive care nurse for 25 years, despite the fact that I only passed high school biology by being the teacher’s pet and taking care of the classroom animals. Science did not come naturally to me, but I felt God’s leading and was moved to work with the tiniest and sickest babies. It was a great privilege.

I came to Grace Fellowship (my home church) shortly after it started, and it was through Grace that God impressed upon me the importance of helping children in third world countries. Going to a foreign country was for sure something that was not in my comfort zone, but I have traveled to Africa with Vapor Ministries, and have been to Haiti twice to visit “our” kids in Carre Four Poy. It has changed my outlook on life, and has changed the choices I have made in my daily life. I believe that it is only through visiting the poorest of the poor in person that you can truly understand the need. I saw this happen with my brother when we visited Haiti together.

When it came time for me to retire, people always asked what I was going to do. I wasn’t sure how it would work out, but I would say that I was going to be a quilt artist. When I was inspired to put Scripture into my quilts, that is when I found my passion. It is a way for me to share my faith with others. I will see a verse in a new way, and bring that to life in a quilt. Its very meditative to sit and stitch the words and think about them. Recently I finished a series of 18 small quilts, titled “what they said.” It is what different people said when they encountered Jesus. No matter whether they liked him or hated him, the response to Jesus was never static. It was very moving to me to try to illuminate the emotion behind the words and to spend so much time stitching these words. I am now working on a quilt of The Hallelujah Chorus. Listening to Handel’s Messiah was my dad’s favorite thing at Christmas, and in recent years, it has been the most important thing I want to do at Christmas. Years ago, I had the opportunity to sing the Hallelujah Chorus in my church choir, and so it holds great meaning for me.

One question I am asked frequently is “do you have children?” And my answer is always the same—“No, I’ve never been married.” R. asked for a favorite verse. There are way too many to choose just one. But one that has stayed with me since I was a very young woman, and has stood the test of time is Phil. 4:11-12 “…I have learned, in whatever state I am, to be content.”

dscn1594

Of course, there are other parts of my daily life that I didn’t even mention in this little article–like gardening and exercise and the fact that I’ve been on a diet for TWELVE YEARS. But you all know that 🙂
19 thoughts on “Senior Citizen???

    • Yeah, I was actually pretty upset when she first asked me. I did a google search, and someone said that 65 was senior citizen. Maybe by then I’ll be ready for it?

      • No you won’t !!! I just turned 65 two days ago and I no more feel or see myself as a senior citizen then I did when I was 45. I am more aware of time though, and appreciating the time given me even more.

  1. You are such an inspiration to others. I thank God that you share your life with all of us. I love reading your blogs–the variety of things that you do artistically, your sweet dogs, and your obvious love of God–I open them as soon as they appear in my in-box. BTW…this is a great photo and your quilts look really pretty in the background. mickie

  2. That was really nice to read.

    Guess what? The old grey mare just ain’t what she used to be – she’s new and improved and better! When your parents were the age you are now, they most certainly were Sr. Citizens. Generations after, become seniors slower mostly because we have a different approach to life, living, exercise, etc. But take those senior discounts girl!!

Leave a Reply

