In The Garden

Before I start on the garden news, I want to say thank you to those of you who left such encouraging comments on my last post about my knee. It really means a lot to me. I also reached out to a fellow nurse who had knee replacement surgery earlier this year, and in the conversation–where she was very enthusiastic about her experience with surgery–we realized that we had the same doctor! I already knew that I liked my doctor a great deal, but hearing that he was also good at the actual surgery was fantastic news.

I’ve now had two of the three gel shots, and they don’t seem to be doing a thing. But maybe the third shot will be the magic charm.

Well, yesterday I needed to stop at the nursery and ask a question about a pesky weed. Did you all know there’s something called pre-emergent treatment that you can put on plants to keep the weeds from ever appearing? The regular stuff is very toxic to dogs, so she is checking out some corn gluten stuff for me to try. Of course, while I was there, I had to check out the plants. I got a few more pansies and one more six-pack of elfin thyme to fill in the stone pathway spaces.

This is a “wave” pansy! Great for pots, and the pansies actually hang over the side.

dscn4736

And this big pretty blue pansy. I think I told you–my plan was to plant so many pansies in the garden that Noah would tire of eating them 🙂

dscn4739

This is the most this camellia has ever bloomed! I guess it is liking our bit of rain, and our longer than usual warm weather.

dscn4735

And yes! One more rose.

dscn4740

I took this picture–doesn’t it look out of place blooming with the fall foliage in the background?

dscn4741

The red abutilon is still blooming away.

dscn4737

I was standing next to this plant, and noticed a lovely pineapple smell wafting by. This is my pineapple sage–it goes crazy and has these bright red blooms in the fall. I have never used it for cooking. But the smell was so good, I’m thinking of using it on my turkey this year!

dscn4738

So after I planted my little six-packs, I went over to help MLG who was here splitting more pine for me. Did I tell you about the bark beetles that have invaded our county (because of the drought) and are killing many of our pine trees? My neighbor took down a few pine trees, and had so much wood herself that she didn’t want them. So while MLG was splitting the logs, I threw the pieces into the back of his truck, and then he backed that up to the wood shed, where I started stacking it up. You can see we didn’t finish today. But there is a method to our madness. I have to be able to get to the dry wood. As soon as I make a dent in that, I’ll finish stacking the new wood in the shed.

dscn4744

We are due for more rain and some colder weather this weekend, and I am ever hopeful that gardening will really be done for this winter!

12 thoughts on “In The Garden

  1. Good Morning from the East Coast…….love the “final” walk thru of your gardens. I’M NOT READY FOR WINTER. Love your pineapple sage plant. Last year mine bloomed for the first time and it was glorious looking. I never thought of using it to season anything.

    Re the pine wood…I’ve heard you have to be careful about tar buildup in the chimney when burning pine wood…..have you heard this?? Love your wood shed. Girl….do you ever slow down? (smile)

    Guess you are saving the knee surgery for the wintertime when you’ll forced to stay in. You will be amazed at how much better you will feel when you get thru the recovery process. Thanks for sharing your wonderful life.

    • Oh yes, we know all about the tar build up with pine. In the past I’ve even had a chimney fire!My preference would be to only buy oak to burn. Now I alternate oak and pine, and I get my chimney cleaned regularly, so I’m doing okay.

  2. What reassuring news to hear from someone who had such a positive experience with your very own doctor for the knee surgery!

    Is it weird that I love your woodshed? Well call me weird, because I do. 🙂

    • I know! I was pretty excited when she told me that.

      You’re not weird, I love my woodshed too. and my neighbor is jealous of it 🙂

  3. That looks like some hard work stacking all that wood in your shed. Will that get you completely through the winter?

    I suppose you can’t ask for a better endorsement than one for the exact physician!

    • I have more than enough wood to get me through the winter. I think I usually use a cord to a cord and a half each winter. I think there might be two cords in the shed already.

  4. So glad you are hearing a positive experience with the same surgeon!

    We have started the corn gluten treatment on our lawn. It’s supposed to take a couple years to get it under control. We put it on in the spring and there was definitely less crab grass, but it didn’t seem to do much with the other weeds and they had a good year LOL. We applied another treament in the fall and we’ll do it again in the spring.

    • Well, she told me at the nursery that you had to remove the current weeds if you wanted it to work, but I’m thinking that at least it will keep new weeds from growing. The weeds are packed in the elfin thyme, so hard to get all of them out.

  5. My husband had both his knees replaced, and his doctor told him that after the first one was done, he’d be chomping at the bit to get the second one done, and that was the truth. He woke up from surgery in less pain than before the surgery, and they had him walking the very next day.

    Months later he was able to kick a football with his son. I am sure you’ll experience the same thing 😀 Hugs!

Leave a Reply

